We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A GREAT ESCAPE”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Tarpon flats in January as a weekend getaway out of the miserable cold of Indiana. We really couldn't have asked for anything more.

We arrived a little after five. Susie was not there and the office was closed so we called the number on the window and she was horribly apologetic. She told us which room number we were in, told us it was unlocked and to head up as she drove in. We had just unloaded our things and sat down on the beach chairs as she walked up with our wine/fruit and cheese tray. What a way to watch the sunset.

It located a little off the main drag so you do have the feeling of isolation, even with the marina next door, but it is still located in the middle of all the amenities of the island. We went to the grocery store for snacks and drinks to keep in the kitchenette and went out for seafood each night.

Breakfast came each day which included a bagel, danish, and some fresh fruit. We had left her a message one night saying we would be heading to the everglades early so we wouldn't be there for breakfast. She left a message back saying she would wrap it up and put it in the fridge for when we got back.

The room was clean and the bed was super comfy. A DVD player instead of a VCR would have been nice but we didn't watch any TV other than to check the weather for the following day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoosierAccipiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 184 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

On a waterfront point on Largo Sound with cooling wind during warm days and nights. Had most everything we could want with manager Susie to supply whatever we were lacking for our suite. Lots of privacy with only 3 other suites and a small of amount of boat docking guests. I really enjoyed the dipping pool on the warm nights with the full moon glowing. There is a hammock to chill on at the sandy point. Tarpon Flats is within walking distance to 2 great, super casual restaurants with nice employees and terrific food. We could not use their kayaks as the winds were very high while we were there or would have. There are 2 picnic areas and one large BBQ grill. Lots of chairs and lounges spread out on the property. It is now my husband's favorite place to stay in Key Largo after 30 years of diving in the Keys. That is saying alot as he is a man of few words. We stayed in the Jungle Suite on the first floor by the canal. Thank you Susie for your wonderful hospitality!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetgrits1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Tarpon Flats for the first time last weekend and we could not say anything negative about the place at all. The rooms were clean, quiet, and beautiful. The private beach is amazing and romantic! We really enjoyed the property and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. We will be back again and again for a weekend getaway...maybe even a week!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_yoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed with our 6 month old son and the "Jungle" suite on the first floor was perfect! The walk from the parking area to the room was short, which is great because we never travel light. The doors to the room are really unique, they are glass and let in light, but they have slotted bamboo style blinds that slide closed. Opening them in the morning is a treat, because you really can appreciate the bay view. Really tropical feel. The shower stall, which is oversized and could fit a shower seat/wheelchair, would have been great if my hubby and I had time to shower together - as it is - the shower worked out fabulously because we could fit a large plastic baby bathtub in it (yes, we travelled with the baby tub!) The queen sized bed was comfortable and we still had plenty of space to set up a pack and play. The suite had central air conditioning and a pull out sofa and TV, which was nice since we had a kitchen (fully stocked with pots, pans, plates, etc.) and made breakfast and snacks before heading out. With the TV there, we could catch the weather report before leaving. The kitchen really was a life-saver, because we could warm bottles in the mircrowave and store some in the full-sized fridge. The views were fantastic, the grounds and room were clean and neat, even down to details like a new sponge for the kitchen sink and paper towels. It was more like renting an efficiency apartment, than a hotel room. It's also fairly close to a grocery store, where we stocked up on some things we needed. The place was quiet, with a lovely private beach area and a pool. Definitely a great deal and the perfect place to stay if you are travelling with a young child. We wouldn't dream of renting a room at a chain hotel, after being spoiled by Tarpon Flats. I can't say enough great things about the room and about Susie, the manager, who really is wonderful and totally helpful - always full of advice about places to stop and quick to help with anything we needed. You won't make a mistake by choosing Tarpon Flats.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BumzIzMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Thanks Susie for a wonderful stay. My husband and I had a great time and did not want to leave. If we are ever in that part of the world again we will certainly be back. Top marks to Tarpon Flats.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shar0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Yes, the pictures look great. Yes, the reviews were good. Still, for some reason I was a little nervous about this B & B. Rest assured, my worries were immediately put to rest. The manager was both friendly and informative. Our room was lovely, with a small kitchen and ample room for two. Our view was spectacular; uncluttered and pristine. We kayaked through the mangroves, fished, and saw baby sand sharks and a spiny lobster, all just inches off the property. But best of all, was the instant feeling of relaxation and tranquility. Everything about the place just felt so comfortable and at ease. I cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We just returned from a 2 night stay (too short!) at this funky little inn. The setting was incredible in a little marina with a sandy point perfect for having a sunset picnic. Susie who runs the place is incredibly friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to eat. Although we only went out to lunch waiting for our room to be ready and ate picnics (stone crabs and champagne!) on the property both evenings - we didn't want to leave!
Susie also arranged a fishing charter which we shared with other guests. Sunrises on the point were spectacular. There were occasionally manatees that swam around the point as well. All in all a wonderful little getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
11.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $202 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing