We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of MB at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MB at Key Largo
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We only stayed one night at Dove Creek Lodge as a stop on our way to Key West. And I would highly recommend it. It would be great for a longer stay if you planned to boat or fish, but it was also fine for our purpose. The hotel is extremely well maintained and far enough off the highway to be very relaxing and quiet. Like the building, the grounds are beautiful and kept that way. The setting, right on the water is very picturesque with a great sunrise over the ocean. With Snapper's right next door, a great restaurant and bar are easily accessible. Just don't see a downside...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rdeank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 869 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

this is a great spot with a pool and hot tub, right on the water. Very friendly staff. We checked in only to discover our reservation had inadvertently been made for the night before we arrived. Fortunately there was an open room and we were able to stay the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLovell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I'm sorry, that was a terrible pun for a title.
Anyhow, we stayed for two nights and I took a business call from the pool and next door bar for 4 hours during one of the days. Call was over and it's time to jump in a kayak that they have there for guests. The place was full capacity but was never busy. Also found their complimentary breakfast magical. The food was great but that wasn't the magic - somehow there were always space for whoever was just arriving. It's the little planning bits and knowing how people typically are that makes this somewhere I'd like to go again sometime.
If you're concerned about the rate, don't be. On our first night we were chatting with a couple at Snappers, the bar/restaurant that's a short stumble away and they were paying $180 for a place that was filled with bugs and she was ashamed she'd arranged as it was going to give her husband endless leverage in future planning. They came to the Snappers just to get away and were jealous that we had booked just across the way from there.
But that's the Keys it seems - not inexpensive in any way but worth it somehow. At least here it seemed to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmonoblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed overnight here at the Dove Creek Lodge after studying the Trip Advisor reviews and ratings. We loved the place initially until bedtime when we had a problem of at least four large palmetto bugs :( The front desk is closed from 7PM til 7AM, and there was nothing in the room printed up with a phone number nor was there anything on the inside door of the lobby to the front desk. That would have helped with our problem. The next morning (after staying up all night with the bugs ), we were more than ready to leave, and entered the now open lobby to say we were leaving. The girl, Brianna, never looked up as we entered, nothing like a good morning or anything, and when told of our problem, she asked if we had proof. We explained that we weren't looking for compensation, just checking out, but we did in fact have pictures. She then asked if we could show her the dead bugs in the garbage can....well, no, they were fast and we were not able to kill them. My point is that she didn't seem surprised, and never said anything, like, "I am so sorry that you had a disappointing visit and that you experienced this problem. I apologize that we did not have a phone number listed in your room or on the door to help you. " Instead, we got an attitude like it was our fault that we did not KNOW that the number was listed on the outside door. Rather, she attacked. Young girl with a personality problem. We are both retired elementary school teachers, and principals. We know what proper communication is all about and being patient with people/children. My wife did try to calm her down with some comments about taking deep breaths, but Brianna looked and acted like she had a worse night than we did. This was a very unfortunate experience in that this property is gorgeous, and we loved the daylight hours there....the restaurant next door was great too. The manager has reached out to us with compensation, and that is appreciated. So, if you desire a beautiful place, and want to try this place....just don't get the room next door to the lobby.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge for two nights. We received a free upgrade to one of the two story, two bedroom suites at the end of the Lodge, the Key Lime Suite, replete with a full kitchen and side windows which overlooked the bay and the neon lights of Snappers Restaurant. Due to a mix up in reservations, we were subsequently moved to the Mango Suite next door but our new surroundings were identical in every regard, with two over/under bedrooms and two baths. Both suites have full views of the Atlantic from an enclosed balcony but the Mango Suite had a different ambiance from that of the Key Lime, quieter and more secluded with an osprey nest atop a tall pole right outside the bedroom window. We decided that watching the ospreys bringing fish back to the nest was altogether better than watching the neon lights on the bay and our fellow guests swimming in the pool. Absolutely marvelous stay. The two suites are perfect for friends or couples wishing to share lodgings and are worth making an effort to reserve one of them for your next stay in Key Largo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely haven on the water. The room (suite) was very clean and spacious, with a screened porch as well. The King bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The amenities were very nice and the breakfast delicious (especially the key lime fruit/yogurt parfait - yum!). The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Having a pool, and complimentary kayak and pedal boats available was also very nice.

It was also very convenient to have a good restaurant just steps away, with live music every night. We enjoyed that very much.

I did not want to leave, and can hardly wait for another chance to visit and stay at Dove Creek Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Key Largo is a convenient location to spend the night when you want to drive to Key West during daylight after landing in Miami in the afternoon. It's also an equally good stopping point after departing Key West in the afternoon.

We stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge twice and found it to be very nice, comfortable, clean, reasonably priced (for the Keys) and with a very helpful staff. John checked us in for our first stay and Ann checked us in for the other; both were fast, friendly and helpful. Yes, the front desk closes at 7:00 PM so call beforehand to find the location of your room key. However don't call during lunch because your call will be forwarded to the central reservations center (remember this is the Florida Keys, not New York City so things operate on a slower pace).

Breakfast included key lime tarts; a very tasty surprise!

Like most hotels & resorts, USAToday is free but unlike others, the Wall Street Journal is too!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,584 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
661 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MB at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MB at Key Largo

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, Mile Marker 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892 (Formerly Dove Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $199 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MB at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MB at Key Largo is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. MB at Key Largo is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience. Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your MB at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing