We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large living space and private beach area”
Review of Azul del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azul del Mar
Ranked #4 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Large living space and private beach area”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Celeste room for three nights at Azul del Mar in May 2013. Our room was spacious with a sitting area, a balcony, a small kitchen area and good size double bed. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a small private area with sand, deck chairs and dock. There is a self service washing machine for $5 clothes can be washed and dried. There is also a gas BBQ if one wants to do so, followed by a siesta on the hammocks. The price, however, could be slightly cheaper. One word of caution, you do need a car in Key Largo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    85
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
292
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed two nights in Azul del Mar in the Aquamarina room.

Key Largo is the most commercial of the Keys in my opinion. And when you pull off the main drag right into the parking lot, you might be concerned that you are going to be bombarded with the noise of the road. Don't be! Azul del Mar is a perfect little escape.

Our room was quiet (just turn off the humidifier; you don't need it when you are in the room) and clean. The backyard is well groomed and serene. I would not exactly call it a private 'beach' -- if you know anything about the Florida Keys you know they are not famous for their beaches -- but the very private, secluded yard and mini-beach-like stretch are lovely and peaceful. There's even a dock.

Our room had two large extremely (extremely) comfortable beds! Nice bed linens. Slept like a baby both nights. There's a kitchenette area which is perfect for storing/cooling leftovers or beverages. The closed-in balcony is comfortable with a beautiful view and you can open the sliding glass doors. Everything was clean and smelled Aveda minty fresh. Great water pressure and nice Aveda products to clean off the salt water after a day of diving. The AC works just fine if you need to cool off. There were beach towels as well.

If you need more to do, there are also books, movies you can use, a couple of hammocks, a grill. There are also materials in the room with information.

The location is convenient as our scuba diving outfit was nearby, Publix, restaurants, etc.

Only peculiarity was the receptionist who smiled at me when I came running back, freaked out and frantic as I had been looking for my work laptop, not realizing I had irresponsibly left it in the office (can we say burn out?) when I checked in, and said, "Yeah, I was wondering when you were going to figure that out..." I guess just part of the laid back atmosphere of the Keys.

We returned after office hours and needed to check out very early before office hours so we left the key on our kitchen counter and called the owner, 'Dom' later on. He answered immediately and was extremely kind, understanding and polite.

All in all definitely great value for the price, a very delightful and pleasant oasis. Would recommend it to anyone staying in Key Largo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola_Getz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights in mid-May and wished we could have stayed longer. We booked it last minute as we had left the last two nights of our stay in the Florida Keys open to decide while there where we wanted to stay and we were not disappointed. We had the Caribe room which has a king size bed, kitchenette, large bathroom with a spa tub and a private patio. The grounds are lovely with a very small man-made beach and a dock. We spent some time out on the dock and under one of the thatched gazebos. They also have hammocks in which to relax and a gas grill that the guests can use. Dominick was extremely helpful in restaurant recommendations and directions. We did also take advantage of the DVD collection they have to relax in one night.

The bed is OK, not exceptionally comfortable. The water pressure in the shower is decent but not extremely high. They offer soaps, shampoo and conditioner. One thing that could be important to others is that the bathroom door is essentially useless. It is not a completely enclosed door but rather has angled slats so that anyone in the other room can hear anything going on in the bathroom - there is no privacy (this is one of the main reasons I would not give the property five circles). Dominick actually asked us not to use the dehumidifier as he noted that it was only used on occasion by staff. The air conditioner was OK. It was great having a kitchenette and we had coffee/breakfast outside on our patio both mornings we were there. We did not hear any noise from the other rooms at the property.

The sign for the property is not particularly easy to find so we drove past it a couple of times before finally finding it and figuring out what to look for later (traveling south, it is located just before Amy's Slates Amoray Dive Resort - their sign is much bigger and they are right next to each other).

The TV is small and rather outdated but it worked fine for when we wanted to use it, although you're not able to watch from the bed. The other furniture is OK but not extremely comfortable.

I would have liked to have the opportunity to take more advantage of the property itself - watching a sunset from the beach chairs or the dock would have been great were it not cloudy when we were there. They do have some minor issues but I would definitely stay here again. As with most properties, depending on what is important to you will determine if this property would suit your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiteCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stuffy smell, mold spots on the ceiling and an extremely loud dehumidifier.
The couch was full of stains (really bad) and the TV belongs in the museum. Also it was mounted at the top of the wall, kind of like in a hospital and from nowhere in the room could you watch it.
The smell and dampness was very irritating so we left at 4am to our next destination although we had paid for another 2 nights. It was time to cut our loses.
Why this place is rated so well is beyond me. It certainly makes my top 10 list for the worst places I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Choose an other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzulManagement, Owner at Azul del Mar, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
This guest checked in, took our sunset cruise into Everglades’ National Park and apparently left at 4am. We never heard why, but assumed there was an emergency since a note was left that literally said: “We had to leave. Key is on the kitchen counter.” No more, no less!

Our suites are certainly not stuffy although it has happened that guests can accidently set their AC remote to “FAN” instead of “COOL” which requires correction to cool things down.

We do have dehumidifiers which are used to dry floors - since our marble tile is mopped prior to each and every check-in - but these are turned off on arrival as they emit hot, dry air. We are not sure why this one was still running. Either way, it could simply have been turned off or unplugged.

Without going into detail this guest’s actions and subsequent review six weeks after the fact, pose many questions… so much so that there is probably more to this story than we know.

Perhaps if they had hung around until the morning we could have extended the hospitality we are known for, cooled off their Deluxe Sea View Suite and "chilled out".

At the end of the day, that's why people come to the Keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed five nights, have only good things to say about this wonderfully relaxing place. Adults only and only six very comfortable suites in good condition. Office staff was very accommodating. Private beach and dock. Close to restaurants and attractions. We used the gas grill for dinner four of the nights. Cooked fresh fish that we bought at Key Largo Fisheries. Will recommend this to all my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite named "Orchidia" which is on the water side, away from the traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can not say enough good things about Azul Del Mar. We stayed in the La Palma room and it was perfect. The little beach and dock is great if you want to stay away from the crowded state park ect. Everyone was helpful when we asked questions and even gave us recommendations on where to eat. Our room was clean and the grounds were well cared for. We saw the groundskeeper every day!
My husband and I have decided to book this place every year for our anniversary! We fell in love with Azul Del Mar! We spent most of our time just relaxing on the dock. There is only one thing I could say that would make it perfect and that is a toaster :-) Other than that I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone! If you want a place to relax and enjoy Key Largo go to Azul Del Mar!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at Azule del Mar. We stayed in the least attractive room, Las Palmas and it was still large and nice enough to enjoy. What was best about the property though, were the sunsets from the chikee huts or the dock. After asking for a restaurant with a nice water view, we were redirected by the proprietor, Derrick to enjoy the view before dinner and eat after sunset.

Perfect idea. We either ate early and had drinks after on the deck, or had a bottle of wine before dinner.

Do be sure of the room you choose and then prepare to relax. WHile there is not pool, one can swim right out the back.

We took our kayaks (the location is not good for fishing if that is your desire), bu the are is delightful for exploring and getting trips anywhere is not difficult.

Room Tip: Read the reviews and choose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wakanwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,417 reviews
12.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
559 reviews
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul del Mar

Property: Azul del Mar
Address: 104300 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2935
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul del Mar is an exquisitely renovated boutique hotel nestled in a tropical garden on Florida Bay, Key Largo. The five stylish suites boast marble floors, dark wood furniture, mustard leather sofas, granite counter tops and ice blue bathroom tile. Feather down comforters and the best all cotton linens add a romantic quality to this secluded getaway. Ideal for sailing, diving, fishing, kayaking or simple relaxtion, Azul is Key Largo's best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Azul del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Del Mar Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing