We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dove Creek Lodge”
Review of MB at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MB at Key Largo
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A nice, quiet place on the Atlantic side of Key Largo. Great breakfast well presented. Great restaurants nearby and Annie was very helpful with her local knowledge. Nice pool and garden area with hammocks, swings, etc. for relaxing. very laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 870 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lovely staff, beautiful location. Laid back and comfortable and clean. Nice hammocks , pool and plantings around grounds. Great breakfast as well. Would stay there again.
Liked the screened in porches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a staircase in front of your screened in porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistmomma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We only stayed one evening and one full day in Key Largo, but the Dove Creek Lodge was a lovely place to stay, and I hope we make it back soon. Not only is the ocean view beautiful, which we could see from the private, screened porch off our room, but we also had views of the lodge's beautiful garden. Our room was a 2-room layout -- a living room area and separate bedroom. It was very comfortable, and very clean. The breakfast was delicious and consisted of coffee and breakfast breads, muffins and cereal. Fruit and yogurt was plentiful, and the dining area was very pleasant, including the small outdoor seating area. Paddle boats and kayaks were available to guests at no charge. The staff was quick to provide recommendations for area restaurants and other sightseeing opportunities, like a glass bottom boat tour of the coral reef, for which hotel guests were offered discounts. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barharborvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It’s difficult to review Dove Creek Lodge because in most respects it’s a lovely place to stay.
We'd stayed there on an overnight last year and were keen to return.

This time we were warmly welcomed by Annie and when the safe in our room failed to work a handy man put it to rights the next day. The location is beautiful and we made good use of the kayaks and pool. The tropical garden and hammocks are great. The continental breakfast is nicely presented, though more limited than you’d get in the average Hampton Inn.

All good, but no more than you’d expect in what is a pricey place to stay.

But Dove Creek Lodge has a dark secret which undermines all of the above and which in a hotel is a monumental failing and hard to overlook.
The sleep quality is absolutely TERRIBLE!

The fault lies in the design of the building. For anyone checking in to a standard double room on the top landing, this is not down to luck in the lottery of room allocation. We had this from the very unsympathetic woman who manned the desk on our first morning after.
She told us that ALL the rooms on our landing were the same.
The air conditioning systems for the larger rooms below, are housed in locked cupboards beside the bed in the standard rooms. This means that the noise you have to cope with overnight resembles a large delivery truck parked with its engine running between your bed and the bathroom. It is THAT BAD!

On night one it roared about ten minutes in every hour. On the following two nights the roar was continuous throughout the night with just 4 minutes respite in every hour.

We couldn’t believe that a hotel would knowingly offer guests a situation like this, but when we complained, the woman on the desk implied we were being picky. She admitted they get complaints about the noise but said most people don't complain.
She made it sound as if the management recognise they have a problem but have decided to 'wing it' anyway.
She said we couldn’t have a quieter room because she was fully booked, yet later that morning I watched at least three lots of guests checking out.
Instead, this woman’s idea of good customer service was to offer to help us find another hotel.
In view of the positive aspects of staying on, we declined. In fact, we had two good days at Dove Creek.
We also had three nights of sleep deprivation.
For this reason we wouldn't consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you value sleep, you won't get "a good room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a beautiful resort right on the water. The view from our ocean facing king room was breathtaking. Service was excellent and rooms were super clean. They have kayak and boats that you can take out on the water. Overall an excellent place to stay. We will be back. The snapper restaurant next door is highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wonderful place to stay on the Atlantic side of the Keys. The grounds were beautiful with chairs, hammocks and swings. My husband and I spent an hour sitting in a canvas swing watching the sky change colors as the sun set. From our room, we had a view of the small bay and docks with kayaks and paddle boats that are free to use for guests.

The room with king bed was well sized and very clean. Staff were gracious and quick to respond to requests. Continental breakfast was exceptional. Would definitely stay again for more than one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxTraveler832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall a well maintained compact hotel. They have a nice breakfast with good choice of coffees, teas, juice, fruit, breads and key lime desserts. There was a small pool, jacuzzi, and a relaxation area with a hammock and some chairs near the mangroves for relaxing near the water. Good parking areas underneath the rooms and a useful elevator for higher floors. Everything definitely seemed well looked after and clean.

I had really wanted to like this hotel given other great reviews and overall it was good...but I was very disappointed with one part of the customer service regarding major room noise.

We were unfortunate enough to be put in room 405 on top floor (there are similar rooms on either side which may share some of the issues so may be worth checking when you book). It seems they had put equipment that serviced the whole hotel (air circulation and conditioner units) in cupboards that were sealed up in the room. Unfortunately these turned on and off at 15-min intervals throughout the night keeping us awake.

When I inquired/complained they just shrugged it off. They did not even offer a clear explanation at first. They also did not offer an alternate room or any kind of sincere apology. Perhaps I may even have expected it had the room been cheap but through ebookers we were still paying approx $250/night.

I recognise the keys are busy at this time of year, and most rooms may not suffer the same problem, but I expected far better response from Dove Creek Lodge on a basic and justified issue.

Room Tip: Defintely not 405, or perhaps any of the 400 rooms as ours had hotel equipment in cupboards, & m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,587 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,608 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MB at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MB at Key Largo

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, Mile Marker 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892 (Formerly Dove Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $197 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MB at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MB at Key Largo is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. MB at Key Largo is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience. Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your MB at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing