We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2006

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Tarpon Flats. The location is private and the grounds beautiful. We enjoyed laying in the hammock underneath the palm trees and spending time in the new pool. The area does become active with boats and children (marine camp) during the day but by sundown everything is quiet.

We stayed in one of the rooms on the third floor - large with a kitchenette. It had a beautiful view of Largo Bay. Carol, the hostess, was friendly and informative.

We would recommend this inn to anyone wanting to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aem102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2006

When we were looking for hotels around the area, all we could find were overpriced boating resorts or cheesy hotels. Tarpon Flats was perfect. We had a room on the third floor that was beautiful and had a nice view of the water. There was some noise activity in the marina but it didn't last past 10PM. There wasn't a balcony as they do for the second floor rooms but we had the french doors open into the view of the water. The sunrise that morning was a great way to start the way. So was the breakfast that is delivered to your room. Carol was great and so accomodating and helped us book our snorkeling trip.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jas36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2006

We booked Tarpon Flats after our booking in the Everglades was cancelled after Hurricane Wilma. We did not know what to expect but thought it was heaven. The only disappointment was that I booked the morning flat fishing for my husband at about $350 and they hardly saw any fish, never mind caught any. In 4 hours he only cast once! Carol is wonderful and the venue can't be faulted. We left there to go and stay in Miami for 5 days and spent that time wishing we could go back to where we had come from!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaureenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

This place is between a neighborhood and a marina. The neigbors are quiet but the marina can get a little noisy at night. Our room was on the third floor and it was beautiful. Large room, wonderful bed, wood floors, wooden window seats, french doors, lovely kitchenette, very clean and well decorated. There was a small beach, kayaks, hot tub, hammock and nice people. You are just down from John Pennekamp state park. The breakfast is great, fresh pasteries, fruit, yogurt, juice, brought to you on a tray. Suzanne was the hostess that weekend and she was most attentive. We dove with Garden cove divers, they only take 6 people out at a time, we took the champagne cruise on the wonderful catermaran Reef Roamer, Roy the 1st mate is great. Be sure to eat at the Buzzards roost and have the yellow tale snapper and Hogfish, this has got to be the best place to eat in the area. We saw the Marriott and that looked great if you want a large chain. It had a nice beach, the Sheraton was in the mangrove and to treed for me. This place was just right. The Jules Vern lodge was behind us, I always thought it was in the ocean, it was really in a canal. We had wine, cheese and fruit in our room which was great. This place is very romantic, we met another couple that had been there many times, the were also having a wedding there over the weekend.
We will return for a longer stay, try it out, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: January 2006
11  Thank susan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
111
Reviewed December 5, 2005

Initially, our reservation was at Cheeca Lodge--supposed to be one of the best resorts in the Keys. Nope! We hated it, and we are still (a year later) in negotiations with the hotel owners to get our money back!! Meanwhile, we looked in the phone book for a small B&B that is dog-friendly. Tarpon Flats was our next stop! We had a one bedroom suite with a pull out couch, a full kitchen and a porch. It overlooked a lake, and there are tons of great, free activities to do right on site. It was beautiful, relaxing, and a hugely fun weekend. We love Tarpon Flats!!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2005

Flew to the Keys for a few days with our 14 yr. old son & loved Tarpon Flats. Our room was wonderful- we had a third floor room and a beautiful view! The hammock under the palm trees turned out to be one of our favorite spots! We all enjoyed the kayaks every evening as we paddled along the mangroves. The location of Tarpon Flats is truly one of the most peaceful places we've ever stayed & the breakfast delivered each morning was wonderful. We hope to return again & again!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Islander4evermr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bonita Springs, Florida
17
Reviewed June 1, 2005

My husband and I live only three hours from Key Largo so we visit often. We have reserved rooms at almost every "hotel" within the area. Tarpon Flats is such a cut above, it is unbelievable! Carol, the manager, is so friendly and accommodating, you feel as though you have known her for years. There are so many things to do onsite...fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, cycling......it is almost like a small resort. Don't miss this place...we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
3.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
11.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $201 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing