We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the only thing good was the fries” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fish House Encore

The Fish House Encore
Ranked #5 of 133 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the only thing good was the fries”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We ended up in the Fish House Encore by mistake as they both have the same owner and are located on either side of the parking lot.
The smell of fryer oil was very strong on entering so we went to the outdoor patio. Mistake, as the bugs were bad, although the waiter offered bug spray.
We ordered two different dishes, shrimp with crab stuffing and pan fried fish of the day .The only thing palatable was the fries ( in spite of the frying oil smell).
Coincidentally we both had a mild case of diarreha the next morning , but can't be sure of the cause.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    118
    50
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not a patch on Buzzards Roost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We ate here recently because we'd tried The Fish House, it's sister restaurant, which was good. The food here wasn't bad by any stretch but we've been very spoiled by some amazing food at Buzzards Roost - we only ate here because it doesn't open on a Sunday evening. My husband had the surf and turf, fillet and a very small lobster tail and it definitely wasn't worth the $52 price tag - I had eaten a beautiful full fresh lobster at BR the evening before for $35 and it was stunning - the best meal I've eaten in a very long time. The atmosphere here was ok but we won't return because the prices weren't justified.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Really?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Assuming that your idea of a great restaurant experience is an overflowing plate of food, enough to feed a family of four, then this is your place. The preparation was not great, not poor, just about what one expects from a place catering to tourists. The outside dining area is not bad. George, the waiter, was attentive but not overly so. The stone crabs were tasty, a tad bit expensive at forty dollars for four claws. The seafood pasta dish with shrimp and scallops was very tasty. (I ate a third, took the rest with us, and we had it the next day as our dinner for the two off us. As I said, big portions.) The cocktails--wow, did they forget to add booze? After four martinis, you should get a bit of a buzz, yes? Nothing. Stingy on the alcohol. The cranberry pecan pie was quite good. It reminded me of the sour-cream pie that you find all over the Midwest, only this had the tartness of the cranberries and the crunch of the pecans. Nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Choose your fish - choose your preparation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

What did the fishermen bring in that day? You'll get your choice of excellence! We shared conch fritters and it was the first time my husband ever had some he liked. I had grouper prepared Hemingway style and he had pan seared grouper both were big servings and delicious. We shared a key lime pie (in the Keys - gotta do it).
One piece of advice - go hungry! Our waiter, George, was attentive and professional.
You will enjoy this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Went two nights in a row!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The pan seared yellowtail snapper was so good and so fresh we went back two nights in a row. The service was great and the servers were so friendly. The back deck is beautiful and part of the draw to go back twice. Their key line margarita was amazing. This place was not cheap but I would definitely recommend it and go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House Encore also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Fish House Encore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing