We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet 19-unit hotel. Loved the Key Lime Suite. Great value!”
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great location on the Atlantic ocean. No beach, but outside of Key West, mangroves rules the shoreline. Complimentary kayak usage was a plus. Nice billards table under the Key Lime suite and by the pool/jacuzzi was a nice pastime. And with only 19 units, never crowded. Breakfasts, also complimentary, were perfect. Everything was in good to excellent condition. Structurally sound to withstand a major hurricane...but blocks out cell phone signals, so you'll have to stand outside to talk on your mobile phone. I grilled twice on their gas BBQ.

The hotel is adjacent to Snapper's restaurant and bar. We enjoyed live music nightly right from our suite.

Exploring the Dove Creek mangrove lined passages on kayak was a fun, particularly since their were small craft warnings out the full week I visited the islands.

Favorite part of the hotel were the very helpful front desk staff, full of ideas of where to go to explore the Keys. They turned me on to the Noname Key Kayak Adventure outfit that allowed to paddle around Noname Key (in the Big Pine Key area).

Diving/snorkeling off of Key Largo was a bit disappointing after spending time in the south Pacific and Australia. Better snorkeling off Bahia Honda Key to the south.

Room Tip: Splurge and go for the Key Lime Suite. Full kitchen, screened porch overlooking Atlantic, covered pa...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solanagutslsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Dove Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 861 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, professional pleasant and helpful staff, clean well stocked room, beautifully maintained building and grounds, delicious appealing breakfast, many free amenities. We rate it 10 out of 10 on a great scale.
We would definatly stay here again!

Room Tip: Suite with a screened porch is a must!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is everything that the website portrays it to be. The hotel property is very well maintained, and beautiful. The staff was very attentive and helpful whenever we needed anything. Hotel is kept very clean, it was a peaceful and very enjoyable stay. My partner and I definitely recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a long overdo update to my original review. After posting my review in January 2012, I was contacted by the manager of the Dove Creek Lodge. She asked for additional details of our stay at the lodge.

I explained what has happened upon our arrival. We talked for quite sometime. She explained that many properties in the Keys do not staff their "desk" all night. That is only found in the larger "chains".

She insisted that we accept a refund for half of our stay. I explained that was not my intent. More than gracious, she made good on her promise and money was credited to our account.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

First time to the Keys, didn't know what to expect for hotels. Dove Creek turned out to be a nice, clean place to stay on the way down to Key West. Access to kayaks, a nice little pool, great view of the sunrise in the morning. A bit further south from the main cluster of hotels in Key Largo, which I considered a good thing. Nice breakfast in the morning with fruit, yoghurt, and various breads.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zevonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great lodge with a nice complimentary breakfast. We liked the coziness of the resort and the amenities of a big resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mascarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed three nights and found it very peaceful and quiet after the bustle of Miami. There is a good restaurant next door, free kayaks, nice little pool and a beautiful view over the marina. A very nice breakfast is provided also. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, here it is...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,321 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: $178 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing