We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spiegel Grove

Ranked #3 of 71 things to do in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Retired 510-foot naval ship intentionally sunk to create an artificial reef for underwater diving enthusiasts.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Awesome dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Dove with HMS Minnow, Capt Jeff Jarvis. 100 foot visibility. No current . Few divers as we were first on the wreck that morning

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    64
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Goliath Groupers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the best deep dives (120') I've completed. We saw the two resident Goliath Groupers that must have been 400-500 pounds. You need 4-5 dives to completely cover this huge wreck.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mlw1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent dive for more experianced divers. More life than I would have suspected considering depth and time on the bottom

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved every minute on the Speigel. Especially when we found the bow and dropped down to the anchor chains.
Found the Bouy numbers a little confussing compared to the plastic charts you can buy but never the less we found everything we wanted. Some amazing swim throughs, massive baracuda's......... Awesome!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_GDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best Dive in Key Largo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've been on the S.G. about 25 times. Both when it was on its side and when it went upright. It is a different dive every time. There are days when the current screams, with two or three thermoclines and poos VIS. And days when the VIS is all the way to the bottom, NO CURRENT and the water temp is like a giant bathtub. Really loved those days!!! Very relaxing, non-technical no challenge dives on those days. But I always enjoy the S.G. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend Nitrox for this dive. Gives you lots of Bottom Time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiegel Grove also viewed

 

Been to Spiegel Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing