We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Expereince” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Expereince”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Me and my wife took our honeymoon trip to this location. It was a beautiful area, the room was spacious, well furnished and well kept. The entire staff was all very friendly and helpful, they never got tired of answering our questions. The grounds were well maintained and absolutely beautiful! This place is almost like a mix between a bed and breakfast and a nice hotel. You have the amenities of a hotel (daily housekeeping, breakfast) with the quiet, privacy, and intimacy of a bed and breakfast. Absolutely loved our stay at the Dove Creek Lodge!!

Room Tip: Speak with someone at the front desk, they can assign a room after your reservation is made
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texaskd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    219
    50
    15
    13
See reviews for
125
559
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We got to the hotel after dark after a longish day. Our room was clean and spacious but not gigantic. The bed was extremely comfortable- just like home.
Annie who was working at the desk when we arrived gave us a great dinner recommendation in addition to the one they share a parking lot with.
She also said that while check out was 11 AM. They would be fine with us using the kayaks etc and enjoying the property and facilities after we had checked out.
In the morning we awoke to a breathtaking view! Lots of pictures of the water and the gorgeous gardens.
Overall a wonderful stay we look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nemac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Do not hesitate to book rooms at Dove Creek Lodge. If you like peace and quiet, beautiful views, lovely morning breakfasts looking out onto the water, and excellent friendly service you'll be very happy here. We owe management a debt of gratitude. We will never be able to express how thankful we were to be moved to a room that was accessible by elevator, even though the Lodge was booked, the management went out of their way to accommodate us. We had physical ailments that made it difficult for both of us to walk stairs and the one room we specifically asked for had stairs. We booked our reservations before our physical troubles began and never thought to ask for handicap accessible. The management went beyond the call and approached us at breakfast and offered to move us into a lovely room that we will never forget. They removed all the stress we had been under with one BIG gesture. We will see you next year for sure (our 3rd stay) and we can't thank you enough for making our 4 nights there just relaxing and peaceful. Thanks Jen and Gary

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGoSwimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel twice once in November 2012 and then returned in 2013 when we actually changed our travel itinery twice in order to get a room here. which just about says it all! The breakfast is fantastic, cereal, bagels, the usual but then you also have the unusual the key lime mousse and the greek yoghurt and granola are brilliant and then a couple of fruit kebabs all eaten on the patio overlooking the bay.
the setting is beautiful a quiet little cove with hammocks and chairs in the grounds where you can relax. The rooms are large and well equipped and exeptionally clean. There is a Snapper restaurant just a 2 minute walk around the bay and the food is amazing. It is always packed with tourists and locals and once you have eaten there you will return.
We are already trying to see if we can justify returning again in November this year !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with an ocean view a little more expensive but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sancrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The rooms at Dove's Creek are top notch! The bed was super comfortable, and the room was very relaxing. I have never had such a delicious and healthy breakfast at a hotel/resort before. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: The top floor has an excellent view! There are elevators for easy access too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in January and had a fantastic time. The room (203) was large with a huge and very comfortable bed. My wife and I had the best sleep we'd had for ages. The rooms were also well sound-proofed and despite being next to the breakfast lobby we were not disturbed at all.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent with a range of good quality bagels, muffins, etc. along with the usual spreads and cereal. There was also an excellent Key lime tart and a Greek yogurt with fresh berries. Coffee was on tap all day.
The unusually cold weather this year was no problem for us as we could always find shelter in the gardens or the pool area. The pool was heated and there was also a wonderful Hot Tub.
The hotel location is great and, being next door to the excellent Snappers restaurant, gave us the opportunity to relax with a few cocktails followed by dinner and not have to worry about driving.
We explored the Keys during our visit and found that the State Parks are by far the best spots. They have very reasonable entry fees ( about $3-$4.50 per person), excellent facilities and the food, drinks and equipment hire were very reasonable. By visiting the State parks you also get to see the Keys in their natural state along with all the wildlife. The Florida Wild Bird Sanctuary just up the road from the hotel is also well worth a vist.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with an ocean view as you can draw the curtains and watch the sunrise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We held our small company sales meeting here this week, and there are many great things to say about Dove Creek.

The staff is very accommodating and friendly, with lots of good information on things to do in the area. Very nice people on the whole, though the afternoon front desk manager was not a ray of sunshine.

Breakfast at the hotel was included, but fairly basic with some cereal, bagels, etc. A typical continental breakfast on par with most hotels and nothing to write home about. Always fresh hot coffee, which was a nice touch, and the staff was very quick to replenish anything so it was always full and available.

The rooms were very nice (only 19 on this property), with nice flatscreen TV's and comfortable king sized beds. The housekeeping staff did an exceptional job in straightening and cleaning the rooms quickly and thoroughly. We were very pleased with the cleanliness.

The grounds are quite small, but there's a nice sand area with a gazebo, two hammocks, and plenty of seating around the clean, warm pool. No complaints here at all, we were very pleased.

The restaurant that shares a parking lot, Snappers, had excellent food at a reasonable price (considering you're in the keys). Mahi, grouper, hag fish sandwiches are awesome, as are the fish tacos. We did lunch several times here to save time, and dinner twice due to the convenience and the quality.

Free use of kayaks, paddle boats, and a water trike on a come-and-go-as-you-please basis was fun for my wife and I one day.

In short, if you like a chain hotel with tons of staff and huge grounds that are loud and crowded, avoid this place. If you want a small, privately owned and quiet little quaint hotel with a beautiful view of the sunrise that has all the amenities in the world, this is a great place. You won't be disappointed in any way here.

Room Tip: Anything 4th floor will give you a best view of the sunrise (we were in 403)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
14.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing