We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fine until the end of the meal...”

Bayside Grille & Sunset Bar
Ranked #21 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DiGiorgio's Bayside Grille is the second restaurant, at the same location, owned and operated by the DiGiorgio Family. With its upstairs full service dining room, there is no other view like ours of the sunset and Florida Bay. We have been named the Most Photographed Sunset in Key Largo for this reason. Our downstairs Sunset Bar features Live Music, Happy Hour, Live Conch Shell Blowing at Sunset, a limited bar menu and so much more. On the right night you can catch an internationally reknown Blue's band performing. Check our calendar on our website. A great place for dinner and a show.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything was fine until the end of the meal...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We live in ft lauderdale and like to expend some of the weekends and holidays in key largo since we have a home there. Nothing more pleasant that a meal contemplating a south Florida sunset. This place is well positioned to offer this. Service was good, food decent and the view priceless...until the end of the meal...when we were settling the bill and my daughter was finishing an important phone call..we were ask to leave because the server wanted to sit his friends in that particular table! .Now, there was plenty of prime tables around us and the sunset was over! So we think that that was a very rude and tacky thing to do not to mention lack of manners and class! Totally out of character. I guess next time We'll stop to the establishment that offers the highest degree of respect for it's costumers.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    461
    170
    53
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK for tourist not for locals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Arrived about 6:00 pm with a group of friends. We have been wanting to try this place having heard some good local chefs had relocated here. The upstairs was full so our options where to wait for more than a hour or eat downstairs. We figured it was a nice night so we opted for downstairs. Bad choice, not the same menus and the downstairs is very limited, although the food is brought down for the same kitchen. I ordered the fish taco's, we had lunch at Buzzards Roust and someone else in our party had them and it had made me hungery for some. They portions where half the size with only one small strip of fish in each taco. Two add to this matter its $8 a drink for Bacardi rum and coke during happy hour. There are too many places to eat in Key Largo that has better food and for less money for me to try this place again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank numberfivedock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgiorgio, Manager at Bayside Grille & Sunset Bar, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our menu at our Bayside Sunset Bar is a limited bar menu. They are not full dinners and are not priced that way. As far as Bacardi, it is not on Happy Hour or anyone else's in the area. We are well known for one of the more generous happy hours in the area. The norm at our establishment and others for happy hour is on well drinks, house wine and domestic beer. Thank You for visitng us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“More than I expected, and pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Ate here mainly due to the proximity of my hotel, and the fact that I was too tired to go very far for dinner. I was surprised how nice everything was here. They have a bar with live music downstairs and a quaint dining area upstairs.
They feature a great "bayside" view, a great place to watch a sunset and at night the cool breezes blow off water into the dining room, adding to the experience.
The service is great and fast.
I had the seafood enchiladas, and was very happy with all aspects of the meal. I would return, when I am back in the Keys.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwaynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Location and View, Great Keys Food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We went here on a whim, not even knowing it was there, but were attracted by the blue lights outside. We went upstairs to the restaurant just after sunset, great view! Food was delicious! Conch chowder and Key Lime Pie were amazing, our entree's were ok, nothing too special. The bread was made with cranberries(?) with a sweet dipping sauce, it was ok but my family hated it. Expensive, but typical for the keys but we did not feel ripped off. A good experience and we will probably go back on our next trip.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDragonFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A twisted but generally positive experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The food here was good but in some ways odd. While there w no butter for the nice hot roles, there was some strang concoction served as spread with it. The entres were cooked well and also had a twist that sseemed to work. Access to the upstairs dining room was twisty and the outside views limited.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterfall9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayside Grille & Sunset Bar also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bayside Grille & Sunset Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing