We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing respite from the cold!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing respite from the cold!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Smaller, friendly establishment. Well-kept and nicely updated, screened-in porch on our large one-bedroom king suite overlooking the small bay. Included continental breakfast was just right for us. Lovely garden, nice pool, small private beach. (Beware of sand fleas in the whole Keys area - bring deet.) Popular seafood restaurant right next door, easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Room tip: ask for room away from the large outside air conditioners, which are noisy. The price we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    226
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
126
569
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent our last two nights at Dove Creek at the end of a lovely week touring the Florida Keys. It was a perfect end to a lovely holiday. Clean comfortable room, lovely surroundings, and friendly, helpful staff. The neighbouring restaurant and bar were both great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzybubbles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our stay was fantastic from start to finish! Ann at the front desk was wonderful, she showed us to our room and gave us great recommendations for site seeing! The grounds are lush and beautiful, the pool area is a great to place relax. I highly recommend using the kayaks and going to the coves the front desk gave us directions it is a 40 min trip but well worth it, we saw lots of tropical fish and a sting ray. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bed was on a high posted bed frame but not as extreme as I expected after reading some of the other reviews I am 5ft 3in and I was fine getting in the bed. The key lime tarts they had for the complementary breakfast were soooo good we went back for a second one! We will definitely stay here again when we visit the keys.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Easy drive from palm beach so it was a nice valentines day getaway for the night. Hotel grounds are well kept and clean. Snappers restaurant is right next door for dinner or drinks. Saw some cool Keys wildlife there (osprey, turtles, pelicans) and they have complimentary kayaks and paddleboats as well. Take a quick paddle up dove creek if you have time its really cool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TominFL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived last Sunday. My wife, and another couple ( my wife's sister and brother in law) travelled together
From Pa.. The lady at the desk (Anne)greeted us. Very friendly. She personally walked us to our rooms and showed us around. Very nice touch. Our room was very clean and well appointed. It had a bedroom with a king size bed which was very comfortable. You first walk in to a living room with a couch and pullout bed. There is a small fridge and a large flat screen TV. There is also a large flat screen TV in the bedroom. We had a screened in porch which overlooked the pool and the ocean. The continental breakfasts were very good. Beside having a small coffee maker in our room the coffee at the breakfasts was very good. You had your choice of hot or cold cereal, pastry, bagels, fruit, yogurt, juice, muffins etc.

The pool was nice and clean and well maintained

The rooms upstairs(400 numbered rooms) did not have the additional room or screened in porch.

This Lodge is outstanding. Wonderful location, wonderful staff. I'd recommend it to anyone

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Dove Creek Lodge is a fairly new hotel, clean, friendly staff, small pool - an OK place. But there is nothing around the hotel. You cannot walk for 100 meters without meeting the high-way, no shops, no fitness, no beach - construction sites and small houses on the other hand are plenty.

Not worth the stop if you are headed for Key West.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked this hotel for a quick weekend getaway in the Keys. We picked this hotel mainly due to the positive reviews we read online. While this is not a full service hotel, it was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is a quick and easy drive from Miami and located right on the water. The rooms were clean and bright, but not new/modern. The restaurant next door (literally just a stone's throw away) was convenient and we had a great meal there and spent the night on the deck listening to live music and having a few drinks with the locals.

The pool is small, but we seemed to be the only ones taking advantage of it so that was nice. The hotel does have kayaks and paddleboats (complimentary) that you can use but it was hard to get in/out of them from the dock. There is no beach here and you cannot swim in the ocean.

The breakfast is included with the room and was nice. My husband loved the key lime parfaits.

Overall, this was a nice hotel and we would recommend it to others looking to stay in the Key Largo area. The next time we stay in the Keys we will more than likely stay in Key West where there is more to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing