We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, quiet, relaxed, special”
Review of MB at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MB at Key Largo
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I found Dove Creek Lodge online and was impressed with all the great reviews. We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My wife is happy with a hotel as long as it says "clean" to her when she steps foot in the door of the room, and she was not disappointed. The rooms are clean, up to date/hip, comfortable big king bed, uniquely decorated, bathrooms the same with a Tommy Bahama theme. The property is manicured with many fun things to do including pool, jacuzzi, 3 hammock swings, a small beach, marina with boat slips, free kayak and water bike or paddle boat. Plus there is a good restaurant next door (Snappers) and tiki bar with live entertainment until around 10 pm Thurs-Sat and I believe Sunday afternoon too. Very quiet, there were some young families with kids staying at the hotel while we were there but they were on a different floor. We saw our neighbors a couple of times, never heard them; once in our room we barely heard a noise from outside. Breakfast was thoughtful with a sufficient variety including fresh fruit and other local treats you don't see at the chain hotels. Views east of the bay are engaging and picturesque. Staff, without exception, were genuinely friendly and helpful -- all the staff -- they actually care that you have a pleasant stay and want to come back, which we most assuredly will!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 863 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I've visited the Keys an awful lot in my 25 years of living in S Fla and this was my first time at Dove Creek. I booked an oceanview king suite one week before Labor Day weekend for one night over the holiday and the rate was quite reasonable. The good rate had me worried about what I'd find because Keys hotels are notoriously overpriced and substandard, in my opinion.

Ann, the lady who checked us in, was personable, helpful and nice. She walked us to our room. Coffee/tea is available in the lobby during office hours (7am-7pm). A fantastic continental breakfast is served in the same lobby.

To my pleasant surprise, the property is beautiful, the amenities are great. The room was spacious with a large sitting area, large flat screen TVs (one in bedroom, one in sitting room) and a screened in patio overlooking the ocean and pool area.
Pool is clean and nice, grounds are very very clean even on this busy weekend.

Paddle boats and kayaks are complimentary and there is great mangrove shoreline close by to explore in them. The beach area (small sandy area with chairs and shaded by mangroves, not really a place to swim) is immaculate, beautiful and peaceful.

Decent restaurants abound nearby. Between that and the amenities on property you really dont have a lot of reason to leave except to see the rest of the area or to shop. BBQ grills are also available on property.

Overall, this was the perfect spot for relaxation in a comfortable atmosphere.

The only nit is that there was a slight odor in the room, as if the carpets were ready for cleaning. But they were in the middle of a deep cleaning project for the whole property and probably didnt get to my room yet. If not for this one issue I'd have rated this property 5 stars because thats what it would be by Keys standards. Unless you're ready to shell out much bigger bucks for Hawks Cay in Marathon or Cheeca Lodge in Islamorada, this place is the best value I can recommend. This would be my first choice for the upper keys

Room Tip: Oceanview overooking pool area was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dive4Blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and awesome location. There is a cat that walk around between Snappers next door and the Dove Creek grounds that is really cute (I named it KeyKey), it especially likes leftover fish and steak from dinner ;). There is a mini fridge in the closet so you can keep drinks cold. The grounds are meticulously kept. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was perfect the whole time. Iggy was so cool! I think he's the jack of all trades for the property but he was really helpful and fun to talk to about the local attractions. The owner Paul was really cool and nice as well. They have kayaks, a tricycle and paddle boards for free. We had a balcony with a perfect view. It was beyond relaxing and nice sitting on the mini beach looking at the water with a full moon and perfect weather (see picture).

Room Tip: If you like to sleep on, choose a room further away from the lobby, breakfast is popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollydolly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just confirming what many others have already stated. We stayed here one night after a long day in Everglades and it was a real treat. The property is very well kept and it offers all the amenities one desires. We spent the morning kayaking with our boys. It was very pleasant and tranquil. We even saw a manatee during our kayak and they do come all the way to the docks. What an experience.

The experience was perfect from check in to check out. Since I am a Choice Hotel gold member, I received a free resort hat at check in...thank you again! The breakfast was really awesome and you can sit at the balcony overlooking the waterfront. Definitely try the keylime pie...it's great! I asked for a late check out since I wanted to swim with the boys for a bit before we leave. But they only extended my check out time to 11:30am. So we ended up checking out at 11:30 and let the boys swim at the pool until 3pm while my wife and I relaxed at the hammock. There is a shower at the pool so they used that to rinse off. It was still great.

The room was very clean and spacious. I really love the decor and the screened patio space. WIFI works great.

I would definitely be back again. Next time I will stay for at least 3 nights to truly wind down.

We ate at the Snappers Restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The food was decent and the service was great. The atmosphere is almost perfect with the live music. You get a 10% off coupon from the hotel. We also ate at a local Thai/Sushi restaurant called Num-Thai & Sushi Bar Restaurant. They have really great food and is reasonably priced. It's only a short 20 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HipHipHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I love this place! Its situated directly on the waterfront with a gorgeous view. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. The facilities are very good with WiFi, free kayaking, a pool, and a hammock to lounge in. The breakfast is diverse and made up of good quality food. The staff were friendly and efficient. I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richiecuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel! Beautiful views, big rooms, free kayaking, pool, and a hammock to lounge and read in as you relax! The breakfast was great too. Beautiful spread. Everyone was very friendly and helpful except one of the younger girls in the office. We asked her for suggestions for a place to snorkel, dive, etc. She was not helpful at all, but everyone else is great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teacherhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The views from the rooms and hotel are great. Very nice place to just lay back and relax. Proximity to Snappers bar and grill make this hotel perfect. Kayaks and other water vehicles let you go out on the lagoon and enjoy nature. They also had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. Hammocks on the water added a nice touch to lounging around.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MB at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MB at Key Largo

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892 (Formerly Dove Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: $211 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MB at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MB at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing