We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Key Largo Hammocks State Botanical Site
Ranked #39 of 72 things to do in Key Largo
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a cool little place we just happened upon. We were interested in checking out Crocodile Lake NWR, but it was closed to the public. The botanical site was awesome. They had the trees marked so you could tell what trees you were looking at. The place was very biker and runner friendly. There were also several species of wildlife. We didn't get to check out all the trails so we're definitely returning tomorrow evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“had a picnic here,”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

it was fun and beautiful, got some great pics. this is more for the laid back crowd. try it you may enjoy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gray1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Took a nice nature tour”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Liked the guided tour of the boardwalk and the various environments. Guide knew what she was doing, saw spiders, crabs, and learned a lot about which plants can give me one heck of a rash...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jdbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool and unique park!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our hike through this park. It was going to be a huge development so there are some interesting features that you usually wouldn't see in a State Park, like manholes, street lights, a huge pile of cement rubble with PVC and rebar (still haven't figured this one out). There were a few structures and an odd tunnel. We took the longer trial and when we were at the very back of the park we thought we were going to have to turn around because we came across some water, but eventually figured out how to get around it. They take donations on an honor system. Nice way to spend an hour or so of our trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BrookeRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacahaven, Key Largo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nature takes over”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Also known as Dagney Johnson, originally the start of a resort development, that now is a State park, protected and nature is reclaiming. A blessing to have this hard wood forest space, no noise or traffic, doggie friendly, open to the public. There are about 15 plaques identifying the native trees, brochures at the front entrance and a 1 mile and two mile loop walk. Most of the 85% of the 2 mile loop walk is shaded. If you skip dawn and dusk, mosquitos are not an issue for most of the year- yes in the mid summer, take repellent just in case:) entrance fee $2.50; Worth preserving! There is an upper Dagney area, permit required.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank vacahaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Largo Hammocks State Botanical Site also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key Largo Hammocks State Botanical Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing