We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight or if you have a boat”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight or if you have a boat”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I must admit that we only used this as an overnight from Key West to get closer to Miami airport.
For this, it was great, we had free use of pedalo and kayaks if wanted, has a pool and some hammocks.
Restraint next door is friendly and you get 10% discount on food.
If you had a boat, I would imagine its a good base.
However, in our limited time there, we couldn't quite get to grips where Key Largo centre was, certainly no where near this hotels location.
Check in before 3pm is a no-go.
Breakfast simple but OK.

Room Tip: All rooms from what I could see have a similar aspect and decent view. Location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAC_WorthingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    227
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
127
572
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Was welcomed warmly on our arrival. We stayed in the lodge in a king size bed. Hotel room is clean rooms are attractive and a perk is having breakfast in the morning. The restaurant next-door, snappers, is always a favorite of ours. So nice having it so close. The grounds here are beautiful and right on the water. Pool is also a plus!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at Dove Creek Lodge starting on June 15th for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time there. The resort is clean and quiet with covered parking. The staff is helpful and accommodating. We stayed in room #301 which is a king suite. We brought along our 16 year old, so this was a nice arrangement. We could close the door between the living area, where he slept on a comfortable pull out sofa, between the bedroom where we slept. The room was very clean, and I never heard a noise from the outside. It had a nice view of the property and ocean. It has a large screened in porch with 2 patio chairs, so you can sit outside without being bothered by pests.

The swimming pool/hot tub area was well-maintained clean. In fact, most times we were the only ones there. They provide beach towels. They also provide kayaks for guest use and we enjoyed paddling out to look around. There are Adirondack chairs, hammocks and a swing where you can sit an watch the sunset & stars or enjoy the live music from Snappers restaurant that is just across the water. We didn't use it, but observed other guests using an on sight grill to cook up their fresh catch of the day. The breakfast was tasty and beautifully displayed. It included: fresh fruit, fresh juices, cereals, key lime tarts, yogurt with fresh fruit, various breads and pastries, hard boiled eggs and a Keurig with various offerings of hot drinks. The dining area was never crowded.

The resort is waterfront with a pretty ocean view, but it is not on beachfront. We went to John Pennecamp State Park (just up the road) or Sombrero Beach (on Marathon) for our beach time. There is wi-fi throughout property but it seemed a little spotty on my device (I don't think my husband and son had as much difficulty). Snappers restaurant, adjacent to the resort property, was tasty and convenient for a dinner on the water.

We will definitely stay again when we are down in the Keys!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rikkijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Would recommend to anyone. Very nice and tranquil. The only reason I rated 4 stars was due to very limited breakfast and no laundry area for vacationers on the premises. Other than that every thing was great. Loved snappers being next door as well.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Badgejunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I don't usually write reviews but this lodge is truly wonderful. We have just returned from a two night stay and it was great. Lovely sea view from our room and a little bit of paradise, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 204 is the one we had and only one room next to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here this last week for 4 nights on our first trip to the Keys (we have recently moved to Florida). The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds are nice, they have hammocks and a chair type swing. We chose a king balcony room(balcony could barely fit the 2 chairs and table) that had a view of the marina and the bar at Snappers. Since Snappers is right next door to the hotel we were able to listen to the live music every night.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars is no fault of the hotel. When we arrived and opened up the balcony door there was decaying seaweed up against the dock right in front of our room and it smelled horrible, like rotten eggs! However, it rained the next 2 days and the smell wasn't noticeable after that.

Room Tip: The room next to us was a queen balcony and their balcony was a LOT bigger than the king balcony. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The upgraded our room for no charge. The room was clean and very nice. We took advantage of the kayak the pool hot tub and the hammock. It was so nice on our way back from key largo we stopped back by and ate at snappers and rented a pontoon next store. This was one of our favorite places in the keys. Highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing