We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting ripped off in the Keys”

Snook's Bayside Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 135 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Getting ripped off in the Keys”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a run-of-the-mill overpriced restaurant serving seafood like many others in the area. The reason I've rated it "terrible" is that there was a deliberate attempt to overcharge our party of three that many diners might not have spotted. To a bill for almost exactly $100 there had been added a mandatory 18% gratuity bringing the total to $118. When I objected to this, the server said this was standard practice in the Keys and that I should pay the full amount shown. I then got hold of a menu which showed the 18% charge only applied to parties of six or more and I took the bill to the duty manager. Without a word of apology to me he told the server to alter the bill and remove this charge. Was this attempted rip off standard practice at Snook's or was it just this server? I shall never know but I won't be going back there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IowaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    435
    143
    81
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good live music”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Good food and live music until10 pm. Lovely outdoor bar and restaurant. Pity that it wasn't busy after 10 pm but it was still considered to be off season.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service but good food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Bach in the Keys for race week and finally got back to Snooks.Great atomosphere ,they did a good job rebuilding this place. It is better than it was.I enjoyed my food totally. When the waiter Matt Finally got it right.it was finally It was cooked properly , good seasoning, good presentation. But it took a long time because the waiter could not get anything right. I speak English rather clearly. First he brought the wrong drinks then we got our appetizer at the same time as our dinners. But the dinners were completely wrong.The guy looked and smelled stoned. Jeez try some deodorant and eye drops.It took almost half an hour to get my bill payed.I will return,but I will sit at the bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 875seank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

To start the bloody marys were fantastic! then followed by the lobster bites and my very own lobster roll. Everything was delicious. Beautiful sunset, beautiful setting. Just perfect!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MamaG6unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Like no other, awsome”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We found this place by accident and were so glad. It was so awsome, the food was so good, I don't eat fish, but ate the Lobster Bites and was shocked they were so good. The cocktails were made just right and very refreshing. The atmosphere was so comfortable and relaxing and easy. The scenery was beautiful and that was at nite. I will be back during the day. The service was phenomenal, I spoke to 3 ladies and they were all very helpful, knowledge, polite and so very friendly, especially our waitress, Laura. She was the best, one of very few waitresses who really like what she does and shows it. Extremely friendly and so attentive to all her patrons. She answered all my question about the menu and sold me on what I ordered. She was awsome and I would hire her in a New York Minute. Thank you Snook's. Bayside and thank you Laura. You are an assets to whoever you work for, wherever.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sukimo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snook's Bayside Restaurant also viewed

 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Snook's Bayside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing