We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the keys”
Review of Sundowners

Sundowners
Ranked #24 of 135 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the keys”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Don't miss this quintessential key Largo restaurant. The best sunset view of the bay around with a choice of eating inside, outside or even on a beach with live music. Whatever you do don't miss the key lime pie!!! The best I ever had!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    535
    191
    89
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Perfect way to end our trip in the keys!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Great covered deck overlooking the water and great food. It was a good combo of nice and also laid back. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MN_TLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect sunset dinner”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great selection on the menu. The oyster appetizers and the whole snapper were just delicious. I liked the Kale and Spinach side dish - with just the right amount of cheese accents.

If you like a milder key lime pie, I definitely recommend getting a piece here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccj5906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset view and fabulous food”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My family of 5 went here for a birthday dinner. We did have reservations and were seated immediately at a fantastic table on the water with a beautiful sunset view. All 5 of our entrees were delicious. We had the key lime seafood , paella with alligator sausage, ale battered mahi, Cuban seafood stew and Florida lobster. Key lime pie and chocolate lava cake rounded out the meal. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atlantanative65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hostess is so rude!!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I usually do not write negative reviews but our experience at Sundowners was the worst customer service I had ever experienced. We arrived for dinner last Sunday, admittedly without a reservation. When we arrived we were told that it would be a 30 minute wait. We sat out at the bar and enjoyed the musician that was playing (he was excellent). We were repeatedly ignored by the hostesses and after waiting an 1 hour and 15 minutes for a table we left. The hostesses were rude and did not seem to know what they were doing. Not once did they ever acknowledge that we were waiting an excessive amount of time and when we did ask about the status of our table we were treated as if we were being unreasonable. Having worked in the restaurant business for 18 years I was appalled by the behavior that I witnessed from the hostesses with no sense of accountability. This is not acceptable customer service and because of this experience we will not be back. The friends that I was traveling with live in Florida and go to Key Largo often, they will be removing Sundowners from their lists of places to done while in the Keys.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundowners also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sundowners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing