We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent a views”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Was welcomed immediately by the front desk host who personally showed us to our room. We loved the views, free water sports was also a plus. Very nice continental breakfast. My only complaint would be the pillows aren't very comfy, but all in all a great stay. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 862 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

excellent room with a view of the ocean. All of the rooms view the ocean. Lovely pool and hot tub. Continental breakfast included. The room was just as we expected with a large very comfortable King size bed with memory foam top. Two large hammocks and gazabo with a cahir swing for two. This is a small intimate resort. Not a box shaped cookie cutter resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djramb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We absolutely LOVED this place. Highly affordable, incredibly gracious hosts, stunning views- this was the perfect place to get away from it all. The breakfast was a little light on protein but the presentation of the fruit skewers, antipasto salad, pastries and cereals was very well done. Additionally, every morning yogurt with granola and key lime parfaits were artfully displayed in little dessert glasses. Kayaks are included with the room and we saw sea turtles in the sparkling waters of a nearby cove (just a quick paddle away). At night, we enjoyed the various artists strumming the guitar across the cove at Snapper's from our vantage point in the jacuzzi. We can't decide whether watching the sunrise from bed or falling asleep in the double-wide hammock were our favorite part about staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 204- AWESOME! However, if you stay in a higher-numbered room, rather than having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavyCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful two days at Dove Creek. Loved the location and the breakfast. The pelican put on a great show. Snappers next door was great and they shared their entertainment with us on the balcony of the Inn. Staff was wonderful and extremely pleasant. Our first visit to the Keys and this ma

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pstmn326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our first trip to Key Largo featured a 2 night stay at the Dove Creek Lodge. We had no prior experience there but liked the reviews on Tripadvisor. We arrived after 8pm (after the lobby closed) but had no problem getting to the room and found everything to be ready for us. Small, comfortable room with a small balcony with a view of the small garden and ocean. Located next to Snapper's restaurant that has live music but never loud and shut down at 10pm. After that, all we heard were the birds.

We met the staff the next morning at their light continental breakfast featuring fresh fruit, yogart, and breads. Staff was great.

A small hotel not for those who want 5 star service but a wonderful, quiet, place to stay. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There were larger rooms with screened porches; one of which a couple we met occupied. We had drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My family and I stayed a week at this lodge during the Summer of 2010 and loved it! We were celebrating our daughters 16th birthday. The rooms are spacious and decorated nicely and the staff was excellent and very friendly. The restaurant next to the lodge "Snappers" was wonderful as we had dinner there for my daughters actual birthday. They have live music nightly and you can listen to it while sitting on the dock of the lodge. If you don't want to be bothered by it you cannot hear it inside the room at all. Highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: There is no bad room area at the lodge! They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank habonaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A peaceful place to relax. There was plenty to do or not do. You can rent a waverunner or take a free kayak right outside your room. You could just lounge in one of the hammocks all day. They have a pool and a hot tub. There is a restaurant/bar right next door. Was not loud but you could hear the band at a nice listening level which made for an entertaining night swim. Breakfast was great. It was fresh with a variety of options. You could eat in or outdoors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
596 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: $209 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing