We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful”
Review of Azul del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azul del Mar
Ranked #4 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent three nights at Azul del Mar. We were on a road trip from Tulsa and wanted a peaceful, quiet place to use as a base while we explored the Keys. This was that place. No amenities, just a nice room, quiet setting and a fabulous view. Mission accomplished.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 418 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Aquamarina room. This room has a wonderful view of the water and grounds. The room was very clean and well kept, although not fancy, well kept and very comfortable. The staff was very accomodating, checking in to make sure everything was ok. Anything we asked for was quickly taken care of. Our room had everything we needed, with wet bar, dishes, coffee maker, refrigerator and plenty of space. The grounds are very well kept and have a small dock, plenty of outdoor sitting areas, small beach and gas grill. We enjoyed grilling our own fish after catching them on a morning charter.

Room Tip: For the best view I recomend the Aquamarine room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VintageStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Dominique was very helpful. He takes a lot of pride in the hotel. We had a beautiful view from our room. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing hotel, this is the place!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My review is based on price of room for the money, if it cost $120, I would give it 5 stars, but this is just far too overpriced for what it is. A room that goes for about 170 dollars a night cannot have a leaking AC. It just cannot. They were aware of this problem and there was a note that you couldn't turn the AC past a certain temperature. Well we didn't and guess what it still dripped. At least there was a well equipped kitchenette so we put out a bowl so we didn't have a flood in our room. This is not something I expect to be doing in any hotel, let alone one that tries to be upscale.
The bathroom was incredibly roomy and the spa was great, except in between the tiles there was a fair amount of dirt and grime.
Other than that we thought the room was well furnished and everything, but I would not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atalanta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzulManagement, Owner at Azul del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

When making claims about the “price of rooms for the money” one must clearly present the facts. This guest’s Tropical Garden Suite was $159 the first night and $139 for the second. Not $170!

For the Florida Keys that represents good value for a studio with king bed, bubble-jet, jacuzzi bath and shower, Aveda amenities, contemporary furnishings, well-appointed kitchenette, flat screen satellite TV and private patio in a small yet peaceful, all-adult hotel.

And while we agree that AC’s should not drip and appreciate this guest’s actions on our behalf to avoid a puddle on the floor, the first we know of a leak is when we are informed. At that point we invite your judgment on our response time, which we guarantee is immediate!

It has happened before (hence our advice not to set temperatures lower than 72) and it may happen again (for which we apologize in advance!) Our super quiet air systems work well and maintain a cool ambiance under normal circumstances.

We are fastidious about cleanliness and were surprised to hear of dirt or grime between out bath tiles. Azul’s staff must have already taken care of that because it is not evident at this time.

Since we realize these are well traveled guests, we would like to welcome them back so we might offer a better experience here at Azul del Mar. It’s what we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent place; clean; cosy; quiet; last time I was in Key Largo I said, "I want to stay there next time." Glad we did. Nice hammocks and view. No swimming pool though - only draw back. Swam in the gulf but sometimes a pool is nice. Kitchenette had eveything you might need.

Room Tip: Got an upstairs room that had an awesome view and sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veggiehotdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nicely appointed rooms in an excellently maintained property. There are only a small number of rooms so no hustle and bustle. Grounds are excellently cared for with outdoor sitting areas, hammocks, a large dock to watch the sunsets or stars, and a beach that appears to have every grain separately arranged. Rooms have good facilities with all you need if you choose to eat in and use the BBQ. Staff and owner are very friendly and accommodating. Lots of good restaurants, attractions, and activities close at hand. Would definitely book again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Carissa made us feel very welcome and was able to give us all the local information and restaurant recommendations we needed. The suites are very well equipped and the views are wonderful. Definitely a place to be recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OxleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,521 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,325 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
11.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul del Mar

Address: 104300 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2935
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $199 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul del Mar is an exquisitely renovated boutique hotel nestled in a tropical garden on Florida Bay, Key Largo. The five stylish suites boast marble floors, dark wood furniture, mustard leather sofas, granite counter tops and ice blue bathroom tile. Feather down comforters and the best all cotton linens add a romantic quality to this secluded getaway. Ideal for sailing, diving, fishing, kayaking or simple relaxtion, Azul is Key Largo's best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azul del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Del Mar Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing