We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location but very expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Reef Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef Club
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location but very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Ocean Reef Club is first and foremost a private club that caters to its members. We stayed in an oceanview room at the inn. It was very nice but nothing spectacular especially considering the rack rate of over $500/night. Bed was comfortable and the furnishing and soft goods were high quality. Pool area offers great ocean views. Food and drinks at the pool bar were very expensive and the table service was almost non-existent. Service in the lobby lounge was great. Overall, unless you have a reason to be at Ocean Reef, Cheeca Lodge is a much better option for a luxury stay in the upper Keys and is worth the extra 40 minute drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    58
    37
    23
    18
See reviews for
80
47
1
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ocean Reef is Unique. it is an entire town, in an isolated part of Key Largo, with 5 restaurants(the food id very good), golf, gym, boating, shops, a nature preserve, pools, beach, bars, movies, etc. and the Hotel.
you stay in nice well equipped condos and have the use of the facilities, but you can not use your
car. you must rent a golf cart or get a ride.
in the summer months, some of the restaurants close and the dress code is more relaxed.
the hotel is also private, and you need to be invited by a member or interested in buying a membership to stay there. if you just want to stay in the Keys or get away from Miami, Ocean
Reef is a winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgerber948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had an award trip to ocean reef and were very disappointed!! Each condo is individually owed and therefore maintained at various levels? We had to request a move to avoid broken and run down condo. Golf carts are needed to get around and we were asked to recharge???? Hard to,locate plugs were in the bushes.
Food was fine. but very expensive. They pride themselves in privacy, a secluded island and apparently the people who,live there enjoy different work out facility and options we did not have!
Would never go back !!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
12 Thank Carolyn1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The experience of the Ocean Reef Club is very much like that of flying on most any airline today. "In order to serve you better, we must provide less service and charge more money". Like a cruise ship that doesn't clean your room on time, ( think poor service), be assured the ORC will serve you all the $12 mojitos you want on Buccaneer island ( think profit center) . I been to ORC as a guest and as a guest at a member's house dating back 25 years. My advice to travelers is to read all the reviews, b/c they're all true. It's paradise on a good day, and a major disappointment on others. The good- Buccaneer Island 2 pools and a hot tub. The bad- ORC says no kids in the adult pool but don't police it. I've seen twenty ( 20) kids in the hot tub at one time. The sign says limit 8. The Beach Bar is great for afternoon cocktails, largely b/c of the long time bartender Everton. But remember there's no real beach at ORC, it's coral rock. There's a little sand around a man made lagoon. The Burgee Bar was a popular spot, but they tore it down and rebuilt it to look like the casual sports bar of any Marriott hotel. But its a casual alternative. The best place is the Raw Bar. Great staff, terrific food, very good atmosphere. There are 2 golf courses, the Hammock is much more scenic. Unless you're sponsored by a member, prices can be over $200. Re: members, there's a multi-class system at ORC. In ascending order--There are workers, guests, social members and equity members. And there are clubs within the club. There is a private golf course, tennis club, yacht club, fitness club, and members only point with the best views, that are all off limits to guests. Some members will treat you well. On my last trip, I got talking to a member while I was on a walk, and the person invited me in to see their house. How nice- turns out, they were getting ready to list their house and wanted to see if I'd buy it! Ha! One day at Bucc Island, a member, who thought I was member was complaining about how crowded it was and said, if we didn't need these people's money wouldn't it be nice to kick them out. If you're walking, don't go between 8 and 8:30 or 4-4:30p. There are so many construction trucks and work crews on the streets its very unpleasant. Reef Treats is nice for kids and has been improved greatly over the years. I did a half day flats fishing and it was ok. Good guide, but price was 50-75%% more than comparable in Key Largo or Islamorada. Bottom line-inconsistent experience, consistent cost. Go elsewhere, not worth the risk.

Room Tip: Confirm the building of your choice prior to arrival. They may change your building and once you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

the paradise!!!!!
The Ocean Reef Club is a wonderful place to visit. It really is a self contained city with everything you need. The location is tropical - the golf great. The beach and sun amazing. Food that is fulfilling. Just a great place to bring a family or loved on.
all the restaurantes are amaizing!!! the staff is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ocean Reef is paradise.... Great for the entire family!!! Kids paddle in the lagoon, fish in the pier, go the high tech Game room or eat ice cream at Reef Treats. Adults...Fun in the Sun!! Go see Everton and Jean at the Beach Bar!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Club for 3 nights, enjoyed one banquet meal of restaurant quality food and lunches and dinners at the Raw Bar and Islander Restaurants. The food was delicious and the servers extremely friendly and informative about the menus mostly of VERY fresh seafood.
Accomodations for our group ranged from a beautiful condo to rooms overlooking the beach and ocean. All were clean, well furnished and the hotel rooms were every bit as nice as luxury hotels in any city. The staff was on the spot with service, but friendly, not stuffy.
Golf course was great, Spa and massage, just what the doctor ordered. If you can get an invitation to visit you shouldn't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
20.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
25.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
23.1 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Club

Property: Ocean Reef Club
Address: 35 Ocean Reef Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-5263
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Club Hotel Key Largo
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ocean Reef Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing