We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All About the Details-Great Family Vacation”
Review of MB at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MB at Key Largo
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We first stayed at Dove Creek Lodge in April '09 for two nights and based on our great experience we wanted to come back for our summer vacation. Before we left in April, we talked to one of the managers Katie about coming back for one week in the summer. This place is quaint, intimate, and has the feeling that you are staying at a water front home rather than a hotel, and we liked the idea of maybe having the place to ourselves for at least a few days. When I called in May she gave me dates in June where the resort was not too full and we made arrangements to bring our boat as well.
When we arrived on June 15, we were happy to see that we basically had the place to ourselves and we were offered an upgrade to the Key Lime Suite for a nominal increase in our daily rate. We agreed and wow were we delighted. This suite has two floors and is more of a townhouse than a suite. The rooms have crown moldings, just like the other rooms and lobby, full entertainment system, big bathrooms, beautiful artwork, and an outdoor screened lanai. The best part of the upstairs room (which we took for ourselves) was a writing nook with a desk facing a window with an ocean view. We spent hours reading or on our laptop watching the mangroves, boaters, the sunset etc. from that writing nook.
The whole Lodge is beautifully maintained, has new furniture, is clean, and then there is the Lobby. The Lobby has rich leather sofas, a library which you can take books with you to your room, magazines, board games for the kids, and an outdoor patio where you can enjoy your free continental breakfast overlooking the ocean or Snapper's restaurant which is right next door. There is also a fly tying station in the Lobby for fly fisherman. When you step into the lobby you feel as though you are in fishing lodge in Costa Rica, but you are not paying those high prices.
The pool is small but more than adequate to enjoy and our kids had a blast there. The people who run this place are awsome (back to that later), and they play music in the pool area, there is an outdoor pool table, a gazebo with a swing facing Snapper's Restaurant and the ocean, and a hammock nestled under palm's near the mangroves for shade. They even have sand in this area so it feels like you are on the beach. The landscaping is also manicured and at night they turn on tiki torches giving this lodge a warm, tropical ambience, which is why you come to the keys.
The managers, Katie and Jamie are awsome! These two women know the hospitality business inside out and this is rare now a days. They went above and beyond customer service. They gave both our sons a pair of polarized sunglasses when they heard our youngest dropped his pair in the water the previous day. They show you to your room to be sure everything is ok when you check in, they would come by the pool to see if we needed anything, and they are onsite concierges for anything you need. Katie and Jamie were warm, courteous, patient, and took care of any little thing we would need whether it was ice for the boat or just being friendly. The best part was just the way they took to our boys making them and in turn us feel like part of their family.
When you check in the Lodge gives you complimentary sports water bottles which you can refill in the lobby for free and you get a CD with island music from various artists.
We have stayed at many different hotels in the keys and this stay at Dove Creek Lodge was the best family vacation we've had thanks to Katie and Jamie. We were able to dock our boat for the entire week at the Lodge and we were close to numerous restaurants, shopping, Jacobs Aquatic Center (which the kids loved) and still be a short drive back to enjoy the pool and our Key Lime Suite. We will definitely return here as often as we can! You can't beat the warmth and intimacy of Dove Creek Lodge and the customer service is the best in the business. Thanks Katie and Jamie!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DSlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 867 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2009

My 2 night stay at Dove Creek Lodge on the ocean side was a nice experience. I usually stay on the bay side, but the sunrise in the keys (6:30am) is as breathtaking and serene as the bay side sunsets. As a scuba diver (and fisherman) I appreciated the simple continental breakfast ready at 7am.

Next door is the best local evening hangouts in Key Largo - Snappers restaurant & bar. Thursdays they have live music, and alot of locals get you into the right frame of mind. You can then drive to a bay side restaurant to catch the sunset, or stay and socialize with alot of real nice folks.

They have boat rentals on premise, a nice pool with outdoor shower, a jacuzzi which needs fixing, and a very new and well appointed ambiance.

Well worth a try.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RexKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Only stayed one night on our journey through the keys, but Dove Creek was a great find.
Lovely room and balcony overlooking marina. Breakfast and wifi a definite plus. Staff was pleasant. Convenient to have Snapper's restaurant/bar next door. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cargo629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This was our second stay at Dove Creek Lodge and we love it. We don't come for the fishing or water - we come down for our "grandson fix" every few months and have settled in on Dove Creek as the only place to stay in Key Largo.

The accomodations are very comfortable and clean - our two key requirements. The facility is immaculately maintained and the people are pleasant. The continental breakfast is more than sufficient - always including fruit, granola, yogurt and bagels. The location is peaceful and the view is very calming. Snappers next door is a good place to eat, too (just tell them to hold the lemon butter sauce).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbl5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We had never been to the Keys before so we chose Dove Creek because of the great reviews; although it was a little pricey we were not disappointed.

Our room was immaculate and faced out to sea with a large balcony where we could watch the boats returning with their catches.

The location is fantastic, in a quiet spot situated 100m from the highway on its own small marina where you can charter a boat or eat and drink in the amazing restaurant Snappers next door.

Many of the guests present during our stay chartered boats so we had the Pool area to ourselves!

We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return, it is a fantastic place to unwind and do nothing, but it is also ideally situated for exploring the Keys with Key West only 2hrs away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Date: January 7, 2009
Reviewers: Bob and Lesley from Daytona
This was our first trip to Key Largo and it was made all the better by our stay at Dove Creek Lodge. The staff was wonderful -- always friendly and concerned for the comfort of guests. The property is beautifully appointed and kept spotless, and the ocean views are fantastic. We came back relaxed and refreshed. We definitely will return to Dove Creek Lodge and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

This was our second stay at Dove Creek. We had such a brilliant time when we stayed here two years ago that we wanted to stay here again on our journey down to Key West.

We stayed with friends this time in a two bedroom suite and yet again the interior was absolutely lovely and we were all very comfortable (I would note that the 2nd bedroom does have twin beds and not a double). The pool ws lovely and we enjoyed our meal next door at Snappers, more so than we did two years ago.

Definitely worth spending a night or two here if you are planning to drive down to Key West as the hotel provides a great base for snorkeling at John Pennekamp and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blueasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,376 reviews
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,571 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MB at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MB at Key Largo

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, Mile Marker 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892 (Formerly Dove Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $214 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MB at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MB at Key Largo is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. MB at Key Largo is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience. Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your MB at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing