We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”
Review of The Fish House

The Fish House
Ranked #12 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good fish dinner and large salad was outstanding. The Key Lime pie was to die for. But was a little pricey.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,598
    786
    290
    100
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not on the water, but the fish is worth it”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

No, it's not on the water, and no it doesn't have sunset views or outdoor dining, but the fish preparations make it worth the trip. We didn't even love all the food we had (my side of mushy corn on the cob and boiled potatoes wasn't winning any creativity awards), but the fish made everything worthwhile.

As we enjoyed our meal, my husband and I had a difficult time deciding who had the better dish as we continued to share bites. My Yellowtail Snapper Black and Bleu (bleu cheese crumbles, bleu cheese sauce, with blackening seasoning, wine, and garlic) was amazing. Bleu cheese and fish may sound strange, but it was delicious. And my husband's Mahi-Mahi Matecumbe (fresh tomatoes, shallots, basil, capers, olive oil, lemon juice) was just as good. I can's speak for the rest of the menu, but I don't think you can go wrong ordering one of the "Today's Catch Deluxe" items.

We were talking about this meal for the rest of the trip. They were certainly two of the best fish preparations we had in the Keys and they probably vie for two of the best fish dishes we've ever had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyDeac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best fish I've ever had”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

In my family of 5, more than 1 of us thought that we had the best fish meal we've ever had here. I had the Hog fish, and it was fantastic. The atmosphere is fun and the staff is friendly. This is a really great family place to go for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimTheSnarkHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Expensive but delicious!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We started out in Denver at 4 am, flight to Ft. Lauderdale, rental car to Key Largo...3 local recommendations to try Fish House for dinner, so we did.

Upon arriving inside, you notice the glow from the strings of patio lights hanging from the netting on the ceiling: shells, flamingos, sunflowers, fish, pineapples, starfish, ,champagne glasses, sea horses, and chilis etc... The walls are covered in pictures, wooden fish and all things nautical.

The friendly staff is welcoming and efficient. The menu is overwhelming and frankly a little more expensive than we are used too. 4 coconut shrimp for $13.99 for a appetizer. Delicious and large.

The Mahi Mahi Macumbe was excellent and came with corn, a starch choice and coleslaw. I am not a fan of the soggy piece of corn on the cob found in seafood restaurants - give me hot cut corn every time. The Macumbe is a signature dish with lemon, olive oil, shallots, tomatoes, and capers baked on top of the fish. Very delicious, in fact after mine arrived and I commented on how good it was and that it was my first time here...2 other tables ordered it also!

My husband - NOT, a seafood lover, decided to try the crab cake appetizer! He asked me to taste it and comment if I thought it was a good one - it was... good crab flavor and texture and not bread crummy filling.

Will definitely go back! but keep in mind entees start at $16. 99 with the main fish dishes starting at about $22 with $2 and $4 add ins for upgraded other fish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisaonthegoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I love the consistency with this restaurant! I lived in Florida a number of years ago and this was always a favorite "go to" place when in The Keys. Just spent a week in South Beach and ventured down to Key Largo for an afternoon of kayaking and then had a great lunch at The Fish House. This place is so friendly.... not only the staff, but the customers who come here as well. Fresh, local, daily catch and decilious preparation options. Keep up the great cooking! Fresh, simple, flavorful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brilandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing