We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobo's Cafe

Hobo's Cafe
Ranked #8 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving fresh seafood to the locals of the Florida Keys since 1991. Patio dining available!
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We sat outside as it was very busy inside - it was perfect, not too hot with a breeze blowing slightly. we had the onion rings loaf to share - awesome! I had the catch of the day and others had a Hobo burger (which actually defeated our 16 year old!) and steak something or other. the food was amazing, the service was great although we hadn't actually finished our starters when the main course arrived, but we just piled them together! If you are looking for somewhere family friendly, with great food then this is it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mummy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,351
    676
    180
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing lunch- especially since this was highly recommended. Key lime chicken was very bland, couldn't even taste the "highly addicting sauce". Bummer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hogfish And Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We actually thought EVERYTHING was outstanding. From Shrimp Hobo, to Macadamia encrusted Hogfish with a mixed Berry sauce...MMMMMM! All were cooked to perfection.we shared rum cake and a slice of Key Lime Pie. Perfect! The new owner Ron was very attentive to the clients and went to every table to see how the entrees were. The waitress was great, she cleaned the sugar packets and lemons off the table prior to us getting our food, bathrooms were very clean and kept up.

One of our guests felt his blackened shrimp was over cooked. But everyone else in the party were thrilled with their food. I would definitely go back and I would order the Hogfish again. Its a favorite on the keys

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bapmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good seafood, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our kind of place! We ordered the happy hour steamed shrimp and clams on the half shell for appetizers. They were so good, we ordered another round with sides as our dinner. The food was delicious, the service fast and friendly, and the price was definitely right! We're planning on lunch there tomorrow so we can order the appetizer sampler and the mahi sandwich. I can't wait!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thank you TripAdvisor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went twice during our stay on Islamorada. Our second night was even better than our first because the service (by Cory) was great. Very reasonable prices and plenty of tasty seafood. Onion loaf was huge! Very casual, friendly environment. Especially recommend for families.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobo's Cafe also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hobo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing