We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Dove!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Love the Dove!”
Reviewed April 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge for 5 days/4 nights in mid-April. Even before we arrived, I could tell that the decision to stay here was a good one. I had neglected to notice (despite it being written in bold lettering) in my confirmation email that the hotel lobby closes at 9pm. While sitting at a leisurely dinner in Miami, my phone rang at about 8:30pm. It was Dove Creek Lodge wanting to know if I would be there before 9pm, so as to make alternate arrangements for the room keys if my arrival was going to be later. Talk about being proactive! The level of service displayed by the entire staff at DCL was second to none. Gwen (the concierge) was wonderful, as was Jaime (the GM). I highly recommend the Dove Creek Lodge and would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    229
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
129
573
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Having never actually seen Dove Creek before I relied on my instincts and used the recommendations of Trip Advisor and contacted Jamie at Dove Creek.

From the first "Hello" I knew we had found our place to stay. I just returned back from spending 3 days at Dove Creek. I booked the trip for my company and brought 20 people from all over the country there for a team meeting.

From check in to check out Jamie, Gwen and the rest of the staff (sorry I didn't get to meet everyone) was wonderful. The accomodations were clean, the rooms were great, the view was spectacular.

I would definately come back both for additional team meetings as well as I would most certainly come back and spend personal time at Dove Creek Lodge.

I look forward to my next visit!

  • Liked — The staff was wonderful and the rooms were amazing.
  • Disliked — Checking out of the property!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Crookedridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

After getting a tip from our travel agent last year, my then fiance and I, booked Dove Creek for our March 28th, 2008 wedding. We made a short trip down there in July of 2007 and were pleasantly surprised. It's off the path, away from the road, and just a hidden gem....it's beautiful, relaxing, and the most helpful and caring people you could ever know work there.

When we arrived for our wedding on March 26th, we knew it would be perfect, and it was. Jamie and Gwen went beyond their call of duty and took on everything they could to make sure everything went smoothly.

Along with our wedding at Dove Creek, we had our wedding dinner, with our 16 guests, at Snappers. They were such a pleasure to work with---Michael, the GM, was absolutely amazing. They made personalized menus for our group, and we couldn't have had better service or food.

After the dinner, we returned to Dove Creek to have our cake cutting and wine toast in the pool area. Jamie and her team had decorated it and set everything out for us so we didn't need to do a thing. It was gorgeous and so nice to come back to an already decorated and ready-to-go area.

I don't know what else to say about Dove Creek other than to say that they are one of a kind. Places like this are hard to find anymore, and I'm so glad we found them. We will be visiting for many years to come.

I would highly recommend Dove Creek for your small wedding, or if you are just wanting somewhere to relax. They are fabulous!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything---excellent service, beautiful views, the beds are amazing! Cannot say anything bad about it!
  • Disliked — Nothing! It's all great!
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank agreenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2008

The Dove Creek Lodge, Key Largo, was the perfect destination for our daughter's wedding! The manager, Jamie Esterline, made our event! Jamie was our "on site" wedding coordinator, following up with vendors, making sure of all the details, making suggestions for the event, providing suggestions for vendors, hair stylists, florists, fishing captains, activities, dining, anything and everything we needed to insure a wonderful stay for all 32 people attending the wedding. All our guests stayed at the Dove Creek Lodge. The property is beautiful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and maintained.

We had a very tight budget and therefore created the theme and did as much of the work as possible to create the vision we had for the wedding. We shipped the wedding decorations to the Dove Creek Lodge, even Christine's wedding dress. All were in our room when we arrived and Christine's wedding dress hanging so that the wrinkles could hang out before the wedding, if it had needed pressing that too would have been taken care of. The maid of honor dress needed pressing, Jamie took care of it.

We stayed in Room 402 one of the two large suites. It was perfect for all our family and the assembly of all the decorations and welcome gifts for our guests. Having our own full kitchen and living room along with a lovely screen porch looking out on the Atlantic, meant we could host the Welcome Reception for approx. 15 of the early arrivals, in our suite.

Jamie and her staff worked tirelessly to help set up all the decorations, polish rented plates, glasses and flatware, raking the sand to perfection, setting up the ceremony and reception areas including more palm fronds on the tiki bar, setting up chairs, tables etc. I had no idea so much went into set up when you don't just have the catering company "do it all for you". I know now and am forever thankful for the DCL Staff and most especially Jamie.

Jamie's staff also insured that the event went well, going the extra mile for us. When the rental company delivered the tables etc. for the reception, all needed repairs, Jamie's staff went to work repairing and setting up the tables. We were not told about any issues until after the wedding. They just took care of it.

We look forward to returning to the Dove Creek Lodge for many years. The memories we have created there will last forever...all good memories.

We will add photos to our review as soon as we have them.

  • Liked — Perfect location, perfect accommodations and perfect staff
  • Disliked — NOTHING...ok, that we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SchonGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My husband and I wanted to get away for a couple of days and I came across this hotel through a search. I called directly and spoke with Gwen who is the nicest person you will meet. She answered all my questions and I was booked in minutes. She also booked a half day charter with Black Foot Fishing and the only thing i regret is I only booked it for a half day!! It was great, Mike who was our guide was just great, and we are planniing another charter with him in the next couple of months. We caught a couple of fish and took it over to Snappers which is next door and oh do they know how to cook fish!! I recommend the blackend style, it was great!!. We did go in the pool and hot tub which was in a beautiful courtyard with a gazeboo and hammocks. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was so nice and welcoming. We stayed in a Lodge room and it was clean and had everything we needed including a small fridge and freezer just in case you do get fish.

  • Liked — the balcony and ocean view
  • Disliked — air conditioner made a funny noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cggrlsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Beautiful property and great stay! Gwen set us up with a great dive company and a great offshore charter for tuna and dolphin with Capt. John, even had lunches made for us to take along!

Highly recommend a visit.

A great place for a nice seafood dinner is Lazy Days in Islamorada just down from World Wide Sportsman, just plan on leaving with a doggy bag. Great food with large portions.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank bzy_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This is a 4 star hotel with a 6 star staff. The lodge is beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. They help with any plans and advice,(including coupons for local attractions and ice cold bottled water for the road). My husband and I enjoyed our stay and the pool! We will be staying there again very soon.

  • Liked — the location and the sunrise
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wholuvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
570 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,281 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,517 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing