We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ed & Ellen's Lodgings
Ranked #14 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Budget motel”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is an old. budget motel. Not near beach. Clean. Old linens, towels sheets etc.
Small bathroom with an ultra water saver shower head...
Road noise and very noisy air conditioner. Nice owner. Good location at the
start of the keys.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luassudipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    24
    7
    18
See reviews for
12
32
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I debated how far from Key West to say, since I am not fond of bridges nor do I like paying outrageous prices for a room. Ed and Ellen's on Big Pine Key was the perfect solution. They have 2 identical duplexes on the same street. We stayed in the one furthest away from the road and it was quiet and relaxing.

We arrived on Thanksgiving day to find the Big Pine Key duplex situated in the Key Deer Preserve. The outside structure was typical of a stilt home and the interior was spacious, clean and comfortable. The views from the front and back deck are amazing, it was wonderful sitting on the back deck watching the sunrise and then watching the sunset from the front deck. We even had visitors one morning, Key Deer in the front yard, that was cool.

This is a very functional 2 bedroom unit with a full kitchen, televisions in the living room and both bedrooms, ceiling fans and great water pressure (a big surprise). I was a bit concerned about that since the duplex is not in town. Everything was provided: dinnerware, cookware, full fridge, stove w/ oven, microwave, toaster and coffee pot. Plenty of linens and comfy beds made this a great stay. The unit has A/C but we didn't need it since there was a wonderful breeze, we just kept the windows open.

When we come to the keys again, we WILL be staying at Ed and Ellen's Lodging on Big Pine Key.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ed and Ellen were both great, they make you feel like your at home! Ed gave us good advice on the area and gave us some coupons. He is quite the character. The hotel was like a home away from home. Very clean. No complaints. Plan on staying again for our next visit to key largo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgilbert561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Room was quiet, had stove, microwave, sink and oven. Full size fridge, This was your basic room. Works well if you don't plan on spending much time in the room.The fridge was nice, Ed is character for sure. but a good guy. No pool, not close to beach, right off overseas hwy, look for the tall yellow sign. I would go back.

Room Tip: I would go for upstairs room. parking is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DataGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelle, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I thought Ed was a character, funny if you understood he's just messing around. He was very helpful with questions about things like where to eat. I was diving in the area on a Saturday and Sunday in Key Largo. He let me check in early ("I'm going to be up anyway") so I could get my stuff in the room instead of leaving it in the truck while I was out on the boat diving. He also let me check out late the next day so that I could come off the dive boat and get a shower before my 3 hour drive home. Very relaxed and informal.

The room itself was clean and smelled fine. The air was cold and the shower was hot. Bed and microwave were clean. No bugs. The place was a little hard to find because it is hidden from the road by trees and shrubs, etc. There are no frills like a pool or view.

If the hotel stay is actually a part of your trip that matters, then go elswhere. However, if youre just looking for a cheap and clean place to stay in an expensive area then give them a look.

Bottom line is that I would not bring my family here if we came down to Key Largo for a weekend. I would, however, crash here myself on a weekend dive trip if I was trying to save some of my money for other things.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Beds ok, wore out towels. No y-fi. The owner was quite a character with a sarcastic humor. We went on recommendations from another person touring Florida. Prob would not return. No pool, no beach acess
Nice kitchen sink
Very small bars of soap, most other items you must supply like a hair dryer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It might of been okay if the guy (Ed) would of been friendly. He was way smart [--] and not nice at all. Riped us off even though I clearly stated that we had 4 people on the phone. The room is ugly and smells. Please do not waste your time, there are nicer places to stay for relatively same price in town

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barmaley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ed & Ellen's Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ed & Ellen's Lodgings

Property: Ed & Ellen's Lodgings
Address: 103365 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-4762
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ed & Ellen's Lodgings 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Largo Efficiencies have 300 square feet of space with two queen beds, table for four, TV, apartment size stove, fridge, AC, kitchenware, coffee maker with a gas grill and picnic table. Even though we are on the highway we are screened from view by extensive foliage of seagrape and pigeon plum trees. Big Pine Key Duplexes are off the beaten path in a rural subdivision overlooking Federal Key Deer Preserve Wetlands and Pine Channel to the west with a canal dockage in the back. These units are 800 square feet with two bedrooms, one bath, queen bed in each bedroom, and three single beds in the living room area made up like couches. Kitchen is complete with stove, fridge, kitchenware, coffee maker and gas grill on front deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ed & Ellen's Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ed & Ellen`s Lodgings Hotel Key Largo
Ed And Ellen`s Lodgings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing