We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had 5 adults in room #6. It was cozy, but comfortable and clean. We appreciated the kitchen, although it was small. The outdoor area was awesome...small beach, lounge chairs, paddleboat, two kayaks, hammocks, and picnic tables. We appreciated the laid back, family feel of this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpalmer1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    196
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
137
292
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The natural setting at Rock Reef makes a bit of "Old Florida" alive. Fruit trees, hammocks strung from palm trees and the best sandy beach on the bay all add to a perfect get-a-way. Try a cottage on the bay...There are only 2 so reserve well in advance. It is fun to snorkel off the beach seeing small fish and some sponges. The best snorkeling is thru the dive shops that take you out to the reef. You'll always return to fabulous Key Largo and Rock Reef Resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have stayed twice at the Rock Reef Resort. The staff is always friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Rock Reef is the perfect place for large or small group overnight stays. The location is ocean front with a private dock and beach. The setting is extremely private with hammocks, fruit trees, and beautiful gardens. This is the perfect getaway spot for short and extended stays. I can't wait to get back to the Keys and the Rock Reef.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sommer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

At the end of our Florida Keys vacation we came across this resort in the AAA guide book. We are so glad we stayed here! I agree with all of the reviews, everything was a little dated but spotless clean. We got in at about 7:30 pm, were given a great rate on a room facing the beach and were immediately given beach towels, lifejackets and the keys to the paddle boat. We had the chance to spend a little while in the sunset paddling around and enjoying the pristine location. I am always nervous about bed bugs and thoroughly inspected the mattresses when we got there, they looked brand new, no bugs at all and were very comfortable. We stayed with our two children, ages 6 & 7 and they also had a wonderful time. It is minutes to John Pennekamp State Park which is why we chose it (we got up early and went snorkeling). What this is not: a high end resort. Next door there is a resort that looks almost identical except the beach is completely manicured and everything looks newer. This is more of a diamond in the rough - clean, peaceful and everything you need for a nice time on a budget. Also has a boat ramp and boat slips, grill, hot tub, hammock, swim beach (small) table and benches on the pier and the perfect view of the sunset over the water.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side face the patio, beach and hot tub. Upstairs rooms on the West side have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Nice place for a good price. Stayed for one night during Easter for 120$, lowest price in that area. They have small private beach area with a pier and beautiful garden for relaxing. The room was clean and bed comfy. The sunset from the pier was one of the kind.
Recommend.

Room Tip: Even the standart room is good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here with my husband in mid April. We love the quietness that comes with smaller places. The water is a quick walk through the beautiful grounds which include a bonsai garden. There are plenty of places to sit, including hammocks to just enjoy being outside. We also were able to take out the paddle boat and enjoy the Gulf which is a nice change since our town beach in S. Florida is the Atlantic. Christy at the front desk was super helpful and never steered us wrong when we asked for suggestions on where to eat. I found the rooms to be spacious, clean and great A.C. The reason I say very good and not excellent is because of the bed, it could have been better but was it the worst, not at all. I would recommend the Rock Reef Resort to anyone that likes a simpler not corporate feel to a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Property: Rock Reef Resort
Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing