We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Tines”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Largo Kampground and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Tines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Great location.

By land: So close to the beginning of the Keys, it was nice to get there so quick. On the same turn off US1 there is a Publix and K Mart, anything you need or want is easily obtainable.
By Sea: From their Marina it was a Killer ride through the Mangroves to get to the south border of Pennekamp.
The gripes: Their conversion efforts of water. The bathroom sinks was poor. You barely fill your hands with water before it cuts off, very restricted flow. Luckily the showers were great. The boat slip we rented (only$10) didn't have water. The cutting table didn't have water.
There was a noisy refrigeration equipment ruining from the neighbor near the lower nunnery tent sites T1-4 area.
I'm looking forward to going back, I hope they reconsider the water restrictions or the next review will be different.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigAra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
45
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a a friendly, well located area from which to base your Keys experience. We have been coming to KLK for many years.
Visit the Chamber of Commerce as you enter Key Largo- It's on the right side in a yellow building. They have information for the area. The KLK office has some booklets with discount coupons as well as a few supplies.
We don't know who owns the chickens- they are all over the shopping center area and adjacent woods, but not in the campground.They showed up this year. At site 124,I did not hear them., and we were there weeks. KLK can't control this situation.
There are about 37 tent sites and about 40 RV sites; I would view all before choosing if possible. The tent sites are almost all shaded Some are more private than others.
If you are not given a paper with KLK rules, I would ask for one. It does say on there, no more than 6 people / site. It also has noise restrictions. If you are having a noisy neighbor, tell the office.After office hours the guard makes rounds frequently- tell him to quiet the neighbors. The guard is at the front gate otherwise to accomodate incoming guests.
To wash SCUBA equipment, there are wash tubs near the tent sites -ask the office staff.
We haven't had trouble with the water shutting off quickly while at the fish cleaning station.[Water is VERY expensive here as it comes from the mainland.]
We have a boat so spend most days fishing, kayaking the Pennekamp trails and diving and snorkling-even the KLK canal has good snorkling.
Alot of places have live music - look in the free paper. We like Mrs Macs, The Mandalay, Buzzards Roost, and Pilot House for dining.
We loved swimming with the dolphins. [ a short distance N of KLK bayside.] Kids will Like Theater of the Sea for a very close up view of wildlife and the performances. It's exciting to feed the tarpon at Robbies in Islamorada. A drive to Bahia Honda State Park is beautiful as is the drive to Key West.
Key West has interesting history and architecture. We especially enjoyed the Mel Fisher Treasure Museum,Hemmingway House, Butterfly Museum, and the trolley tour where you are given historic information between stops- you can hop on and off the trolley all day. Sunset festivities were entertaining. Parking in Key West is very hard to find and expensive.
The bathhouses are dated but clean. Laundry on site.

Room Tip: Ask to look at all the unassigned sites and choose yourself when possible. All the sites are private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovediving34224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from a three night rental on site 75. The campground looks a bit more upscale on their website. They have a six person maximum rule per site...even including guests (something I have never heard of). So if you are a family of seven, seek elsewhere. Luckily we are just four, but when our relatives showed up to celebrate a birthday lunch, they were turned away at the gate. There was a family next to us on #74 that had eleven people on their site, including three cars. (I guess they smuggled them in from the neighboring Kmart parking lot)
If you catch fish and look to clean them on the dock's fish cleaning table, you will be charged $0.50 for approximately one minute of continuous water. I ended up filling my bucket from the ramp and using that.
It is nice to sit on the back of your trailer on your own dock, though.....except when members of the family of eleven next door decide to cut through the back of your lot to get to the beach area.
Speaking of the beach area, it really isn't. It is basically a sandy shore next to mud flats. There are no beach chairs or loungers in the area.
We will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cort s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is an ideal place for people and families who love RVs, nature, fishing, boats, and pool. It is a a family oriented place, very clean and quiet, with a heated pool all the time. Front desk people are very friendly and helpful all the time. Place is near supermarkets, Pharmacies, State Parks, good restaurants.

Room Tip: Select a water front site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melba del carme... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

nice campground, close to stores and shopping. has boat ramp and marina, bingo too....no handicap showers in case that applies to you. would be nice if they had one restroom with handicap showers. pool is nice and kept clean. mostly permanent live ins, but a few nightly camping. some sites are on the water, some have tiki huts. small beaches on the end but water is mucky not sandy, not really what i would consider swiimming in. overall good experience.

Room Tip: make sure you get a key to the front gate if you are gonna be out past 11 otherwise you are locked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flhbob83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at Key Largo Kampground and had great service and help. Had an RV problem and contacted Holiday RV repair which was a major mistake. Avoid Holiday RVs. Staff at Kampground was knowledgeable and accommodating to our needs as in past stays. We will come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here for a week, while scuba diving with Rainbow Reef (a fantastic dive boat company to dive with). Very central , close to restaurants and other stores, nice swimming pool, tiki huts for shade around pool, great place to launch your boat and go and snorkel the reefs and kayak the magroves.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.1 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Kampground and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Kampground and Marina

Property: Key Largo Kampground and Marina
Address: 101551 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-4546
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 86

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing