We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great find in Key Largo”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Great find in Key Largo”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Exceptional value in Key Largo. Room was spacious, clean and bed was very comfortable. View was outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandolinista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    229
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
129
573
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

From our arrival to our departure, Dove Creek exceeded our expectations. The ocean view from our balcony was wonderful, all night long we could hear the waves lapping up on the pier. The room was very comfortable and the staff was helpful. The property includes a section of sand beyond the pool with a hammock and chairs among mangroves. We found this very relaxing. Snapper's, the restaurant associated with Dove Creek had a varied menu with local seafood and the live music was enjoyable, ending before we went to sleep. This is a great value, costing us about half of what we paid in Key West .The only dissapointment was the breakfast, we were offered only bagels and granola. However, we have stayed at a number of hotels in Key Largo, and this is by far the best. We will definitely return to Dove Creek

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Our wedding at Dove Creek Lodge could not have been any better!! From beginning to end, the staff was amazing to work with and very professional. Jamie and Katy are wonderful, attending to every detail making our special day come off seamlessly. We traveled with friends, family and extended family and everyone raved about Dove Creek. The rooms are clean and spacious, the grounds impeccably kept and the staff friendly and attentive. I am so very glad we chose Dove Creek for our wedding; I couldn't be happier with the outcome!! Big thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjosephdonovan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 days in early January 2010 and had a great time. With accommodation in the Keys in general being expensive we found the Dove Creek Lodge to be the best value for money booking online. When we got there we received a friendly reception, spotless room (with a nice big LCD) a jacuzzi, pool and pool table round the back and a great seafood restaurant literally adjacent to the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and make sure to take in at least one sunrise in the breakfast area.

Only negatives are that the quality of the breakfast wasn't anything special and that the place was rather pricey - still it was great value for money at the end of the day

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjosephdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I loved this hotel! From the minute we walked in our room we thought it was perfect. Clean, spacious, modern and beautifully decorated. My favorite part was the balcony with a fantastic view to the ocean. Each unit looks out onto the Atlantic but some look they are blocked a little by trees growing in the garden. The private pool and sandy pier area adjoining the private docking area are wonderful too. Good price too. Snappers restaurant is right next door, which is excellent, but do expect some nightlife noise, but it really wasn't bad at all. They have fantastic Key Lime Pie! Key Largo in general was fantastic, I would definetly return. It was quiet (no spring breakers!), had the best restaurants I went to in the Keys and many opportunities to snorkel, fish, and any water sport you can imagine. I would highly recommend sunsets at Marker 88 restaurant - great food and fantastic location, our table was five feet from the Gulf! Tower of Pizza for lunch is fun. Bahia Honda State Park was wonderful. I can see why it made the list of best beaches in the USA. Just know what to excect of beaches in the Keys - it isn't Panama City with long wide stretches of sand and strong waves. The coral reef breaks the waves and catches much of the sediment, so there are few beaches and what there are are short and not very wide, yet the water, sky and vegetation is incredibly beautiful. There was quite a bit of seagrass in the water at Bahia Honda so swimming wouldn't have been great that day, but reading and walking on the beach was just as worth it. Don't listen to people's negative reviews of the Keys - just do your research and have the right expectations!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCflowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We wanted to find a place to stay that wasn't as expensive as the name brand resorts, but still nice. I ran across Dove Creek on TripAdvisor and I found it hard to believe it had such a positive rating. Nevertheless it seemed decent so we booked and we were very happy with Dove Creek. The staff was very pleasant and the facility was quite clean and quiet. The bed was quite comforable and we slept great. The only downsides we noticed were the hot water was tepid during the first few days of our trip, but so was the air temperature (in the 50's and 60's). When the weather warmed into the upper 60's and 70's the water was hot again. I was about to say something to the staff when it fixed itself (or perhaps they were on it already). We stayed in one of the rooms adjoining the lobby and the hallway door to the outside slams - but fortunately they lock that at 9pm! It did tend to wake us in the mornings, though. Only four of the rooms have these doors. It's nitpicking really, most of the time the facility as a whole was quite calm and peaceful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Came down for Valentines weekend to escape the cold. The staff was the best!! The room was AMAZING!!! Very quiet and relaxing. My favorite part was getting in the hot tub each night with a glass of wine and listen o the music around the pool with the tiki torches lit everynight. It is a great place to have a short romantic get away with your other half. What a great place!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabbott1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
569 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,281 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,517 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing