We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Dolphin Cove

Dolphin Cove
Ranked #18 of 72 things to do in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

No regrets! Well worth the money. Trainers are awesome and very knowledgeable. One trainer in particular ( blonde curly hair ) was awesome. She took time after the swim to answer questions and tell us interesting facts about the dolphins. Wish I had gotten her name because she was great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GA_GAL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    55
    15
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of dolphin fun”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great, friendly service from all the staff at Dolphin Cove. The whole experience was a delight, and there was plenty time in the water with the lovely dolphins. It is a costly game this, but in comparison to other companies, they are cheaper, so slightly better value. I don't understand why some reviewers are getting upset about observer positions near the lagoon. These are wild animals, and they deserve some space and respect. The photo service they provide is a LOT cheaper than competitors, and is a very high standard. A great day and happy memories to last a lifetime.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oludeniz_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fulfilled our son's dream”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A terrific experience all around for our family of 4. Knowledgeable, friendly trainers who cared about the dolphins. There were several groups swimming simultaneously, but we never even noticed we were just having too much fun! Expensive, but when you consider one dolphin can eat 19 lbs of fish a day, you can see why. After your session was over you were welcome to watch the others' experiences and ask questions. If I had to make one criticism, I'd say they sell you pretty hard on the photos/CD. However, generally I never usually buy those kinds of things, but we ended up getting it because you see the sequence of reactions on your faces.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chibrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

No regrets for the money spent here! Absolutely fantastic experience! We swam with Samantha and Isaac and they were so much fun! The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a little informative session at the beginning and we learned so many new things about the dolphins. This is definitely a place for children (and adults too), they have so much fun and they learn so much. It is worth purchasing the photo CD - you might not always get a chance to have a full front view of your swimmers. A very unique experience, would go back anytime!!! Also very safe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience except for my wallet”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our Florida trip. The trainers and staff were all enthusiastic and friendly. Our family of four did the interactive swim: one trainer, us and two dolphins. There were 3-4 other groups going at the same time. It was all great. The once in a lifetime thing, however, is mainly due to the cost. $800 for my family of four to spend 20 minutes in the water with these majestic creatures! yikes.

Pricing, from the experience to the gift shop is really disappointing. I feel like they have calculated the absolute maximum amount of money they can extract from fellow humans before actually scaring them off. For $199 a pop, you'd think they could at least throw in ONE free photo. They even charge to watch and take pics. I'd like to think that money goes to some marine conservation or education efforts, but the is no mention of that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baileyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Cove also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dolphin Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing