We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit will not be our last.”
Review of Bay Harbor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Harbor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Central FL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our third visit will not be our last.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful property with lush landscaping. We rented a poolside cottage that had a living room, kitchen, bedroom and bath. It was on a small scale but has everything. Only thing I did not like are those tiny ants everywhere inside cottage except for our bed, praise be. Loved the refreshing swimming pool. Owner and staff are awesome nice. Appears that owner is making constant improvements to the property. Super appreciated our own patio (with grill that we did not use as too lazy this trip) outside our large picture window in living room where you even get a gilmpse of the bay (cottage #7). Got our own parking spot by our front door but there was a problem with inconsiderate visitors blocking it two times. You can walk to a convenience store, Shellworld (which is huge and has fun items to buy besides shells) and Mandaly restaurant. You will get reasonable lodging prices considering it is the Keys especially if you go during the off season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetgrits1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    135
    17
    5
    15
See reviews for
154
389
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was a bit confused by the apparent merger of these 2 resorts that are next door to each other, as Trip Advisor has them listed separately, with Coconut Bay listed as a B&B and Bay Harbor listed as Specialty Lodging, and as each has a separate but similar website (though I think that the 360 degree view of the rooms was better on one...) but reservations, check in and management are joined together. Anyway, we had a great stay here. As others have written, the newly renovated rooms, grounds, waterfront, and pool are beautiful. The morning scones are delicious, with a variety of flavors available. The paddle boat is broken, but tandem kayaking is fun--we saw 2 manatees, and paddled north (to the right) to explore some interesting mangroves. A wonderful, relaxing, resort-type stay for under $100/night! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The website is helpful to view the rooms. We like upper floor rooms, so #16 with 3 screened windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMomTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay & we will be back! It's a great location & value for the keys. Everyone is helpful & friendly. From the kayaks to the paddle boat to just hanging out & fishing it's a wonderful place to spend the day! The grills are an added bonus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khakifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Bay Harbor Lodge for 4 nights. This place was an excellent find; laid back, friendly, beautiful tropical grounds. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were even able to provide great dining suggestions. We loved the fresh baked scones every morning. The property is on the bay side and had a small beach. They have kayaks and a paddle boat. We took one of the kayaks out and had a blast. We would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssm347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral
Level Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is a gem. The tropical grounds are beautiful, the people friendly, it's low key, right on the water. If you want one-of-a-kind that's not cookie cutter lodging, this is it. They have kayaks and a paddle boat, a nice pool, lots of tiki huts and chairs by the water. It rained the whole time we were there (2 nights) so I can only imagine how great it could be in nice weather. I look forward to going back. Did I mention coffee and fresh baked scones in the morning? The beds were great, nice kitchen area and dining table. Our upstairs room had light coming in from windows in three directions... how often do you get that. They have accomodations of all different sizes, so it would be great for couples for families. I want to go back. But I want sun this time. ;)

Room Tip: Choice of room, or cabin, would depend on the size of your group. We had upstairs in the only two-le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmanofcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just stayed at Bay Harbor Lodge last week for three nights with my husband and 17 year old son! Had a one bedroom cottage right near the water and it was perfect .......unbelievable place. It is the perfect tropical paradise. The cottage has everything you need and the resort itself is wonderful. The grounds are breathtaking and you need not look further for a place to stay! I searched and searched for months for the "perfect" place and found it when reserved our cottage. A+. I won't be going back to Mexico or anywhere else since everything you could possibly want is right there in Key Largo!!! Highly recommend!!! Thanks to the owners, they were very kind and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask them which cottage will suit your needs best! The staff is very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in Unit no. 1 which is only steps from the water. Remember that there are no natural beaches in Key Largo, so I don't think this is a good place for little kids, and those who just want to hang out on a beach all day long.

Entering Bay Harbor Lodge property, you see tropical foliage everywhere. Very pretty and welcoming. Our cottage is very small (there are 4 of us) and I kept bumping into furniture and ended up with lots of bruises on my legs. The kitchen is tiny and no more than 2 people can be in there. The smoke alarm goes off even when I am toasting a slice of bread.

The bed is too soft for me, and dips in the middle.

The property and the cottage that we were in, have been very nicely updated. New tiles, new blinds, new windows, new bathroom fixtures, tubs shower curtain, liners etc. Cottage is very clean. Maid service is included everyday. Kitchen is furnished with silverware, dishes, and utensils, dish soap and coffee filters. I wish that they supplied paper towels & napkins, and basic condiments such as ketchup and sugar. Salt & pepper were in the cupboards.

The property itself is very pretty and you can tell a lot of work has been put into making it look very very nice. The grill is cleaned everyday by the groundskeeper.

Our unit faces the water, and there is a tiki hut with long table & chairs enough for 8 or more to sit out there for a meal. There are little tiki huts with table & chairs outside each cottage. 6 Kayaks and one paddleboat are available for guests' use. Cottages do not have dvd players, you have to get them from the office. They only have one dvd player, so first come first serve.

From the dock, you can watch the sun set every evening. The water by the Lodge is filled with jellyfish that sting slightly. So be careful when you get in the water. Also remember to bring your water shoes.

Swimming pool is clean and we used it a couple of times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1998Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
0.0 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Lodge

Property: Bay Harbor Lodge
Address: 97702 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2297
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Harbor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bay Harbor Lodge, a cozy bay front resort situated on 2.5 acres of lush tropical foliage. Whether you are planning a relaxing get-a-way or an action packed vacation, our amenities and location put the Florida Keys at your fingertips. With 15 rooms, there is never a crowd and customer service is never a problem. Coconut Bay Resort is our sister neighboring hotel with 6 additional rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Harbor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Harbor Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing