We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean room”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We didn't get to use the "resort" because there are so many other things to do in the Keys. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again in the future and hopefully have more time to just hang out and enjoy the resort.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank FloridaAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 647 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2007

We checked in after a long day after flying into Fort Lauderdale and exploring the Everglades...what a welcomed oasis! The lodging was outstanding, the bougainvilla beautiful, and the sunset was awesome! After a wonderful dinner nearby, the king bed was wonderful! The resort is very quiet and we really enjoyed the hammock hanging near the tiki and water - a great way to enjoy our first Keys sunset...thank you Rock Reef!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CaptainChaos911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

We had a 3 night stay at the Rock Reef, and found it to be OK, but not great. The price was better than the surrounding neighbors, and we enjoyed relaxing at the dock with a book after a day of sightseeing. The little beach was adequate, but there were too many jellyfish to swim there during our stay- not their fault! The room was very dated, and you'd need to be a contortionist to watch the tv, considering it's strange positioning. It's unfortunate some of the smaller things hadn't been addressed, but the major ones were good: the staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Myntrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We had a late arrival so our key along with a welcome letter was
hanging on the pegboard at the office.
We were pleasantly surprised that our room had been upgraded.
My father had asked that our stay be a pleasant one and I believe that is why the upgrade was given. There were other rooms available. In the morning when we could see the property I couldn't believe my eyes. It was like a piece of heaven, Lots of greenery and plants, a private beach, a BBQ area with picinic tables plus a number of hammocks all over the place. Everything was so unexpected. So to say I was pleasantly surprised is an understatement.
We talked with other folks that were there and all said they had been coming to the property for 10-15yrs. I can see why. I also will be a return customer.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bblueeyescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We stayed at the Rock Reef Resort for three days. This is a traditional Keys hideaway, not an impersonal chain resort. Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade, which we gladly took. The staff here is helpful, friendly, and readily available to answer any question. Our room was quite large and the grounds are lovely.

There isn't really a beach here, however there is water access. Be sure to bring your 'water shoes', as there is a sand/coral mix on the bottom. Our days were spent relaxing on the beach chairs and hammocks, and trying to spot sealife. Right from the water's edge, we saw puffer fish, needle fish, huge blue crabs, starfish, hermit crabs, and many others.

Overall we had a wonderfully relaxing visit, and I would highly recommend the Rock Reef. From staying a large chain all-inclusives to small private B&Bs, I felt right at home here.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Addie314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

The Rock Reef sure has some good reviews on Tripadvisor. This is why we chose it in the first place.

However.....

The resort is very basic in its ameneties. The resort will charge you 50% of your stay on reservation and the reminder on arrival, which i find quite poor actually. Once you're in you cant get out.

But down to the nitty-gritty :

We had a/the beachfront hut #9 (sorry i can not use the word cottage in this context). If you are a 6'3" frame the roof must be awfully close to your head, I pulled in my head and i am only 6'

The kitchenette is OK and clean, the living area small and clean.
The bathroom is the size of what you can expect on an overnight ferry.
The bedroom has two "princess" beds (sorry too small for a queen) and one tiny wardrobe.
Do not bother asking for a cot or a crib. If you would put a dog into that crip any league for the protection for animals would scream "Not enough space". You get charged extra for this joke of a crib BTW. Why - I dont know

The aircondition in the bedroom (no airco in the other rooms) is fighting a hopeless battle as its too small for the unit. And if you sleep under it - you will probably have frostbites the next morning as it is a small Mitsubishi wall-mounted unit. So all in all expect slightly elevated temperatures. If you are into camping you will enjoy the hut - but if you paid 279$ a night you wont. It is that simple.

I am quite furious about this actually : the resort has so much potential and the setting is exquisit. Why no one wants to invest 30-50K$ in order to bring this out of the 70ies and into the 3rd millenium is beyond me.

You get charged a premium but you are not getting premium for your buck. We just simply left after one night and checked in somewhere else. Refund ? None. So we ended up using the hut as out little beach hut in the day. Kind of like a home away from homw away from home.

Such a bad experience - what a wate of money

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockReefResort, Owner, Manager at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2007

Reviews written by guests disgruntled due to a Resort policy they do not like, are not very useful to the traveling public and certainly do not enhance the value of trip advisor.

You were upset with our cancellation policy, which was explained to you before you made the reservation. I believe you will find the same or very similar cancellation policy at most of the privately owned Resorts throughout the keys.

The bedroom has two standard size double beds. We have considered putting in a queen bed; however we have so many families with children that it just wouldn’t work. The wardrobe is 30 inches deep and nearly five feet wide -floor to ceiling – a lot of space.

The air conditioner is around two years old and is the proper size for the cottage. I believe you may have had the directional vanes on the air conditioner adjusted to blow directly down on the bed. Some of our visitors from distant lands are not accustomed to a/c and its use. You should have spoken to us – we would have gladly helped you.

We are restricted by law from enlarging our buildings – aka – expanding our footprint. This quasi moratorium is in place to curtail rampant population growth and is a good law basically. However it keeps us from building larger rooms and cottages to replace some of the existing units.

If you think $279 ($28.75 tax included) is a premium for this cottage apparently you haven’t checked prices on other water front accommodations in the Keys.

You said that you checked in somewhere else – however you returned daily to Rock Reef Resort. Obviously you couldn’t find a nicer location or you would not have returned daily to enjoy our beautiful sandy beach and water front cottage. Quite a compliment!

Thank you for staying.

Management


P.S. You’re right – the setting is exquisite. With nearly four acres and only twenty one units, Rock Reef is a touch of Old Florida with all the modern amenities. It is our intention to keep it that way as long as possible.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We have been going to Rock Reef off and on for 20 years. We have stayed at other locations, but always return here. The reasons are many! The grounds are so beautiful and lush with tropical flowers, plants, trees and fruits. We enjoy picking up ripe key limes that have fallen and making a pie. One of the best things is their tidal pool and beach. The snorkling is wonderful. This trip we saw seahorses, starfish, parrot fish, needle nose fish, blue crab, hermit crabs wearing tulip shells, horse shoe crabs, sponges, upside down jellies, many, many other fish! It is a quiet, peaceful, small resort that you can feel safe about letting your children enjoy playing under the coconut palms in the sand or like us, your grandchildren. We first came with our children, now we have their spouses and our grandchildren! Everything is still beautiful and nice. We like to stay in the cottages facing the beach. We seldom leave the resort once we arrive, although Pennekamp is very close. We may take the 98 mile drive to Key West to see their sunset, although nothing beats the beautiful one on the dock at Rock Reef. Then if you are lucky, you will see hundreds of lime green, tiny bioluminaries float by in the current after sunset. A spectacular show! It is always fun to explore the mangroves in the paddle boat. Although there is no pool, we have never missed it. There is a hot tub. It is one of our favorite vacation spots. You must walk across the street to eat at Ballyhoo's. It has always been there, and has fabulous seafood, homemade salad dressings and Key Lime pie. Whale Harbor on the next key down, is also a fun and good seafood buffet on the water. Throw your watch in a drawer, relax and enjoy life. It is so wonderful. We will always go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dolphinmomtampabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
616 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
3.3 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Key Largo
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $139 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing