We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”

The Fish House Encore
Ranked #7 of 135 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the concierge in our hotel and also endorsed by our taxi driver. However, we can't say we were enthralled with it - we ate better elsewhere in Key Largo. A bit disappointing really.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    126
    54
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not key lime pie”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were in Key Largo and one of my goals was a piece of good key lime pie. Someone at our resort recommended The Encore, so we stopped in for dessert. The menu called it key lime pie, but it was the most disappointing I've ever had. It was a tiny piece, and lacked any of the flavor of key lime that I've had on previous trips to the keys. Sorry Encore, but not good at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Another good fish restaurant in Key Largo”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ate at Encore the next night after visiting The Fish House. My husband and I did not have reservations but were lucky enough to get a table without much wait. The place was packed. They have an outdoor seating that was really cute and romantic. My husband ordered a seared ahi for appetizer and a grouper Fish Encore style. I got a sushi dish that I cannot remember anymore. The seared ahi had a nice flavor and was very fresh. The Fish Encore grouper was great, again not quite as awesome as Lazy Days but maybe Lazy Days was excellent to us because it was our fresh catch. We had a problem with my sushi. I'm not sure if they forgot about it or what but it took more than 30 minutes for it to arrive. By that time I've had half of my husband's entree and was full. I'm not sure if I was disappointed by the time the sushi arrived but I honestly can't remember how it was. I'm guessing it was just okay considering it's so unmemorable. We did not get to have dessert as we were so full. I'm pretty sure their Key Lime Pie would be excellent too seeing that they are connected to the Fish House.

My husband and I will come back here again, hopefully soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qhunnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Lionfish”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I didn't want to leave KL and not tried the Lionfish! I saw some on the reef and not being able to do anything about it at least I wanted to support the consumption of this invasive species! I heard that The Encore was great place to sample it and boy were they right! I had the Lionfish Matecumbe style and it was DELISH!! it was delicate and flaky! Better than hog!!! The Matecumbe preparation was truly delicious and the portions were huge! For Appetizer we had the fried green tomatoes and for dessert we HAD to have the Baby Grand Piano!! Trust me, you just HAVE to do it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladivinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very "Keysy" in appearance, but the food is awesome”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I live in Key Largo and dine out frequently. When we have family and friends visit, this is one of the few places we are confident they will enjoy and have an outstanding meal. One of the things I like, besides a wide variety of both local fresh seafood and turf dishes, is the variety of available preparations. You can have your fish prepared in 10 different styles, from a very simple pan sateed butter, lemon & sherry (my favorite) to an extravagant Fish Matecumbe or Flagler (which people in my parties have told me is excellent) which is too much for me. We get the Fried Green Tomato appetizer almost every time and it's always great. I have to admit I was a bit disappointed in the Lobster Mac, good taste, but not much lobster. Deserts are great, including their specialty white chocolate piano with chocolate mouse. All in all, it's a great place and is a better buy than several other high end Upper Keys restaurants. Try it, I'm sure it won't disappoint. P.S. If you have a birthday in your party, alert Encore and they will bring out the "birthday fish" complete with candle and complementary photo. A fun memory not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dewayneroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House Encore also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Fish House Encore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing