We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the front desk (Sara) was awesome! property was lovely!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“loved the front desk (Sara) was awesome! property was lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

hello and let me start off with my vacation stay was awesome. sara the front desk clerk she was very polite and was always there for all my needs. shout out to sara! the beach is nice and quiet. I made reservations for next year with sara already as the rooms are always booked!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    155
    58
    35
    28
See reviews for
95
199
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2006

Returned a few weeks ago from a trip to Sunset Cove. We found it to be a very cozy family run resort with a lovely private beach - beachside hanging papsan chairs were the perfect spot for a nightly cocktail hour!
The rooms are clean, basic and some are in need of updating. We were only in our room to sleep and grab a quick lunch. We had a kitchen with stove, fridge and microwave so eating out didn't always have to be the only option.
There are several lovely places to sit and talk on the grounds. One sitting area has a waterfall and lots of comfy chairs to sit in. There is a basic breakfast offered every morning - coffee, juice and fruit. There is a drugstore and several restaurants within walking distance.
If you are looking for affordability in a laid-back, relaxing atmosphere....it is here! We already booked our week for next spring!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2006

We stayed at the Sunset Cove Feb 5th & 6th driving directly from MIA on the 5th. We got in pretty late 10:30 PM but they were still there to welcome us in. We dropped our stuff in our room and went looking for food. The first place suggested was closed and thinking we were headed back for fast food we came across a great Italian restaurant. While they closed at 11:00 and it was now 10:45 they let us order a full dinner without any problem. The next night we found the Bayside Grill (same owners) and it was also really good.

The setting for the Sunset Cove was great.. lots of beach and places to hang out, funny animal sculptures and colored lights all over the place. With a larger room or kitchenette this would be a great place if traveling with kids.

Our room (Bayview) was very small in size and pretty spartan. Bed wasn’t new, TV was in an odd place and the bathroom was really small. This is not the place for someone used to staying at a Best Western or other hotel chains. While we’re pretty flexible I’m glad we weren’t there for more then 2 nights. But, if you’re a budget traveler and spending your days diving or snorkeling this would be a great place.

The night before we got there other guest told us a couple of Manatees came right up to the dock and a Great Heron seem to adopt my wife as a friend. This is the kind of place you want to go in a remodel just a bit and make a GREAT place.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ambuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed at the Sunset Cove during Christmas week. Our room was very outdated and obviously needed some major upgrades. My boyfriend and I didn't spend that much time in the room (and didn't plan to) so it was a perfect place to crash.

The best part of our stay was that we were within walking distance of Snooks Bayside Restaurant (our favorite!) We also enjoyed the private beach area and had fun using the canoes that the resort provided.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Key_West_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2005

We stayed at Sunset Cove Beach Resort (Sunset Cove Motel) this month and it was the laid back "Keys" vacation that I needed. As soon as you enter the property your stress level goes away.... Everyone on staff was friendly and accomodating. (We had plenty of towels...) It is landscaped with tropical plants, birds, a tiki hut area with a waterfall, plenty of private areas to lay back and read a book. There are giant animal sculptures around the property (from some ecclectic artist),;bears zebras, and even a giant dinosoar... The beach is great (there is very little "beach" in the keys.) There are shaded hanging basket swings as well as padded lounge chairs for sunning. They have a paddle boat, canoes, and kayaks, some fishing poles and tackle for fishing on the pier, and some snorkle gear, that are included with your stay, sweet! They have a little breakfast station set up at the office in the am for coffee, juice and some fruit...The room had a microwave, fridge and stuff for cooking (have BBQ pits too) but there are many great restaurants within walking distance or a quick ride away. We cooked out one night after sunset and went to the restaurant next door the next night. Snorkling around the piers I saw lots of snapper, blue crab, and even a big ray...One evening we went for a swim at around 5pm and a pair of dolphin swam by us..an unexpected swim with the dolphins!!! At sunset time a guy named Dave puts on a" feed the birds show", feeding pelicans and egrets on the pier next door...This resort is just the place if you want to chill out with nature... We would highly reccommend this motel....Budget and Beauty!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2005

I was planning to stay there 2nd week of May '05 & had first e-mailed them end of March '05 waited 2 days got no response, I then tried to call no answer so I left a message no one ever called me back. When I tried to call for the second time 2 days later no one ever picked up the line. (I did make sure what time of day it was since there is time difference where I live.) I don't know what was going on there. but don't send any requests for information through their website or hope you get live person to pick up the phone when you call, because you won't get anyone to call or e-mail you back.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2005

My husband and I return once to twice a year to stay at this hotel. It has a
boat dock for our little boat, romantic bird cage chairs built for two right on
beach, a secluded area for each visitor near their lodgings or a big pavillion
to host large groups when you want to be social. We stay in the front trailer
that is not a condo but has all the charm and accommodations one needs to
just go & relax & do a little fishing. The surrounding area gives you a wide variety of entertainment and dining. We like to go across the street to the
moonlight glass bottom boat tour and frequent the local bars. And guess what! There's a local taxi service called mama's taxi that will take you to all these places for under $5.00- no DUI worries!!!!! Pets are welcome which is an added plus for us. I've read the bad reviews on this place and
my opinion is...if you are looking for someone and leave mints on your pillows every day and fluff your high falooting ego, this is not the place for you,but, if your your looking for a laidback little get away place to stay while you entertain yourself, then come on down! We love this place!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Address: 99360 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, P.O. Box 99, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Beach Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing