We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got jipped”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We got jipped”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'm not sure what all of the hub-bib is about. This hotel was OK, but nothing special. Do not expect to see any water from your room, although the hotel advertises itself as having oceanfront views. Also, there was no cell service in the room and the wireless was patchy at best. So, when you get there, hopefully you've made all of your plans since calls and emails are next to impossible. Overall, a nice place, but we just feel jipped. If we had known that the view from our room was of trees and not ocean, we would have stayed elsewhere. Also, bed was nice...pillows were terrible. Won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    227
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
127
572
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here again for 3 days, second year in a row.
Just as great as last time!!
Will stay for a week next year if possible.
Love this place and the area.
Won't want to go anywhere else when in Key Largo/Islamorada area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dls47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during a trip through the Keys. We wish we'd stayed longer here. It turned out to be the best accommodations of the trip. The staff was friendly, helpful and on top of things. The facility is a bit off the main road, so it was quiet. Rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast was awesome. The free use of the kayaks was a big bonus and the pool was splendid. The location on the Atlantic side made for great viewing. We hope to get back sooner than later.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Me and my wife took our honeymoon trip to this location. It was a beautiful area, the room was spacious, well furnished and well kept. The entire staff was all very friendly and helpful, they never got tired of answering our questions. The grounds were well maintained and absolutely beautiful! This place is almost like a mix between a bed and breakfast and a nice hotel. You have the amenities of a hotel (daily housekeeping, breakfast) with the quiet, privacy, and intimacy of a bed and breakfast. Absolutely loved our stay at the Dove Creek Lodge!!

Room Tip: Speak with someone at the front desk, they can assign a room after your reservation is made
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texaskd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We got to the hotel after dark after a longish day. Our room was clean and spacious but not gigantic. The bed was extremely comfortable- just like home.
Annie who was working at the desk when we arrived gave us a great dinner recommendation in addition to the one they share a parking lot with.
She also said that while check out was 11 AM. They would be fine with us using the kayaks etc and enjoying the property and facilities after we had checked out.
In the morning we awoke to a breathtaking view! Lots of pictures of the water and the gorgeous gardens.
Overall a wonderful stay we look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nemac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Do not hesitate to book rooms at Dove Creek Lodge. If you like peace and quiet, beautiful views, lovely morning breakfasts looking out onto the water, and excellent friendly service you'll be very happy here. We owe management a debt of gratitude. We will never be able to express how thankful we were to be moved to a room that was accessible by elevator, even though the Lodge was booked, the management went out of their way to accommodate us. We had physical ailments that made it difficult for both of us to walk stairs and the one room we specifically asked for had stairs. We booked our reservations before our physical troubles began and never thought to ask for handicap accessible. The management went beyond the call and approached us at breakfast and offered to move us into a lovely room that we will never forget. They removed all the stress we had been under with one BIG gesture. We will see you next year for sure (our 3rd stay) and we can't thank you enough for making our 4 nights there just relaxing and peaceful. Thanks Jen and Gary

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoSwimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel twice once in November 2012 and then returned in 2013 when we actually changed our travel itinery twice in order to get a room here. which just about says it all! The breakfast is fantastic, cereal, bagels, the usual but then you also have the unusual the key lime mousse and the greek yoghurt and granola are brilliant and then a couple of fruit kebabs all eaten on the patio overlooking the bay.
the setting is beautiful a quiet little cove with hammocks and chairs in the grounds where you can relax. The rooms are large and well equipped and exeptionally clean. There is a Snapper restaurant just a 2 minute walk around the bay and the food is amazing. It is always packed with tourists and locals and once you have eaten there you will return.
We are already trying to see if we can justify returning again in November this year !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with an ocean view a little more expensive but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sancrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing