We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Bay Harbor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Harbor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in unit 2. It was right on the water with a beautiful view. I read some reviews about loud people ... It was quiet when we were there. We were able to sit out and watch the sunset. Nice place. We didn't watch any TV, but the TV is bigger than what the photos show! There were lots of extra pillows and blankets in the closet. Kitchen was well stocked. Units 2 and 4 are closest to the water with units 1and 3 being attached in an L shaped fashion. Clean place and nice front desk people. There's a pool on site that we didn't stop by to see. The kayaks aren't much if you have any experience kayaking. There are also 2 paddle boats to use.
Can't wait to schedule our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 2 is off a little to the left right on the water. Room 4 is by the water as well. Best two of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    137
    17
    6
    15
See reviews for
165
403
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

One of the best vacations spots I have ever been to! The trip was a pleasure from the moment I spoke to the staff over the phone to the moment I checked out. The room was exceptionally clean and cozy. It was extremely peaceful and quiet, the perfect place to do some meditating, writing, drawing and reading. I did some fishing from the private pier and cooked some burgers in the mini kitchen in my room. There were excellent places to eat right around the lodge, I must recommend Mrs. Mac's Kitchen. The sunrise and sunsets were beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous and the homemade scones were delicious! I love this place and I definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Absolutely beautiful! The area is quiet, perfect for relaxation. The Office staff and housekeeping were courteous and accommodating, Room/ bathroom very clean, bedding and towels were fresh, and extra pillows and blankets stocked on the closet shelf were useful. The continental breakfast is delightful: an array of homemade fresh scones, packed with a selection of combined fruits, chocolate and nuts, a thoughtful gesture. My son was excited to paddle on the kayaks available for guest while we soaked in the sun. Absolutely perfect for family vacation. We plan to return in November, Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked this and being two 25 year olds we didn't really know what to expect. But WOW we were impressed, it is in paradise! When we arrived we had John greet us and show us too our room (he was just lovely, extremely friendly). The room had everything we needed and was very clean. There are free kayaks to use which is brilliant as so many places charge a fortune for an hour. We went in the kayaks around the bay and saw some manatees close up, it was the highlight of the holiday. On a night a lot of people go down to the beach area which is lovely and peaceful and has a lovely sunset around 8 o'clock. In the morning there are free homemade cookies and tea/coffee for people. The room was fully equipped with a microwave and cutlery and BBQs around the lodges for people to use. This is a place for everyone. There are so many activities available to do in Key Largo that you don't have to stay on site. All the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful for explaining things to do in the area! Staying at Bay Harbor Lodge made our holiday extremely enjoyable and we will be returning!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are young and full of energy, looking for adventure and noise (so called music now), this is not the place for you. This is the place to escape from things mentioned above. Take your fishing road, they have a nice pier from where you can fish or you can take one of their kayak for free to burn some energy. Tips: you can see manatees or even small sharks at dawn! the efficiencies are clean and the ones with kitchen are loaded with everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctitanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Key West. It is a great destination itself. The beach/dock area was peaceful. The landscaping was so tropical and beautiful. We stayed in cottage 9 and it was perfect and very clean. The staff was friendly and a great example of customer service. And the homemade scones and coffee were very flavorful and started the day off right.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William-Scarlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of August. I had high expectations since this was our first vacation without children in many years. Bay Harbor Lodge exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed in cottage #3 with is just a few steps from the beach. We had our own patio with a table & umbrella which had an amazing view of the beach & Florida Bay. When we wanted to cool off, we could sit in the living room with the same view. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The furniture was modern and in great shape. The bed was super comfortable! The kitchenette had all the supplies we needed to cook a few meals.

The grounds are well maintained and covered with all kinds of tropical plants, flowers, a palm trees. There are more than enough chairs to soak up the sun. They offer free use of their kayaks and paddle boats. One of the highlights of our trip was going out on the kayak our first morning seeing a dolphin swimming nearby! If you're not familiar with the keys, do not expect a sandy beach. There is a lot of plant life in the water and it is shallow quite a ways out. I did do some snorkeling and saw a great variety of fish. I was hoping to see a manatee, but no such luck. They do have a climate controlled salt water pool on the property which is nice.

The staff was friendly and made sure to accommodate every request we had. The homemade scones each morning were delicious! My only complaint was that they had only had milk and non-dairy powdered creamer for the coffee.....I'm a half & half kind of guy. But hey....that is my only complaint :)

Overall, we had an amazing vacation and are looking forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Cottages 1 & 3 are right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUCC1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,517 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,281 reviews
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
568 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Lodge

Property: Bay Harbor Lodge
Address: 97702 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2297
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Harbor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bay Harbor Lodge, a cozy bay front resort situated on 2.5 acres of lush tropical foliage. Whether you are planning a relaxing get-a-way or an action packed vacation, our amenities and location put the Florida Keys at your fingertips. With 15 rooms, there is never a crowd and customer service is never a problem. Coconut Bay Resort is our sister neighboring hotel with 6 additional rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Harbor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Harbor Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing