We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from Reality!”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Escape from Reality!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Tarpon Flats twice in late February, one night on our way to Key West and one night on our return trip. We are from Colorado and our time at Tarpon Flats felt like an escape from reality! The rooms are quite large and well appointed and had a full kitchen and ice maker. The location is close to restaurants, etc.

Our favorite part was the little island of beach by the water, complete with hammock and a killer view. This was an especially nice place for those with small furry friends. Lovely!

The manager, Piera, was friendly and helpful. We stayed with another couple and they had a wonderful time too! We would definitely recommend this place to others!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room upstairs because of the balcony and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    49
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We recently came to Tarpon Flats with another couple. It was a delightful surprise and we loved it. We sat out on an area that reminded us of Gilligan’s Island, complete with sandy beach, hammock, grill, chairs…and a bottle of wine. The best part was the breeze and the view of sparkling waters and sailboats.
There are only four rooms, and we stayed in one on the ground floor that was designated for pets. It was spacious and clean and convenient to the pool and our own “Gilligan’s Island”.
Our friends stayed upstairs and that room had, like ours, a full kitchen, but they also had a full ice maker. The view from the balcony was delightful and we enjoyed visiting and enjoying an adult beverage.
When we booked the room, we were told that even tho it was called a “b and b”, they didn’t serve breakfast. However, we brought our own, and with the full kitchen, it was actually wonderful to just sleep in and eat at our own leisure.
We stayed at Tarpon Flats on our way to and from Key West. It is a great “stop over” and we will certainly do it every time we make the trip to Key West. The second night we stayed there was on my 69th birthday. We learned that Piera, the manager, also shared March 1 as her birthday, so she promised to get something special for me…and boy, did she! We discovered a chilled bottle of champagne, cheese, crackers, fruit and flowers, and a Tarpon Flats mug waiting for us when we checked in! It didn’t take us long to get to our favorite spot…”Gilligan’s Island” to enjoy our goodies. She joined us and even had treats for our little 7 pound dachshund, Dixie.
My husband and I previously owned the Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast in Annapolis, Maryland, for 17 years, so we understand how important it is to have good service, clean rooms, friendly staff, and great location. We found that Piera has done a wonderful job in all these areas. We will definitely return when we are on our way to Key West. Mickie and Don Deline

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were on a spur of the moment get-away, when we practically stumbled on this place. It was a lucky find. The location is great, just off the beaten path on the water; close enough to hop on US1, but far enough to have a little privacy. The room was clean, spacious, and well-appointed; there's even a handy little kitchen. They offer use of a set of bicycles or kayaks and there's a small pool. There's a little hammock hanging under a tree by the water. That's a definite must for any stay here. The manager was very friendly and helpful. My only regret is my stay was not longer; will definitely try go go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were so sad to have to leave this near perfect gem of an inn. Located on the waterfront with it's own marina and beach, you can imagine that your on your own private island.

With free kayaking on the calm Key Largo Sound, why go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Take the upper floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinneke_gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early January and will certainly come back. It's a lovely, private place on its own private sandy point facing the Gulf. We loved our spacious room with kitchen. We did use the bikes for errands but never even got around to using the free kayaks. A very good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePortland1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a stay at Tarpon Flats Inn and Marina in Key Largo. What a great place. The room was spotless and had the advantage of a fully equipped kitchen. Large windows gave a fantastic view of the bay as well as a constant ocean breeze. There are multiple areas to sit on the waters edge or you can lay in the hammock and watch the boaters. A shallow 4ft pool with a deck gets lots of afternoon sun. Kayaks onsite are free to use as are bicycles. There is a gas grill to cook your days catch
We had booked Tarpon Flats because it was on the waterfront away from the traffic noise of US1 and still close to the scuba shop we had booked dives with. When those plans fell through the manager was quick to find another dive company we could go out with. She also gave us restaurant recommendations that were great. After talking with my wife and learned that it was my birthday, a gift basket filled with champagne, cheeses, crackers and other gifts appeared in our room, a nice unexpected touch! We also visited with some of the residents living on boats at the marina and everyone was very friendly to us. We plan on returning to Key Largo and will be staying at Tarpon Flats

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottC448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tarpon Flats for our honeymoon, and we would return in a heartbeat! Our room overlooked the water & sunrise, was very clean, and had a cozy feel to it. The kitchen came in handy when we wanted to stay in and have a meal at home. As someone else mentioned, no DVD player, but if that's really a deal-breaker than you might want to rethink the meaning of a vacation.

Piera was extremely helpful and hospitable. She gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and things-to-do (and she even had champagne, flowers, and Key Largo chocolates waiting for us in our room for our honeymoon).

The location was also very convenient. Literally minutes from John Pennekamp State Park, a Winn Dixie and a Publix grocery store, and a ton of restaurants.

I would highly recommend Tarpon Flats for anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet, low-key stay. It's definitely not the typical boring hotel room, and I truly felt like everything was being done to ensure my wife and I had a wonderful time. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,492 reviews
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
11.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,306 reviews
10.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Property: Tarpon Flats Inn
Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing