We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE customer service!!!!”
Review of Amoray Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amoray Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE customer service!!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Have stayed at this resort several times because they always have availability and EVERY TIME the mgmt has been rude and doesn't care about customer service. This is literally the last resort we use to try to get a room.

They do all the bookkeeping by hand and there is ALWAYS confusion over the bill at check-out...pretty convinced they over-charge me every time.

I will NEVER stay at this resort again...I'd rather not go on vacation than stay at Amoray.

STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter P, Manager at Amoray Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am unhappy to hear about skidog's perception of our quaint resort. We have 31 rooms, and daily diving and snorkel trips. As skidog states, we do the invoices by hand. Guests who only have room charges have one invoice with rate, number of nights, subtotal, tax, and total. Guests who add diving/snorkeling, kayak rental, dive instruction, or store purchases, will have more invoices. All invoices are itemized and totaled. We happily go over all charges with our guests to ensure accuracy.
Amoray Dive Resort has no resort fees, parking fees, or any other tacked on fees that some resorts may add. The only charges are the room rate plus tax.
Skidog did not like our service, but does not say why. I am always looking for ways to improve service, and invite skidog to contact me with more specific information on our customer service.

Walter Pooley
Manager, Amoray Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    252
    87
    43
    30
See reviews for
190
251
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in the keys with no particular plans and the front desk offered us to join a snorkelling trip in the morning.
The hotel is probably not the best one you can find but combined with a very friendly staff and the possibility to join a snorkelling trip, it made a great experience overall and I would definitively recommend this place.
Ps: snorkelling trip was 45$ pp + 7.5$ for wet suit rental. Plus you can check out up to 1h00 after the boat returned, giving plenty of time for a shower.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

we travel in florida for one week and we arrived at amoray auround 7.30 at night at key largo and look for a motel..we stop at amoray and at the reception was a very friendly girl who give us a nice room on the top off the reception on the back...we spend just one night there and romm was very nice and clean..very nice situation the only think was some little insects near the fridge,we eat something in the room and the falowing day the plastic bag where we put the rest of the food was full of that insect but nothing serious....recomended

Room Tip: room on the top of the reception on the back good value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederic j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Ok, first of all...I rarely indudge in overpriced, fancy places and I do not go to the Keys to hang out in my hotel room. There was no tv in the bedroom of the small apartment unit we rented so if this is important to you, double check on your room. There was a tv in the living room that we never used. Free wifi throughout the property. Full size kitchen. Call in advance to find out what dive sites they are going to and on what day of the week. It changes.

I loved this place. It is quiet (off season). The views are beautiful. Pool is nice and heated in the "winter" months. Dive boats are on site. Snorkel gear and kayaks are free to guests. Well maintained property. Rooms are basic, roomy and comfortable. Good restaurants that are walking distance from the resort. Great staff. Nice gift shop. I would stay again with no hesitation

Room Tip: There are some rooms next to the pool. I was not in those, but they might be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawks_86
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at Amorey in November 2012 for a Friday - Sunday dive package. Rooms are nice, not flashy, and functional. Some have private balconies, which are handy. includes mini-frige, coffee maker, and microwave. The diving operation is good, but best to know a few things up front. If you want to dive a wreck, set it up with the office first. We had 15 divers wanting to go to a wreck, and they had scheduled two snorklers on the boat, and we had to go to a shallow site. Lesson learned, set it up in advance, and they can put the snorklers on another boat. They only have one rinse tank, but if you have a tub and a balcony (not all rooms have a tub, and not all rooms have a balcony) - you can use that, as the gear locker is too small to handle all of the gear if you have more than 10 divers. Very nice grounds and very nice pool. Captain Mike is awesome, helpful and knowledgable, not so much can be said for the mate, or whatever he is called. Generally rude and a little strange, but not overly offensive and I've had worse. Overall I would recomend as long as you expect, as others have said, that this is not a luxery resort. I'll definitley be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawks_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, OH
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were in Key Largo to snorkel Pennecamp and picked this hotel because I knew where it was located and had been on the property before but did not stay there. The room was clean and comfortable but lacked some things that would have made it nicer. There was coffee maker in the room but no coffee. They served coffee at 7:30 but you had to wait until the Mr Coffee maker was finished. Our room had an efficiency kitchen....there was aluminum foil on the stove top burners to help keep it clean from the spills. That was something I used to do myself but seemed a little funky in a hotel room. There was no tissue paper in the room and it would have been nice to have more things in the room were you could have hung things to dry given that most people were there to either snorkel or dive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,519 reviews
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
958 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoray Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoray Dive Resort

Property: Amoray Dive Resort
Address: 104250 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2901
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amoray Dive Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Amoray Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoray Dive Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing