We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th July”
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4th July”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

ORC is the best we had a wonderful 4th July Vacation. Even although it rained off the fireworks on July 4th ORC put them on again July 5th!
We stayed at a beautiful Inn room overlooking the lagoon and Ocean we will be asking for this room again and again Marlin building room 409 they also gave us the room next door 408 to make it a suite with a Murphy bed for our 15 year old son - perfect for all of us with 2 bathrooms. My husband accidently left his ORC golf shirt in the room and we went to reception 2 days later and were delighted to be hand delivered his shirt within 10mins - way to go housekeeping!

Room Tip: Room 409 in the Marlin building has an excellent view with a suite next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    61
    38
    23
    20
See reviews for
87
51
1
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding hospitality. Lots of kids in different ages. So easy to get to from Miami and Ft Lauderdale. All staff friendly and helpful. Of corse, lots of boats for fishing. Golfers will love. Ocean breezes keeps it nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Most relaxing place on earth and great places to make connections! People there are very well off, somewhat like Nantucket $$$$$$$privacy is great, no one is allowed through the gate unless you are a member or know a member. No random people driving around the island

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djakdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Ocean Reef Club is first and foremost a private club that caters to its members. We stayed in an oceanview room at the inn. It was very nice but nothing spectacular especially considering the rack rate of over $500/night. Bed was comfortable and the furnishing and soft goods were high quality. Pool area offers great ocean views. Food and drinks at the pool bar were very expensive and the table service was almost non-existent. Service in the lobby lounge was great. Overall, unless you have a reason to be at Ocean Reef, Cheeca Lodge is a much better option for a luxury stay in the upper Keys and is worth the extra 40 minute drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ocean Reef is Unique. it is an entire town, in an isolated part of Key Largo, with 5 restaurants(the food id very good), golf, gym, boating, shops, a nature preserve, pools, beach, bars, movies, etc. and the Hotel.
you stay in nice well equipped condos and have the use of the facilities, but you can not use your
car. you must rent a golf cart or get a ride.
in the summer months, some of the restaurants close and the dress code is more relaxed.
the hotel is also private, and you need to be invited by a member or interested in buying a membership to stay there. if you just want to stay in the Keys or get away from Miami, Ocean
Reef is a winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgerber948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had an award trip to ocean reef and were very disappointed!! Each condo is individually owed and therefore maintained at various levels? We had to request a move to avoid broken and run down condo. Golf carts are needed to get around and we were asked to recharge???? Hard to,locate plugs were in the bushes.
Food was fine. but very expensive. They pride themselves in privacy, a secluded island and apparently the people who,live there enjoy different work out facility and options we did not have!
Would never go back !!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
12 Thank Carolyn1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The experience of the Ocean Reef Club is very much like that of flying on most any airline today. "In order to serve you better, we must provide less service and charge more money". Like a cruise ship that doesn't clean your room on time, ( think poor service), be assured the ORC will serve you all the $12 mojitos you want on Buccaneer island ( think profit center) . I been to ORC as a guest and as a guest at a member's house dating back 25 years. My advice to travelers is to read all the reviews, b/c they're all true. It's paradise on a good day, and a major disappointment on others. The good- Buccaneer Island 2 pools and a hot tub. The bad- ORC says no kids in the adult pool but don't police it. I've seen twenty ( 20) kids in the hot tub at one time. The sign says limit 8. The Beach Bar is great for afternoon cocktails, largely b/c of the long time bartender Everton. But remember there's no real beach at ORC, it's coral rock. There's a little sand around a man made lagoon. The Burgee Bar was a popular spot, but they tore it down and rebuilt it to look like the casual sports bar of any Marriott hotel. But its a casual alternative. The best place is the Raw Bar. Great staff, terrific food, very good atmosphere. There are 2 golf courses, the Hammock is much more scenic. Unless you're sponsored by a member, prices can be over $200. Re: members, there's a multi-class system at ORC. In ascending order--There are workers, guests, social members and equity members. And there are clubs within the club. There is a private golf course, tennis club, yacht club, fitness club, and members only point with the best views, that are all off limits to guests. Some members will treat you well. On my last trip, I got talking to a member while I was on a walk, and the person invited me in to see their house. How nice- turns out, they were getting ready to list their house and wanted to see if I'd buy it! Ha! One day at Bucc Island, a member, who thought I was member was complaining about how crowded it was and said, if we didn't need these people's money wouldn't it be nice to kick them out. If you're walking, don't go between 8 and 8:30 or 4-4:30p. There are so many construction trucks and work crews on the streets its very unpleasant. Reef Treats is nice for kids and has been improved greatly over the years. I did a half day flats fishing and it was ok. Good guide, but price was 50-75%% more than comparable in Key Largo or Islamorada. Bottom line-inconsistent experience, consistent cost. Go elsewhere, not worth the risk.

Room Tip: Confirm the building of your choice prior to arrival. They may change your building and once you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
20.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
25.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
572 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
25.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,282 reviews
17.9 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Property: Ocean Reef Club
Address: 35 Ocean Reef Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-5263
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing