We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Suite”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge for two nights. We received a free upgrade to one of the two story, two bedroom suites at the end of the Lodge, the Key Lime Suite, replete with a full kitchen and side windows which overlooked the bay and the neon lights of Snappers Restaurant. Due to a mix up in reservations, we were subsequently moved to the Mango Suite next door but our new surroundings were identical in every regard, with two over/under bedrooms and two baths. Both suites have full views of the Atlantic from an enclosed balcony but the Mango Suite had a different ambiance from that of the Key Lime, quieter and more secluded with an osprey nest atop a tall pole right outside the bedroom window. We decided that watching the ospreys bringing fish back to the nest was altogether better than watching the neon lights on the bay and our fellow guests swimming in the pool. Absolutely marvelous stay. The two suites are perfect for friends or couples wishing to share lodgings and are worth making an effort to reserve one of them for your next stay in Key Largo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Dove Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 861 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely haven on the water. The room (suite) was very clean and spacious, with a screened porch as well. The King bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The amenities were very nice and the breakfast delicious (especially the key lime fruit/yogurt parfait - yum!). The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Having a pool, and complimentary kayak and pedal boats available was also very nice.

It was also very convenient to have a good restaurant just steps away, with live music every night. We enjoyed that very much.

I did not want to leave, and can hardly wait for another chance to visit and stay at Dove Creek Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Key Largo is a convenient location to spend the night when you want to drive to Key West during daylight after landing in Miami in the afternoon. It's also an equally good stopping point after departing Key West in the afternoon.

We stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge twice and found it to be very nice, comfortable, clean, reasonably priced (for the Keys) and with a very helpful staff. John checked us in for our first stay and Ann checked us in for the other; both were fast, friendly and helpful. Yes, the front desk closes at 7:00 PM so call beforehand to find the location of your room key. However don't call during lunch because your call will be forwarded to the central reservations center (remember this is the Florida Keys, not New York City so things operate on a slower pace).

Breakfast included key lime tarts; a very tasty surprise!

Like most hotels & resorts, USAToday is free but unlike others, the Wall Street Journal is too!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed for three nights while visiting the Florida Keys... Staff was friendly, informative and helpful. Our room was very clean and spacious. Although the room was large, the arrangement of the furnishing in the bedroom area made the room feel cramped - there was no mirror in the bedroom area so if one person is in the bathroom, another person does not have a place to primp (do makeup). Overall a good place to stay while visiting the Keys and all the beauitiful sites to see in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KissItGoodby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The property is beautiful and all you would want for a couples get away except no one on the desk or anyone to call after 7PM... First I couldn't get on the internet and no one to help but then came the cockroach and no one to help! Called and called numbers but all were for reservations ... So we are so tired and here we are in a beautiful room sitting up with all the lights on ;( Our once in a lifetime bucket list vacation to celebrate our 43rd anniversary now ruined and no one is here on the property to help us ... Just not right ;(

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank grandmaK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W, Manager at Dove Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We read your review with great sadness. We have not received feedback like this before and hope we will not again. We treat our rooms monthly and treat the perimeter grounds every quarter. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the isolated incident you experienced during your stay with us. Should your future plans include a trip to Key Largo we hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a great time here, the room was just what we wanted and expected with a lovely view. The pool is small but warm and great for a quick cool off, the hammocks are a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the cleanliness and quality of everything very good.
The Keys are brilliant with each one different, Key West is a must and we ate well in all places. There is an expectation of tipping of 15-20% which we didn't expect but apart from that nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: room 201 had a balcony and overlooked the ocean, it was very good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodieht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our second stay at Dove Creek. We loved it again! Peaceful, quiet and serene. The room , bathroom and balcony were exceptionally clean and nice. Breakfast in the lobby was excellent. The staff are helpful and friendly. Especially Ann, who is a wonderful person. We miss her and envy her as yet another storm approaches! There is not one bad thing I can say about this place. I cannot wait to go back! We ate and drank mostly at Snapper's but did venture out for a sunset dinner (Ann's recommendation) and ordered in a great pizza for Super Bowl Sunday. (again Ann's recommendation). Thank you for everything.
We will be back! Ed and Rosemary

Room Tip: Our recent room was right next to Snapper's Restaurant next door. Sitting on the balcony, the n...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,321 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: $178 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing