We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Keys find!”
Review of Tarpon Flats Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarpon Flats Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were 2 couples on a little get away for relazation and snorkeling. Stayed one night at the Tarpon Flats Inn. We wish we could have stayed longer! It is a remarkable B&B on the water. The rooms are very well appointed, clean, and spacious. The innkeeper, Sherry, was so welcoming. It is a true gem. The room rates were so fair!!! We will definitely go back and recommend this find!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weregone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Tarpon Flats Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

This place really is a hidden gem! The owner David is one of the nicest guys ever, be sure to sit and listen to some of his stories, they are great!! The manager Sherri is super friendly and helpful, they both made us feel like guests in their own homes, not like just another guest at a hotel. The property itself is one of a kind, it's right on a little water way with boardwalks and a little marina. The rooms are spacious and well maintained, very comfortable. I would highly recommend this property to everyone, families, couples and just friends having a good time. We even got to kayak with 4 Manatees that were a 2 minute kayak from the property, and the kayaks are for guest use at no fee!! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This was our fourth week long stay and we still love the place. It's quiet! It's convenient to a wide array of restaurants and water activities. Because it's small, the staff is like family. We've been married a lot of years but I'd recommend Tarpon Flats for a great honeymoon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbaudhuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Our stay at Tarpon Flats was the best tropical vacation of our lives. Where else can you get a beautiful room with a balcony and a private oceanside beach area with palm trees and only have to share it with 2 or 3 other guests? While lounging by the the ocean we saw manatees swim by us less than 10 feet away nearly every day. The pool was very nice and clean and had some surrounding shade if you needed a break from the sun. Our charter captains picked us up right at the resort dock and we had tremendous in-shore and blue water fishing trips. The people are fantastic and my wife and I feel like we've made lifelong friends. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: All are great. Upstairs for better breeze.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keylargocrazy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is our second trip to Tarpon Flats. Our first trip was two years ago. Both trips have been GREAT! My only real complaint is that we had to return to "reality" too soon!

Seriously though, the location is great and the atmosphere here is even better. The rooms are not large but they are clean and they do have anything you'd need in a vacation situation. However, we spent more time outside our room than inside - and you probably will too.

They have a small private "beach" located on a small point that sticks out into Key Largo Sound. I put beach in quotes because like most of the Keys, the actual shoreline is mostly rock. They have provided a nice sandy area for sitting - although you won't be doing any wading there. This beach always has a nice breeze blowing and is a VERY nice place to just kick back and relax!

The thing that makes Tarpon Flats really unique is the people. There is a small marina associated with the inn and if you take just a little time to get to know some of the people that are living on their boats there, you will feel like family in short order! For example, the first time we visited, one of the yacht owners offered to grill the fish we caught on our fishing trip and it was wonderful. This year, we reciprocated by grilling some of our recent catch for him and the others residing in the marina. This laid-back friendliness is what I think gives you a sense of the real Keys vibe. There are many great restaurants in the area (and we tried many of them!) but the cook-outs with the yacht owners is what we will most remember.

If fishing is your interest (as it was ours), we have had great luck with Twice Bitten charters for offshore fishing. Last year we caught 3 sailfish, had 3 more hooked, some big amberjack, mahi, and other assorted fish. This year, no sailfish but one BIG kingfish, a bunch of mahi, and some amberjack. They will work hard to make sure you get some action on fish!

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrosenbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We had a cute little apartment with full kitchen that looked out over the channel. We took a kayak ride into the mangroves and really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank tvitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My wife & I we're looking for a place to relax and get "off the grid." The Tarpon Flats Inn fit perfectly. The private beach was a quite place to enjoy the sun and read. The views were wonderful. During the mornings of our stay, we enjoyed taking out the complimentary kayaks for a peacful paddle through the marina and then we'd venture out into the bay to search for manatee. All dining was within a few minutes dirve away. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigPlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
5.8 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Azul del Mar
Azul del Mar
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Flats Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Flats Inn

Address: 29 Shoreland Dr, Key Largo, FL 33037-4750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: $204 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Flats Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarpon Flats.The Best location in Key Largo. Oceanside next to Pennekamp State Park,Snorkeling and Diving the Reefs, Christ of the Abyss, Spiegel Grove and other wrecks, all nearby, Fishing thru Adams Cut to Back country. Bonefish and Tarpon fishing in Largo Sound from our free kayaks or reef fishing for grouper snapper on the reef out front or just beyond for sail, wahoo, and marlin in the Gulfstream. Get picked up at our docks. Everglades adventures and eco tours by by land or sea. No smoking rooms. Caribbean ambience suites in a Tropical Setting. Private Beach with hammock and pool. Tarpon Flats Features Free wireless Internet,Free Kayaks,BBQ Grill, Full Kitchen,Great for small Gatherings.Do it All... Dive,fish,kayack,explore,...Or...Do Nothing at All... Just Relax and Conch-Out at Tarpon Flats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tarpon Flats Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Flats Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing