We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty seafood. Good service”
Review of Hobo's Cafe

Hobo's Cafe
Ranked #8 of 135 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving fresh seafood to the locals of the Florida Keys since 1991. Patio dining available!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood. Good service”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My nephew lives here and said that this was a good place to eat. We were not disappointed. We had the grilled seafood combo,buffalo wings, grilled catch of the day. All the seafood was tender and well cooked. My husband had the skirt steak and found it very filling and tasty. The onion rings could have been left off. He was very pleased with his salad. Needless to say that there was enough food that there was no place for dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmtvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,403
    697
    183
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Even the locals like it”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went by this place our first night there, but did not stop because of the waiting ling outside (this should tell you something). Tried it on a Sunday eveningat about 6:30 and there was no wait. Very casual dress permitted; no hard drinks at bar. Service was very good and staff very friendly. Food and portions were very good, as were the choices available. Would go back again. Food prices were reasonable. Don't let the name fool you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Food was okay, but we won't be back”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After reading all the reviews we were very disappointed with our meals. The service was fine, but the food really wasn't spectacular. I had a burger, which was average, and my husband had the Lobster and Shrimp Po'Boy, and he was very disappointed. The sandwich was covered with two big melted slices of American cheese - essentially smothering the lobster and shrimp in cheese.

Also, they serve Pepsi products, which is a turn-off to many.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJane0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Unique Shrimp Scampi”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at Hobo's Cafe on the way to Key West, a wonderful surprise. A unique and pleasing shrimp scampi. Very clean, wait staff so helpful and friendly and in house made key lime pie. A winner!!

Helpful?
Thank JoySC000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived @ Hobo's with Ten hungry cyclists & we were not sorry we stopped here! The service was wonderful & the meal was great! You will not be sorry if you come here to dine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinyBuddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobo's Cafe also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hobo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing