We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in the keys!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in the keys!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great experience! From first appearance, the resort looked "typical keys", nice views and a tropical setting. Our room although it was their smallest was much more. It was clean, fresh smelling, comfortable and updated. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was nice with several light choices. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony listening to the live music coming from the restaurant/bar next door. There was a refreshing swimming pool and hot tub, hammocks, a fire pit, grill, a nice community room with a big screen tv and overstuffed furniture and even some covered parking. The entire experience was relaxing. We can't wait to go return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    231
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
129
575
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is it! Only a short drive from Miami....a taste of the Keys can be found in this small slice of paradise! The room was casually elegant with tastefully appointed decor. The staff immediately made us feel at home. Even though we arrived early, we were quickly notified by phone that our room was available. My husband's birthday celebration became the focal point of the afternoon. Guests arrived and immediately wanted more information on the hotel. Many plan to make reservations in the future. Everything was clean from the beach area, to the pool, to the room itself. Just stepping out of the car, you immediately feel relaxed!!!! Water activities are a step away- from kayaking, paddle boating, or just sitting under the gazebo viewing it all. This truly is paradise!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoniMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Rented a car at MIA and drove down to the Dove Creek to start our Keys vacation. Room was very nice, altho we set the air conditioner to 64 and the room was barely comfortable. I think they may have been in the midst of redecorating our room as the hair dryer had obviously been removed from the wall (wall not repaired) and the new hair dryer was sitting on the bathroom counter. Also had all the set up to make coffee but no coffee maker in the room. But there is a Kuerig machine in the lobby so coffee is available all the time. The continental breakfast was very nice too. Pool was small but very nice as were the surrounding grounds. Good location next to Snappers for lunch/dinner/drinks. Very low key atmosphere which is what we needed to start our vaca!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny60046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was thoroughly happy with my experience at Dove Creek resort! The staff was warm & welcoming, the rooms spotless of good quality textiles, and the atmosphere unbeatable! We enjoyed laying in the hammocks and listening to the live music floating across the water from the cove next door. Breakfast was fantastic. Canoeing and paddle-boarding available. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: We stayed during the week and were upgraded at no charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay. The resort provided a stress free environment and we especially loved laying in the hammocks with our kids at night listening to the music across the water. Breakfast was a refreshing treat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicdevelop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family took an extensive road trip in June 2013. We stayed at Dove Creek Lodge for one night and it quickly became our favorite. This place is AWESOME! The rooms are clean, updated and they pay attentions to details. There is a screened porch for each room. There is free access to the lodge's paddle boats and water bike. It was a blast paddling around in the little area by the hotel. There are swings, hammocks and chairs to enjoy the absolutely blissful; atmosphere. We enjoyed the live music from across the small bay while kicking back in one of their swings. We enjoyed the sunset from one of their chairs overlooking the bay. The pool is nice, clean and warm. The hot tub was wonderful. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful because they offered unique items such as homemade yogurt and fruit cups, and a homemade Key lime confection as well. This hotel is well worth staying at if you are in Key Largo - highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ashaklee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I was just there for a short stay, our room was up graded to a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was very clean and comfortable. We were able to check in earlier and Brianna was a sweetheart, I called to see if our room was ready and she took the time to check and when we got there she knew who we were and greeted us with a smile and walked us to our room. The pool was clean and refreshing, the beach is nice for sunning, you can't go swimming in the ocean but they do have boats that you can use in the cove, and hammocks to swing in. The Snapper restaurant is right next door and you can hear the music playing while your playing in the pool. We are already planning our next trip there and hopefully we will be able to bring more people with us so that they can experience the fun also. The continental breakfast was perfect to start your day and the coffee was great! You can sit on the balcony and look out at the ocean. Definitely worth the trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
584 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing