We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been booking rooms on-line for the past six years and must say that the vast majority of the time I have been somewhat disappointed because the pictures and description were misleading. Never visiting Key Largo before, I didn't have very high expectations of my booking this time either. I arrived to a friendly staff with no problems whatsoever checking in. The room was exactly as I was picturing, and was very clean. There is no excuse for not being able to relax as they have numerous places on the property to be by yourself. I stayed 2 days and it was just the right amount of time for us as there isn't much to do. It is a great place "to just get away from it all" for awhile though. An excellent value and would reccomend anyone (unless your hyperactive, and can't relax) to stay here.

Room Tip: Downstairs efficiency apartments are a great value and have chairs and table outside your room to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haymaker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindamanagement, Owner at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Rock Reef and for the nice review.

We are glad that you were able to relax. Please look at our web site and check out our activity tab to see the many things you can do in and around the Key Largo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    205
    59
    18
    8
See reviews for
152
310
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Well, the sunset was lovely and the flowers everywhere are God's handiwork at His best, but for $180, it would have been nice to have coffee. The room was big, but the microwave and coffee pot were broken. I only realized this AFTER I had to walk across the street to the party store to BUY coffee, because Rock Reef does not provide coffee.

The backyard is cool, with a tiki hut and hammock, but for the money...go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top of the stairs was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindamanagement, Owner at Rock Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for staying at Rock Reef and for writing a review. We don’t supply coffee because
everyone has their own favorite type and it would be impossible to please everyone. However,
we do supply a working coffee maker, filters and mugs so you can enjoy you own brand.
Our microwaves are also in working order. If you told us you had operating difficulties, we would have gladly helped you. On the rare occasion when one might fail, we have a
replacement available.

Our backyard is a great place to relax-on the beach, on the pier or in one of the swings or hammocks. With nearly four acres and twenty one units you never feel crowded.

Thanks again for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is our second trip in the past two years. We like the concept of having a room within 100 ft of the sandy beach and ocean. Great place to just sit back and relax. Rooms are clean and reasonably priced but book ahead during the season because they have a lot of European customers that make reservations 12 months in advance.

Room Tip: They have a great hot tub and perfect sunsets. Take a bottle of wine down to the twiki hut at sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My second time there in two years. Stay in a beach cottage to feel you are in paradise or stay in one of the less expensive rooms in the main building and you are only a few yards from a great water front experiance. Clean with a friendly staff and owner. Near everything in Key Largo but this time, staying on the beach in a cottage, we did not want to leave the place to go anywhere!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

good location rooms were cleam grounds could be up graded the staff and owners were very helpfull sunsets were awsome we would recomend this location for travel one maybe 2 days could have a contiental breacfest to start the day thanks timmer

Room Tip: there was no pool small shorline
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nice large, immaculate, well laid out rooms are offered at Rock Reef. Very accommodating staff. This resort offers a bit of everything: privacy for gathering and having a BBQ, a beach, a dock, ornamental paths and the best sunsets. Rooms all seem to have refrigerators, very confortable beds and closet space. Great restaurant across the road that makes to die for meals including deserts. Ask for rooms facing the back of property and beach for views..Just an hour from Miami Airport and 2 hours from Key West. Great for get together's. Our group started with 20 of us to celebrate a 50th birthday, and ended with 6 of us to finish out a girls weekend. We all loved this resort. Couldn't have picked better.

Room Tip: Rooms facing grounds will have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lourdescouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just stayed at Rock Reef Resort, I have to say I did not know what to expect, since this was my first time in Key Largo. Upon check in, we were offered to see our room, I wanted to upgrade to the beach front, that was not a problem, however the room we were given had an ant/water problem, we were immediately moved into another unit that was wonderful. The resort is well used but clean and great! We met wonderful people and saw beautiful sunsets, with great beach front views. This is a true gem and we will return!! The owners and staff could not be nicer !!! True hidden gem!!! So glad we went here!

Room Tip: when arriving ask to see your room, if you are not happy with it, the staff and owners are more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,490 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,306 reviews
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Property: Rock Reef Resort
Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing