We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Boat!”
Review of Spiegel Grove

Ranked #3 of 72 things to do in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Retired 510-foot naval ship intentionally sunk to create an artificial reef for underwater diving enthusiasts.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Big Boat!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Spiegel Grove was our first wreck and our first deep dive. It was an amazing experience with a depth of 96 feet. There are a lot of cool features on the ship and you could spend a lot of time exploring. The only reason that I gave a "very good" instead of excellent was the visibility was only 20 feet.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    68
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Must do if you're a diver.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Too big to see in one dive. Strong current but you descend on a line so no worries there. The most awesome thing is the American flag that flies on her, underwater. Amazing to think...she sank on her side but a hurricane righted her...that's some awesome power at 130fsw. Saw a scorpionfish. Loved the barracuda who seem to stand as soldiers guarding the wreck as you ascend back up the line.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KelSchMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As an experienced wreck diver, this one still delights me every time I visit. A big ship, with many interesting features. Served by many excellent dive operations.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Dive with Horizon Divers”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My son (14) and I did this dive yesterday with Horizon Divers. We had a great time. He is junior advanced so we didn't go too deep, but we did see a lot of large fish. It is a very easy ride out to the site, maybe 30 minutes. On our dive the visibility was maybe 50 feet and there was a current, but it was a fun dive. There is no fee for the attraction, but you will probably need to pay someone to take you there! lol

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent everytime I go”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This dive is great. It is always a different challenge each dive. Overall the Spiegel has great life on it and so many passage ways that you can go over and over without getting bored.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trippintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiegel Grove also viewed

 

Been to Spiegel Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing