We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One our favorite "Old Florida" resorts”
Review of Rock Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One our favorite "Old Florida" resorts”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Rock Reef is a small, quiet, old Florida style resort. The grounds are beautiful, the staff and management are always gracious, and the rooms are nice and clean. This is a laid back resort that makes you feel like you are at home. It's on the gulf side so it's more of the green water and grassy bottom terrain but it's great for fishing and kayaking. There is no pool but they have a hot tub, places to tan under the sun and plenty of beautiful shaded places to cozy up with a nice book or take a nap under the salty breezes. The views are amazing and atmosphere is completely mellow and soothing. It is also convenient to a lot of other nearby attractions and services.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    204
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
149
307
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
meriden, ct
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Key West - found the Rock Reef just a little before sunset. The proprietor was friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and a good size, and the grounds are beautiful. The sunset was way better than any we saw in KW.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcsmith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We felt like we arrived at a friend's home; comfortable, inviting, laid back. This mini resort is perfect if you are looking for simple ambiance, nicely kept landscaping and a B&B type feel. We stayed 2 nights in room #2 which has a queen bed, refrigerator and microwave. The room faces inward to the breeze-way which means no chance of road noise and no adjoining room to the right. It met our needs perfectly. We spent each morning and evening out at the water's edge enjoying the view, the hammocks and tables and especially enjoyed visiting with other guests. The staff was helpful and friendly, making our stay memorable. We are glad we chose this property to start off our 10 day Florida Keys vacation.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the water versus the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc16_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Music City USA
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Rock Reef is a slice of paradise! If you can, grab one of the cottages on the beach front. Amazing views, great atmosphere and wonderful hosts. Be sure to see the Bonsai garden and prepare to relax and enjoy a great little spot! A+

Room Tip: Stay in one of the beachside cottages. Amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radioriffraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Just got back from a stay at this resort. We stayed in number 5. The good: The beds are brand new and very comfortable. The room while dated, was clean and in working order. To those of you who prefer 'modern everything this isn't the place for you. Personally, I will take a comfy bed and an OLD FASHIONED shower head with actual water pressure to granite counter tops any day! The staff was helpful and pleasant. They were family and they treated us like family. It felt like we were staying at a B&B more than a hotel/resort- Old Florida at its best! Reading some of the reviews we were hesitant but glad we took a chance! I would recommend this hotel to friends. We had a great time. We didn't find the HWY 1 road noise to be a problem. Nor did we encounter bed bugs. I did get bitten by a spider, but that could have happened at our house in Florida and it doesn't reflect on the hotel. The bad: the thermostat in the room seemed wildly off. It is an old mechanical thermostat and we had a hell of a time with it. The indicated temperature doesn't seem to be accurate. The first night it was warm and humid with the thermostat set at 75. (the temp claimed to be 68) The next night we turned the thermostat all the way down to 50. We can verify the A/C works quite well because we were freezing. On our last night we set the thermostat between 62 and 64 it was still a little cold, but better than the other two nights. I hope the thermostat gets fixed. For frame of reference, we live in Florida and typically keep the house at between 75 and 79 in the summer. One other thing bring your own paper towels. Overall I would give this hotel a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vortex7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Came down for a few days of R&R and to pick up a new Flat Boat. This motel was recommended to us, and so glad we heard about it. We had a nice efficency which was close to the dock and the beach area. The room was very comfortable and the grounds were sprinkled with hammocks, swings and lovely trees. The setting was very peaceful, with beautiful views from the beach and dock area. The boat ramp and dock was good for a boat under 20 ft. After that would be a little hard to get back to the area. If you are looking for a ritzy place to stay, this is not for you, but if you want a tranquil piece of old Florida with beautiful sunsets, and a laid back flavor, this is the place! We will certainly be back, with hopefully more time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarthogOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My family and I stayed here for two night and LOVED it! We had room 8 which has a bedroom with two queen beds, a bathroom,a small kitchenette and a livingroom. Certainly plenty of space for two adults and two smaller kids (ages 12 and 9). It was very clean and just what we wanted.

What makes this resort so wonderful is the beautiful landscaping and being beach front. There are hammocks to lounge in, lounge chairs by the beach to relax on, a covered thatched hut with a table to use, not to mention the wonderful beach. They claim that it's one of the nicest in the Keys.... and we agree! The water was so nice to swim, snorkel or simply hang out in. The staff were so helpful and friendly as well. We spent time in Marathon as well as Key West, and we all agreed that we want to come back here and stay longer. It truely IS paradise!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
957 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,517 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Reef Resort

Property: Rock Reef Resort
Address: 97850 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Reef Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rock Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Reef Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing