We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very nice property in a lovely location. There is a pretty beach and a small pool. Friendly and accommodating staff. Very close to Pennekamp Park and good restaurants. We very much enjoyed our stay here and will return.

Stephanie & Earl

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLED1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Tarpon Flats Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 184 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

This charming inn is off the beaten path in a quiet area near a marina. The hosts give you a welcome package including your room keys, info about the hotel, tourist info, restaurant recommendations, maps, coupons, which all make you feel instantly welcome. The place is decorated like your cozy seaside vacation home and is very clean. I like it that they give you 2 bikes to ride around, and even a few kayaks (along with life vests) you can take out to Largo Sound. I had a nice, peaceful time kayaking in the waters. There's a hammock outside which I didn't use, but I would if I had stayed longer. Rose was awesome and helpful. Most importantly, it's worth the value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights in Key Largo. We spent the first night at the Marriott, second night at the Hampton Inn, and third night at Tarpon Flats. The reason we only stayed at Tarpon Flats for one night was because they were full except for Sunday night. We found it because I love going down the "back" streets and finding off-the-beaten track spots. That description fits Tarpon Flats to a "T". We stayed in "Bonefish" (one of the two upstairs rooms). It was perfect - convenient kitchen and comfortable bed. The small staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. Rose spent quite a bit of time giving us a tour of the property. Nice lady! My reason for not giving it 5 stars was that the air conditioning unit was noisy ... on and off all night. The area down by the water is beautiful with a nice hammock and picnic table plus several lounge chairs. Beautiful sunrise viewing spot. The water is crystal clear. They also have a very small soaking pool that would be a nice spot to float at night and do some star gazing! We also enjoyed having bikes, kayaks and a canoe at our disposal - they aren't top-of-the-line, but they get the job done ! There are many slips around Tarpon Flats that are leased by boaters ... a nice, local place to stay. Sorry we were only there for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xstemboatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We wanted a short break and found Tarpon Flats! Gilda the manager met us and we had the loveliest room with kitchen.. sparkling clean.. graciously appointed with the old Key Largo charm.. with a view that doesn't stop.. we made use of the complimentary kayaks and saw two magnificent sunrises over Key Largo Sound. It has its own private beach, places to relax and enjoy the beautiful views.. There are fabulous restaurants close by. We tried to extend our two day stay but they were booked, but certainly are looking forward to an extended stay this year and plan to make it an annual destination as the snows pile up in the Chicago area.

Room Tip: I would recommend the second floor..
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We agree with the reviews so far, an unexpectedly good spot. Quiet as off the main Highway, but noisy from Marina boat-owners.
Our only criticism is that although we had booked 2 nights, the room was not made up on day two despite the signs asking for a tip for housekeeping! Gilda made us welcome, we used the bikes to get to breakfast at The Hideout run by happy, friendly staff! Lovely to watch sunrise from the small beach with chairs and a hammock! A small, relaxing hotel if you want to be left alone, and we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: any would be good but upstairs have views across to the sea.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The setting for Tarpon Flats is just magnificent. A colonial style building converted into four large apartments, ours looked out onto a very idyllic scenic view of the Key Largo Sound. With its own private beach & moorings its restful, scenic & beautiful. Rose the Office Manager is extremely friendly & helpful & was a joy to meet, unfortunately our stay was only for a few days, but would love to return.
Give it a try, we're sure you'll thoroughly enjoy it as we did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hector1-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were met by Rose on our arrival and quickly paid our two nights and were installed in a room on the bottom level. She was very helpful with tips regarding where to eat, etc. The room was clean and was well equipped...furnishings, etc. are dated but that's okay...just don't go there if you are expecting a "Sheraton". The window blinds were a bit tricky to operate and it wasn't easy finding the keyhole at night as there was no light outdoors on the bottom level. The little beach area was lovely...a great place to sit and read a book and enjoy the sunset and sunrise you can see both from here! Kayaks and bicycles were available. There is no "breakfast"(even though the ad on the internet calls it a bed and breakfast) we stayed two nights in our room there was no housekeeping service...that was a bit of a surprise, especially since a sheet of paper in the room said that we should tip the housekeeper! That may have been an oversight. Otherwise we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I think it would be better to be on a higher level.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Azul del Mar
Azul del Mar
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $204 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing