We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation, ok apart from the cockroaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Not sure what constitutes a resort, but my definition of this is a motel with a beach. The buildings look basic from outside, but are clean and freshly painted inside. We would have enjoyed our stay if we had the room to ourselves. I pulled the shower mat off the rail, and a large cockroach fell out and scuttled under the sink unit. The next morning I noticed a smaller one swimming in the shower tray (photo). It didn't bother me greatly, but my wife wouldn't use the shower after that. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, but no coffee maker. Outside, this is a long narrow site that runs down from the road to the waterfront. The owners have obviously made an effort, with boardwalks, a pond and imaginative lighting at night. The waterside seating area is very pleasant, and there is a good view of the sunset. There is sand spread around the waterside area, but a very small actual beach. Breakfast is minimal, coffee, orange juice and tiny muffins, not quite defrosted one day. Our room next to the road got a lot of traffic noise, it did reduce at night but was bad again by 6:30 am. We paid nearly the same for a real luxury resort the next stop on our trip, so it was not particularly good value for money.

Room Tip: The further from the road, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuttonHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Sorry to hear that there was an issue. We work hard at prevention and rarely have a problem.

I assure you that if you had brought it to our attention at the time, we would have made it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 673 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Relaxing and Peaceful. We had the Bonefish Cottage, which had a great private patio, but the room itself was very cramped and somewhat worn. It had 2 queen beds, but they literally took up the entire room. The $125 a night was a fair price. The area by the water was nice, with a great hammock nestled between two huge coconut palms. Some sort of partition between the resort and the RV camp next door would work wonders, as they were kind of loud (only by the water). I would recommend a stay here, just make sure the room you select meets your needs.

The Pros
Location (by the water and some good restaurants such as Harriets and Category 3)
Our private deck
The friendly squirrels
Free Kayaks
The sunsets

The Cons
Room size
The Mosquitoes (bring bug spray)
Out of coffee and muffins by 8:30
No water pressure to speak of

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Alright, so we came back down November 4-8. Henry and the gang (Jennifer, Z, George, Scott, and the old newby Jeff) have done a great job! You can't beat the atmosphere, the people, or the view at sunset. We love this place! Grilled oysters, stone crab, and got to stop by the local meat market for some good beef. It's the kind of laid back goodness you need from the Keys. We were lucky to take our boat(parked it at the resort) and enjoy the bayside islands. Sweet mangrove snapper and even better sunsets on the way back to the dock. These guys really know how to make your stay worth while. Go enjoy, lose, and find yourself at the Seafarer in Key Largo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madtown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.

We appreciate your business and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were in No 12 which was noisy and near road. There were only 2 upright chairs and old TV and water to be heated in microwave - rather dangerous. A/C was noisy we used the fan and luckily the night was cool. Henry did his best and brought a kettle.
We left early before any sign of coffee and muffins.
We only stayed the one night and did not see the beach facilities.
This was not our first choice and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenrySeafarer, Owner at Seafarer Resort and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for the feedback.

Garden 12 and Studio 10 are closest to the road. Many folks like these corner units because they offer good value, larger rooms, convienent parking and 10 has a kitchen. Admittedly, the road can be noisy at times but usually quiets after 9pm. We certainly have other options including rooms, villas and cottages with flat screen TV, seating areas, private patios and tikis.

We have been upgrading amenities in our most economical units to include fridge and microwave. Recently, we added complimentary instant coffee, tea and condiments in rooms that do not have kitchens as a convenience to our guests.

Electric kettles and coffee brewers are available upon request. We will review our in-room set up to best address your concerns. Please email me at henry@seafarerkeylargo.com with your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

When looking at hotels in the keys I was stuck by how expensive even more basic hotels can be. My partner and I spent one night at the Seafarer at the end of October 2013 and had the experience we were expecting. This is definitely a modest, budget hotel but DO expect clean sheets, clean towels, clean rooms, and friendly staff.

As we were only staying one night we booked a regular room up closer to the main road. If we were to stay multiple days it would be have been best to book a room closer to the water - they appeared to be bigger, a little more private, and overall more attractive.

The private beach area is great to relax in a hammock, drink a beer in the evening, enjoy breakfast in the morning. There are lots of lounge chairs, adirondack chairs, a pavilion, a few hammocks, and a little pier to walk on.

For breakfast they put out the basics: orange juice, coffee, store-bought muffins. Nothing fancy, just something to put in your stomach before hitting the road.

Right across the street within walking distance there are a few places to eat (local seafood, Denny's, a gas station to buy some drinks/beer/whatever).

Overall: pleasant experience for about $80 total.

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night book one of the larger rooms - they are closer to the water and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekC958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful location, very relaxing.. just what we had hoped for. Clean, simple room on waterfront lot with dock, hammocks, kayaks, everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Owner could not have been nicer. Will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

When we planned a trip to Key Largo from our home at Boca Raton, Florida, we wanted not only a change of scenery (both places have palm trees and warm weather), but something more "authentic" to the area. Within 5 minutes, my Trip Advisor search turned up Seafarer. This was easy, after I eliminated all the major hotel chains from my search, along with those with low review ratings.

All of the positive accolades about this property in reviews here are spot-on. It is old Florida, a 1952 "motel" on the beach, with many positive aspects, and at a good price. For now! ;) There's only 17 rooms / cottages.

The owner, Henry, purchased Seafarer about 7 months ago, and embarked on a renovation campaign immediately, and it is on-going, and producing great results. I can't wait to see it in a year's time, and I will! Frankly, no worries about visiting Seafarer as she exists. Henry has made great progress.

If you're expecting the Fontainebleau in Miami, or a generic "Hilton", do us a favor and stay away. I've stayed at such hotels, and much better, and this is not what we wanted. Nonetheless, Seafarer gets 5 stars from me, based on who and what they are!

Previous, positive reviews will give you a good idea of what to expect. Seafarer is friendly, comfy, laid back and low-key. Definitely "low frills", but with great value and service.

1. Henry, the owner, is a talented, intelligent, cordial, gracious, and hands-on-owner. He also has a good background in this business that suits him well to owning Seafarer. Heck, he answered the phone when I called to make the reservation! My best photo is of Henry standing on the roof of a building pruning a palm tree- talk about hands-on! He'll do what is necessary to make your stay pleasant.

2. It is a lovely property. As it exists I have no complaints, but Henry is making it better. Watch and see, he'll do it. Obviously, I spoke to him about some of his plans.

3. The staff is WONDERFUL! How could I not mention Scott, who does just about everything. He can check you in, do a repair, (he actually re-painted all the buildings!) get you set up with a Kayak, and that's just one of many hats he wears. He's Henry's man of the moment, and is very cordial, and will go out of his way to help, as will all the staff. Jennifer checked us in when we arrived, and she walked us to our room, "Bonefish", and gave us the lay of the land. Lovely woman. How many times do you get personally shown to your room at most hotels?

4. No bar, no restaurant, but great, complimentary, coffee, orange juice and muffins in the morning outside the office. Their web site explains all, along with a complete plan of the facility and photos and descriptions of all the rooms / cottages.

5. Free Wifi!! It works well too! I saw at least two transmitters in the complex, and I had strong signal strength everywhere.

Our room, "Bonefish", was newly refurbished, as have been other rooms, and featured durable, vinyl hardwood floors throughout, comfy beds and pillows, nice sheets, a 32"+ flat screen TV (with a boat-load of cable channels), French doors leading to the huge deck, and a separate bathroom and shower room. The latter with a "rain shower". I never hesitated walking with bare feet on the floor.

I could go on and on, but I LOVE this place, and certainly hope to return. It ranks among, well, its in a class all its own for Key Largo! Good for you, Henry and crew. My best wishes to you all!

Room Tip: Bonefish, while not the largest, features a huge deck outside, with tiki lanterns, no other room fea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loubetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
5.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarer Resort and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarer Resort and Beach

Address: 97684 Overseas Hwy, MM 97.8 Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: $117 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafarer Resort and Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront cottages located in the heart of Key Largo. Enjoy spectacular sunsets, relax in a hammock, bbq, kayak, scuba, snorkel, all in the charming setting of the Old Florida Keys. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seafarer Resort and Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarer Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing