We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, filthy, rude”
Review of The Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pelican
Ranked #7 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Copake Falls, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Horrible, filthy, rude”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights for my niece's wedding, The place is filthy, run down, and the continental breakfast a joke - communal jars of jelly, peanut butter, and a stick of butter left in the wrapper. The coffee machine was "broken" the entire stay. Worst of all is that the people who work there gather with 15 other family members and cram into a waterfront room. At night they are drunken and loud and blare their music at full blast. No idyllic sunset there. On the 4th night I complained at the office and was told that they were playing happy music and having fun and nothing would be done about it. I said that all guests have the right to enjoy the area by the water but still nothing. Look at the dates of the pictures where it looks clean and pretty - they are from many years ago. Rooms and common areas are filthy. The father of the bride was out cleaning the tables in the tiki area before his daughter's wedding. Worst place I have ever stayed - not worth paying a cent. No use in complaining at check out - it was the same young man as the night before and he never asked about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank elizabeth n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are very disappointed that this guest's expectations were not met. Other wedding reviewers have posted very positive reviews on our site. We did not have a reservation request for the large chickee area which is why the area was not prepped for an event. This reviewer also posted a negative review of Cafe Largo which is one of the nicer restaurants in the area within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    208
    98
    40
    52
See reviews for
137
279
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Pelican with two friends back in March for a dive in Key Largo. We found The Pelican while searching for a place to stay the night before our dive with Key Largo Dive Center. We stayed in the Marlin Room (there were four of us) which consisted of two full-size beds, pull out couch, flat-screen tv, dining room table, kitchen (with small fridge/freezer and kitchen sink) and bathroom. This was a perfect place to crash after a long drive from Central Florida. The beds were small and not the most comfortable, but this is basically what we expect when we are crashing in the Keys. The site is absolutely beautiful, located right on the water with parking next to each cottage. We would absolutely stay here again especially for future dive trips in Key Largo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katodowd0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Our staff works hard to create a positive guest experience and we are glad your expectations were met. The Marlin is a very popular suite with divers given its nautical theme and the offshore reefs and wrecks are spectacular to dive and snorkel. Please come back and visit us soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a lovely surprise! Conveniently located near the start of the Keys (which means a shorter drive from Miami International or, in my case, a 5 minute walk from the Greyhound station), The Pelican nonetheless offers the sought-after seclusion and charm Key Largo promises.

Tucked away from the road, the private dockside allows guests to relax on lounging chairs, a hammock or at a shaded table. While the 'beach' is very small (I'm not even sure it qualifies...) this is a common feature in Key Largo, and I found that there was more than enough space to unwind while also being able to swim. Kayaks are also provided for guests' use.

The rooms and facilities are basic, but offer everything you need and are spotlessly clean. I stayed in the Pisces room, which is small but comfortable. It also came with a microwave, bar fridge, television (with a wide selection of channels), wifi and super efficient aircon!

The staff are friendly and helpful, ready to assist with any query. The continental breakfast (a selection of three cereals, toast and pre-packaged pastries) was a welcome bonus.

As I did not have a rental car (which makes life a little difficult in the Keys!) I was happy to discover a CVS pharmacy, Starbucks, Subway, Burger King and several dive operators within easy walking distance. For a more authentic experience, Snooks, The Bayside Grill & Mrs Mack's Kitchen are also at close range.

While by no means the lap of luxury, The Pelican is perfect for anyone looking for good value for money and a low-key, relaxing stay in Key Largo. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Was looking for a nice, laid-back place to stay during my visit on Key Largo to scuba dive at the nearby Horizon Divers and this was perfect. Quiet and a place to relax, good shower to rinse off scuba gear after a dive and nice outdoor lounge and room to make coffee and a light breakfast. I stayed at the cottage Egret, which was very handy as could back my vehicle almost right up to the door and unload/load the heavy dive bag and gear. Will definitely stay there next time I visit Key Largo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the Pineapple room. Small, but clean and comfortable. We were only staying here one night before moving on the Key West. We wish we had booked an extra night or stopped on our way out of the keys on our way home. Really enjoyed the hospitality of the staff and the island atmosphere. Great restaurant right next door where we enjoyed an awesome meal with reasonable prices. For people looking for a resort environment, this is not the place - no frills. But for people looking for a great place to chill and enjoy the local atmosphere, this is the place to be and the price is right!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We appreciate your kind feedback and are happy you were able to enjoy Mrs Mac's next door plus the waterfront. The Pineapple connects to the Bird of Paradise to make a comfortable housekeeping suite. We hope to see you sometime soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Pelican earlier this month. I was there to do some diving with some friends but found the time to enjoy their free kayak rentals and even did a little bit of pier fishing. We loved the waterfront cottage (the Dolphin suite) and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay at the Pelican again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gh0sthunt3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Check in was smooth and friendly. In fact, everyone working there was friendly and very helpful. It's an older place, but that's part of its charm. Free use of dock, hammock, kayaks, canoes and bicycles. Nice, relaxing stay. Walking distance to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldywoman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 20 in Key Largo
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Key Largo
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Property: The Pelican
Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing