We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE Real Gem in the Florida Keys”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“THE Real Gem in the Florida Keys”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

OK, before I start, I should realize that if everyone reads this then I'll probably have difficulty booking this hotel again in the future, because everyone will want to stay here. This hotel really is a GEM in the jungle of hotels and resorts in the Keys. You'll have trouble finding it because it's in a laid-back hidden location in the middle of nowhere on the Atlantic Ocean side at the lower end of Key Largo. As you approach the hotel you'll quickly realize you've found something different and better than the rest.
We checked-in on the Sunday afternoon before Christmas for our 3-day stay and Deb, who was on duty, greeted us in a charming fashion. She showed us our incredible, very clean and spacious room with a small balcony and explained the layout of the hotel to us.
There's a heated pool, a hot tub and kayaks (free) for the guests use along with hammocks and lounge chairs in the "pool garden". You're going to enjoy the lounge room where breakfast (extensive continental) is served. There's even a Keurig machine for your use to make coffee and tea any time you like. That's in addition to the "usual" coffee maker and fridg in your room. "Snappers Restaurant", right next door, was convenient and has some decent food.
All in all it remains to be said, that if someone wrote anything negative about this hotel it's because they were in the wrong spot, they definitely were NOT in the same Dove Creek Lodge as we were!!!

Room Tip: Hotel is built in the "stilt house" style often found in the Keys. All rooms are on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadking2044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    226
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
126
569
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After a bad stay at Sheraton Suites in Key West, I was so looking forward to our two day stay here. I booked this place based on TripAdvisor reviews. Apparently I have a different standard than those who gave glowing reviews. First of all at check in there was no one there for 10 minutes. All that was there was a rock with "Be right back" on it. Unfortunately I seen that rock a lot. They should at least have some type of system in place so people don't have to wait. There is only someone there from 7 - 7. On the day we checked in around 3:30 or 4, we were taken to our rooms and was told she (front desk person) was about to leave for the day and told me about an emergency number to call if needed. I feel like she was waiting for us so she could leave. The rooms we had were very small. It was all they had available when I booked. No dresser, a closet that contained a small refrigerator and safe. There was also a directors chair which I found to be useless. There was a flat screen tv in front of the bed with a desk under that. There was a small walkway between the desk and bed. The room showed wear from other visitors. They need to invest in some magic erasers to clean the scuff marks off the walls. The bathroom was not appealing. The tile strip above the towels rack was corroded with dirt, dust and hair. The shower curtain had mold on it - disgusting. I don't think anyone is checking on the cleaning. The shower looked dirty because if the poor grout job. The toilet didn't have a seat cover which was strange and it flushed slowly. They have Tommy Bahamas shampoo, conditioner and bath gel in dispensers in the shower. The towels were soft, but there was something red on one of them. I did not see any bed bugs as reported in an earlier review. The beds were the best thing about the place. I read reviews of people talking about the grounds. There is no beach and the little harbor was full of sea garbage. There was no way my kids were getting on the free kayaks in that water. The grounds could use some upkeep. If I'm paying a big price for a room I better get what I'm paying for, not here at all. They said they were booked, but I only seen a few people. The free breakfast was ok. Bagels, English muffins, fruit, boiled eggs, parfait, drinks. We were the only ones there at 7:30. The front desk person was sitting at the front and did not acknowledge us until she came into the breakfast area and turned the tv on. We got a hello. This place may have been good at one time. It most definitely has potential. Maybe Gordon Ramsey should do a Hotel Hell here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xuna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Me and my husbands stay at dove creek lodge was wonderful. Debbie at the fronk desk was very nice and accommodating! She stayed late for us on Christmas Eve cause we were running late and needed to pay cash. Our room was a one bedroom suite and it was very clean and nice. They have kayaks for you to use for free and hammocks to lay in. The pool and hot tub were very nice and we were the only ones in them so it was very private. Would definitely come back again !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melnesci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I wanted someplace reasonably priced to stay as a pit stop to Key West for our honeymoon, so we came across this place on the AAA website. This hotel is hidden away, feels like in the middle of nowhere and we did not know what to expect. As soon as we came in, Brianna greeted us with a smile. We got a complimentary upgrade for our room and were floored when she escorted us to our room and showed us exactly where to park. She was very friendly and informative. The room is incredible, very clean and spacious even had a netted porch where you could sit outside your room without being annoyed by bugs. We wish we stayed longer. This is indeed a hidden gem and we would definitely stay here again!

Tip: The elevator & room set up is a little confusing. Both 2nd & 3rd floor rooms are on floor 2 of the elevator and 4th floor is on floor 3. Keep that in mind if you have a top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, if available the views are incredible from here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_CDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

we found this delightful facility on line and loved it! The 1 bedroom suite was great, the breakfasts were wonderful and the staff very efficient and friendly. If someone wrote anything negative about this facility they must have been in the wrong spot!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

On our week-long vacation to Miami/Key Largo/Key West, this was by far the best place we stayed at. The suite was clean, comfortable, and we enjoyed the attached screened porch. The bed was comfortable, the decor pleasant, and the continental breakfast was fresh and filling. The pool water temperature could have been warmer, but there was a hot tub that we used instead. The restaurant next door was convenient with good food. However, the live music could be disruptive if you are a light sleeper. We closed the bedroom door and were able to sleep soundly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueiii596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful place and by far the best on our trip! A beautiful pool area and sand "beach" with hammocks, and soft chairs. (It's not a beach really since it's facing a small pier and not the seaside.)

Our kid had a great time in the sand, the pool and the garden, and we loved the relaxation. Not too many families around, quite calm and relaxed place.

For a beach one can drive to the island plantation and turn right at Dairy Queen. Nice beach with playground for children.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing