We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid and affordable motel on the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I know the Seafarer calls itself a resort but it is not, and that's okay. What it is is a charming, clean, well-swept, friendly cottage system in Key Largo worth staying in. The Keys are expensive and many places are either not on the water or no swimming is allowed. Not so with the Seafarer and that makes this place noteworthy. Having the bay steps away from your cottage is relaxing, and there are ample deck chairs and hammocks to lounge in. There are also free kayaks available so you can take a turn around the cove and see all sorts of fish in the water while you paddle. Some people have left reviews complaining about the price but I vehemently disagree: for a family of three to stay in a two-bedroom cottage (we were in #5, Dorado, which is ideally situated on the grounds as not being right on top of the water nor too close to the highway) with free coffee in the AM, a suitable bathroom, plenty of beach towels provided, and access to a small but serviceable swimming bay, all for less that $200 a night, is a bargain especially when the larger resorts nearby are charging almost double that and don't offer much more in the way of amenities. You can't go wrong with the staff and location of the Seafarer.

Room Tip: Cottage #5 Dorado is not too close to either the highway or the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 691 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

My stay here was a nice one. The staff is very polite and makes sure you feel right at home. The grounds are kept very clean every day by them . It is not a fancy place by any means but does have that old Florida charm you go to the keys for. One big thing is they do have a beach. It is not much but with all the islands being rocked up so they do not erode it is nice to just sit in one of their many chairs and hammocks and relax. They really do the best they can for you and you will see that with the free kayaks and coffee in the morning. It is not a Hilton so do not expect that or you will be let down. What it is, is a family run resort that treats you as a individual not just $$.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different but the redfish cottage is a nice room with a small bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gperlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

Our guest are very important to us and we appreciate the positive words.

Thank you for your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Everyone knows the Florida Keys is an expensive place to stay, and it was our fault that we didn't book in advance of arriving. Naturally all the more modern chain hotels were booked out the night we got there and the last room that we could find anywhere in Key Largo was here. We reluctantly forked out $165+tax for our outdated double room that Saturday night. Needless to say, we checked out the next day because despite the price dropping Sunday-Thursday, we didn't really feel like the motel was worth the money. There weren't nice amenities to make a lengthy stay comfortable. The room was clean, but the wifi was basically non-existent (could barely connect), the "beach" that I'm assuming makes this place a 'resort' is a tiny strip of sand with some chairs - don't expect waves or much space to sit or move around in the water. The kayaks are a nice touch though. The bathroom and shower were tiny, so it makes showering and getting ready really difficult, especially if you have to share the bathroom. Also the ceiling fan needed to be kept on at night along with the air conditioning because when you turn the ceiling fan off, many little flies come through in the ceiling hole above it.

That being said the service was friendly, and if you like a quieter, more old-fashioned and quaint place, this place would be nice (especially if you have a large family and want a place to have BBQs with outdoor seating and bigger suites (we noticed larger rooms toward the beach that could fit more people)). We are budget travelers but like more modern furnishings, and more open space. The Seafarer is close enough to many restaurants and activities in Key Largo, so the location is good.

We found the place to be nice and acceptable for an overnight stay (despite the high price of all hotels on a weekend) but if we had the choice to stay somewhere else on that night at a comparable price we would have not stayed here, because we didn't feel that we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vhia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My diving buddy and I were looking for good basic, clean accomodations after a full day of diving and the Seafarer fit the bill. Nice little cottage style units. We arrived late at night and our room key and info was conveniently available for us to retrieve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My family of 5 stayed in room #15. It was just the right size and the location was perfect. A great value for the price. Loved the small private beach area and enjoyed the free kayaks. Convenient to everything in Key Largo. Clean, comfortable, and the AC worked great. Just watch out for the stinging creatures in the water!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank JCN210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed June 28-30 in beach house 11 and could not have had a better stay! Sure the rooms are not going to be the fanciest, but you can not beat the beach steps outside your door, and the scenery of the area. Nothing beats waking up in the morning and being able to take a few steps and be in the water, or watching the sunset from one of their hammocks. The snorkeling from their beach is fun, saw a lot of jellyfish but they will not bother you.

The staff was great, and left you alone. While the place was full when we were there it seemed like we were the only ones there. There is no better place on Key Largo to watch a sunset. Just take one of their many colorful plastic lounge chairs place it in the water, crack open a beer and watch the show.

I wish we could have stayed longer, and if/when we go back to the area there is no doubt we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Small, old, but charming Mom and Pop type place. There were bugs and small iguanas everywhere but I know it's not the owners' fault. No breakfast, but coffee by the office was very appreciated. There is a little dock area with water access, chairs, picnic table, hammock, and grills. The window unit AC never seemed to cool the room and we realized that the slot-type windows were letting all of the air out; definitely not an air-tight room. Overall we would stay again and possibly use the kayak rentals.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank SophieKellyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,588 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,608 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
665 reviews
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarer Resort and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarer Resort and Beach

Address: 97684 Overseas Hwy, MM 97.8 Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $141 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafarer Resort and Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront cottages located in the heart of Key Largo. Enjoy spectacular sunsets, relax in a hammock, bbq, kayak, scuba, snorkel, all in the charming setting of the Old Florida Keys. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seafarer Resort and Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarer Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing