We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it to bits!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hove
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it to bits!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Again, we were so lucky to find this place. They gave us the rooms right at the back nearest the highway which was a bit grotty, but hey, the price was reasonable for that, and we did not hear the noise of the highway.
The room was very comfortable, and spacious, and clean. The beds were very comfortable, as were the pillows.There was a well equipped kitchennette with large cooker/stove, and fridge.
My only complaint about the room was that the door handle on the bathroom door got stuck which meant my partner got trapped in the bathroom, until we managed to get the handle to work. It would have been a nightmare if I had got trapped - something which has happened to me before.
We told the gentleman at reception, so hope he has managed to do something about this.
The resort itself is just too adorable. The fake wild animal statues dotted here and there are a quirky touch, but what really got me were the cute cottages, and the lovely private beach with a small pier. We were told we could use the kayaks for free if we wished, which we thought was a nice touch.
The place was totally unpretentious, which is just how I like it .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinaHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncove, General Manager at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your terrific review! We are so happy that you enjoyed our property and we hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Key Largo !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    159
    59
    36
    27
See reviews for
96
202
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This property is in a great location on the gulf side of Key Largo. It is a quirky, interesting place, with an exotic zoo theme. The rooms are small, but functional and clean. It is a great place to watch the sunset, without a crowd of people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncove, front desk clerk at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your terrific review! We are so happy that you enjoyed our property and we hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Key Largo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

SShhhhhhh! This place is awesome! Very clean. Affordable. Full kitchen in most units. This the best place we have stayed at in a long time. If you want a fancy hotel, this isn't for you. We met many people there that return every year. Walking distance to good food and fun. Peaceful! We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Loved Suite 9 and Tiki Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FletchersAuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncove, General Manager at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you love our little piece of Paradise. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sara Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I discovered this little gem of a place 2 months ago after having it recomended to me by a friend.....In the last 60days I've booked rooms and stayed there 3x. It's charming, easy, well taken care of and a great value.....If you're for a full service 4 or 5 star place this isn't it BUT if you'd like an extremely charming, well kept, intimate room with incredible sunset views at a fair price then it would be hard to beat Sunset Cove.......has the feeling of a family run business; is incredibly convienent in terms of location to most Key Largo attractions......surprisingly good Italian resturant next door and excellent breakfast place flanking the other side of the property too..........We will continue to visit on a regular basis .....Enjoy, Jason Delray Beach *no pool incidentally...we swam in the Bay

Room Tip: Water Front room are great of course....but the others are only steps away...with the exception of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncove, front desk at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope that when future travels bring you back to Key Largo that Sunset Cove is where you will be. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you are looking for a four or five star hotel, keep looking. This is a nice clean family run place. The room we stayed in was the Divers Den. It was clean and the beds were comfortable enough. The room was close to the road, and next door was a bar and grill, so it could get quite loud on a Saturday night. Overall, it met our basic needs for a place to sleep. It was great to have a kayak/canoe to use for free. And my kids enjoyed getting juice each morning at the office before we went for breakfast. The dock was a great place to watch the sunsets. I would go again, but this time pick a room in a quieter location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank crlacey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncove, General Manager at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the onsite amenities. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Excellent choice!! Great location for walking or riding a bicycle. Helpful and friendly staff. Peaceful setting right on the water. Pet friendly. We tried other places a few times but overall it is the best place we have ever stayed in the Keys.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncove, General Manager at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Saw this place on the side of the highway and decided to try it out because of its super funky vibe. Unfortunately I convinced my husband to stay in their newly acquired fifth wheel that night and the ac wasn't working. We were the first people to stay in that unit so it was no fault of the hotel and I'm pretty sure they got someone in to fix it right away. We loved the free use of the kayaks and the beach was nice. Mr's Mac's Kitchen is only steps away where you can get a good meal and a key lime freeze! We ended up returning here on our way back from Key West and rented one of the cabins near the highway. The AC worked great in the cabin and the bed was comfortable. It is a very funky place, definitely not upscale. We had a great time! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Motorcycle friendly with good beach access!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstacey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncove, General Manager at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for the review. We apologize for the ac not working property but it was taken care of :) We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed our amenities. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Key Largo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.0 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Address: 99360 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, P.O. Box 99, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Beach Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing